E6400 Conroe @ 3.2Ghz To E8400 worth it?

RipperMac

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
352
Money burning a hole in my pocket..cant SLI with IP35E-Pro :( so I'm thinking of going from E6400 oc to 3.2Ghz to an E8400 with at least 3.6Ghz oc (maybe)..will the extra speed be worth the $200 or is my oc 6400 still competitive...I use my box mainly for DivX/Xvid/DVD ripping plus bragging :) I say 3.6 oc but I'm really shooting for 4.0Ghz (Epenis thing :rolleyes:)
Any thoughts?
 

Sirk1000

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
222
is there anything holding you back right now for you to upgrade?
might be me but seems like a waste to me.
 

KILLER_K

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
4,597
If you're already @ 3.2gighrz then a e8400 @ 3.6 gighrz will be no difference to you at all. Save your money buy something else, or take your wife or girlfriend out to a nice dinner and a movie.

I went from a e6750 to a e8400 and no difference i can see at this point.

Good Day
 

RipperMac

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
352
And these are the reasons I have not pulled the trigger on this yet... anyone else want to chime in...maybe some benchies from somewhere....or is it not really worth doing this at all....
 

Megalomaniac

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
2,193
in the same boat as you man.
for now the consensus is wait and see.
if there is one reason why i love AMD, is the easy upgrade path with out the need to change everything.
 

khansolo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
273
Must be a big boat, cuz I've got an e6300 clocked way up and I'm also thinking of going to an E8400/X3110. Prices keeping dropping left and right and the urge to upgrade is strong.
 

Cardio

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
275
I went from a 6600 @ 3.4 to an 8400 @ 4.2 stable and have a great improvement. Chip change only and temps are very low. Sold the 6600 for $100 bought 8400 for $199 so total cost $99. Pretty cheap to me. Same MB as yours. Super simple just remove and replace and up to 466.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,601
Look to see if your divx xvid encoding applications are optimized to use SSE4. If so, it would probably be more than worth doing. The SSE4 instructions as well as the higher clock speed would probably cut down your encoding times dramatically from what I remember. It's something you might want to check out.

 

MaxTheLimit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
417
Personally I see very little point. Gaming is mostly what I do and I've never really felt restricted by my CPU. On occasions when doing other CPU intensive tasks I can imagine some difference, but the benefit would be only marginally better at present. Unless you do a lot of CPU intensive tasks I wouldn't bet on it being worth it. If you run a lot of applications where you're limited by your CPU you may see improvement worth noting, but it's up to you if it's 200 dollars worth of improvement.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
582
I bit the bullet and went with the e8400 a few days ago.
I upgraded from my old Amd X2 3600+ @ 3.2ghz prime stable.
My e8400 got delayed today..so it wont be here til monday..

GOD I HATE MY LIFE..

haha..
 

omz

Gawd
Joined
Jun 28, 2005
Messages
806
My vote goes toward waiting for Nehalem later this year. Although the improvement from an integrated memory control isn't definite yet, it seems to be worth the wait. If the upgrade to Nehalem doesn't seem that great, you at least have more money to upgrade to an E8400 (or whatever is top at that time) and have some extra cash on the side for other stuff.
 

Rambo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 3, 2007
Messages
390
IMHO, the only difference would be IF you could get it up to >4GHz and it would probably need less voltage and have lower temps. Upgrading to a quad core is the only thing that I would see really worth it... if you do things that utilize quads.
 
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
3,270
Went from a e6600 at 3.0GHz to an e3110 at 3.6GHz. I notice Vista x64 is a bit more snappy but it was never really slow to begin with.

However I sold my e6600 for $130 and will be selling my P5W DH Deluxe for $70 and got the e3110 for $200 and my IP35-E for $60 AR. $60 net for the upgrade was worth it.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,540
Well Its really up to you. These Wolfdale cores fly on the P35 chipset. your 6400@3.2 is not slow, but an 8400 @3.8-4.0GHZ with the 6MB L2 cache vs the 2MB on the 6400 would give you a nice jump in encoding. If your an O/Cer, I say go for as long as you have a P35 board.
 

football76

Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
854
I have to say no, especially when a Q6600 can be had for $180 (a steal IMHO). I went from an E4300 @3.0 to Q6600 @3.2 and everything I do is faster. :)
 

dnottis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 14, 2001
Messages
4,768
I went from a q6600 @ 3.6 to a E8400 @ 4.2Ghz and games are so much smoother. Just picked up a Xeon E3110 and it's doing 4.2 @ less volts, might be able to hit 4.4Ghz. I cant believe how much faster gaming is with this chip over the quad. I never really did anything that used all 4 cores and it ran alot hotter than the wolfie's do.
 

