E8400 P35 To i7 930 X58 Upgrade Questions

tenub

Limp Gawd
I currently have an E8400 @ 3.6Ghz, DFI LP DK P35-T2RS, G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000, MSI NX8800GTS G92, and some anciently slow WD & Samsung 250GB SATA HDDs that I'm currently running in RAID0 (HD Tune tested the RAID at about 111 MB/s transfer rate, about the rate of both individual drives combined, and 13 ms access time).

I've been planning out basically a system wide upgrade (CPU, RAM, motherboard, video card, power supply, and possibly hard drive) since it's been about three years since my last component was put in my machine and I've been researching very thoroughly and diligently as of recently. I'm a graduate student with a limited stipend and savings so I'm trying to come up with a monetarily efficient build.

I'll mainly be playing a couple games, namely TF2 and WoW but I would also like to be able to experience the newest and latest games in their full glory, such as Metro 2033.

I already bought the first two components, being an i7 930 from Micro Center for $199+tax and a Corsair 750TX for $80 AR from Newegg. As for the motherboard, RAM, and video card I'm looking at a mid to high end X58 board, 3x2GB DDR3 1600, and one or two GTX 460 1GB cards once the prices drop some more.

For my current system, I was unlucky enough to get a sluggish E8400 that can't go much higher than 3.6Ghz without giving errors even though the temps are well under 60C at full load. I've even tried as much as 1.47 Vcore and it will still toss me an error after a while even at 3.8Ghz and the temps are fine. Anyway, I always wanted to hit over 4Ghz stable and that's why I chose the i7 930. From what I hear it can hit over 4Ghz on a good motherboard with ease and if I'm lucky with the chip I got I may be able to push even higher.

This brings me to the rest of my components. What I was thinking for now is as follows:

1. Asus Rampage III Formula
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131666