Ecobee3 Thermostat for $189.99 shipped

D

Deleted member 12106

Guest
I have one of these and I like it. I doubt this thing is saving me a ton of cash, but it is nice for its programming and remote control abilities.
 

stiltner

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 16, 2000
Messages
10,666
I have one of these and I like it. I doubt this thing is saving me a ton of cash, but it is nice for its programming and remote control abilities.

My example above. I just paid to heat a home to 78 degrees in 56 degree nice cool weather, and do so in a 3000 sq ft home. Thats gonna hurt my asshole I promise :D
 

dragon69

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2008
Messages
1,814
I'm pondering picking one up. I'm just waiting on a response to my pic of the wiring that I sent them.
 

krogen

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
1,076
ComEd offers $100 rebates on these. May be applicable so the total would come out to $89.99.
 

StoleMyOwnCar

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
2,158
My example above. I just paid to heat a home to 78 degrees in 56 degree nice cool weather, and do so in a 3000 sq ft home. Thats gonna hurt my asshole I promise :D

Ummm... that sounds like a personal issue (placement of thermostat, you not being used to its placement, type of thermostat). If you just wanted to avoid said scenario, all you have to do is get any thermostat that you cannot bump into. A nearly 200$ smart thermostat is far from necessary...

Personally, I'm just using a very simple digital one with up/down buttons to adjust temperature and then cool/off/heat/ember settings on a switch. I've never bumped into it on accident, and as long as I manage it, it does what I want it to.

Granted I never really turn it off when I leave for work or go out. I'd need to calculate whether something that could do that would save me money... but then again I'd have to simply run extensively as soon as I get back to get to the desired temperature. I'm kind of skeptical as to whether I would end up actually saving any money over having it give short bursts while I'm gone to simply keep the temperature stable.

Honestly I don't really like the idea of these smart thermostats in my house. I feel like, considering their network connectivity issues, if something goes wrong I'll be having this thing turn my AC/Heat on in the winter/summer randomly...
 

Ducman69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
10,542
Check first to see how your thermostat is wired.

Many newer homes don't have one sensor, but multiple. This allows them to either service different zones independently, or to at least take an average temperature reading over multiple sensors in different parts of the home for a more consistent overall home temperature.

The Ecobee is only going to work with old-school style single sensors, and won't know what to do with say 3-4 proprietary brand sensor system like my sister and I both have in our homes.
 

dsmwookie

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
268
Not bad for large or split level homes. I have a Nest personally and it has paid for itself in less than a year.
 

JeffBlair

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
333
I have the Honeywell WiFi one now, and it's nice. But, having that remote sensor would be nice for my computer room that's always 5-10 degrees hotter than the rest of my place.
 

Heavy_Nova

Lurker
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
613
I bit for the new house. The sensors will help modulate temps between the three floors better.
 

subspeed6

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
232
I have the Honeywell WiFi one now, and it's nice. But, having that remote sensor would be nice for my computer room that's always 5-10 degrees hotter than the rest of my place.

I did a setup like that for a friend's house. Dual zone system with dampers and such. Pretty slick setup.
 

JeffBlair

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
333
Got this in this week. Finally got it hooked up. I wasn't able to use the power extender. I live in an apartment, and the AC unit doesn't have a "normal" control board. So, I had to use the external adapter I was using on my old Honeywell. But, it finally saw all my wires connected, and started the AC. I can already tell the difference in my computer room. It seams cooler in there. Guess I'll have to see how much my bill goes up.
 

CruisD64

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
2,203
My example above. I just paid to heat a home to 78 degrees in 56 degree nice cool weather, and do so in a 3000 sq ft home. Thats gonna hurt my asshole I promise :D

78? Wow, Is your heritage from a warm region? If you ask me, 56 is perfect :)
 

JeffBlair

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Messages
333
78? Wow, Is your heritage from a warm region? If you ask me, 56 is perfect :)

I usually keep mine at 79. But, I've lived in central Austin for most of my life, so I'm used to the warmer weather. :)

That extra sensor is really going to be nice in the summer. My PC room is normally 10+ warmer than the rest of my place. I've got my main PC, and my server in there. So, it heats up quick.
 
Top