Thrust

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
482
I'd say HELL YES! GO 4 IT! I've got E6600 and will upgrade to E8400 asap. I'd recommend an aftermarket heatsink/fan to cool it with and from what I've heard, 4Ghz isn't unheard of (get a really great cooler and you could even go higher). So if you can keep it cool and the chip works out well for ya, I'd think 4.2 is obtainable- maybe. And 1Ghz is definitely worth it!
 

haithamt

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
119
I went from a q6600 @ 3.6 to a E8400 @ 4.2Ghz and games are so much smoother. Just picked up a Xeon E3110 and it's doing 4.2 @ less volts, might be able to hit 4.4Ghz. I cant believe how much faster gaming is with this chip over the quad. I never really did anything that used all 4 cores and it ran alot hotter than the wolfie's do.

What games are you running? It doesnt seem like many games out there would see a difference between 3.6 vs. 4.2, especially a so much smoother difference?
 

doormat

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 18, 2000
Messages
4,251
You said you mainly use your box for ripping.

Look at the TechARP x264 performance page - a E6400@3.2 takes 3:11:39 to encode their movie, an E8400@4Ghz takes 2:28:32, an improvement of 22.5%.

However, look at the performance of a Q6600 at "only" 3.0Ghz - 1:46:14, a 44.5% improvement. If you manage to clock it up to 3.4 or 3.6, the performance increase goes up to 50%.

If you really spend most of your time ripping and if your ripping software can handle being multi threaded, go with the quad. There is a round of price cuts coming up in April if you can hold out.
 

MaxTheLimit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
417
I'd say HELL YES! GO 4 IT! I've got E6600 and will upgrade to E8400 asap. I'd recommend an aftermarket heatsink/fan to cool it with and from what I've heard, 4Ghz isn't unheard of (get a really great cooler and you could even go higher). So if you can keep it cool and the chip works out well for ya, I'd think 4.2 is obtainable- maybe. And 1Ghz is definitely worth it!

So he should upgrade because you are? I admit there is real gains to be had, but it seems to be that even in the most ideal conditions to go from his E6400 @3.4 which shows in that link gets a multithreaded task done in 3Hours or so, and the E8400 with an overclock of 4.0GHz brings it down to 2.5Hours... You get a better performance of half an hour. I wouldn't really bet on everyone getting their E8400 to 4, though it's reasonable to hope and suppose on, it's not guaranteed. Just in case if you look at stock it's 2 hours and 40 minutes...I would say for the purposes the quad cores are a much better bet. Gaming wouldn't really take a hit, and his multithreaded ripping would see huge gains!
 

Leepox

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
408
save your money... the 775 socket will be dead in less than a year anyway.. upgrading to e8400 with that much power is senseless

even if youd get 4ghz on your system... your pumping it with lots of volts and highr FSB and higher heat which shortens you system life or just makes your room an oven.

Plus if you do ripping and gaming... id say get a quad, dont even bother with the new quads.. more expensive lesser overclockability and doesnt really leave the q6600 in the dust... the q6600 still holds itself well. Im sure you dont use your pc 24/7 for uber ripping and gaming... so your current CPU is good nuff.

Id say hold out for the nehalems
 

RipperMac

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
352
This is interesting...some tangible proof of something happening...even if its the multi core advantage...seems 3.6 on a quad is attainable...might have to shrink the epenis:eek:
You said you mainly use your box for ripping.

Look at the TechARP x264 performance page - a E6400@3.2 takes 3:11:39 to encode their movie, an E8400@4Ghz takes 2:28:32, an improvement of 22.5%.

However, look at the performance of a Q6600 at "only" 3.0Ghz - 1:46:14, a 44.5% improvement. If you manage to clock it up to 3.4 or 3.6, the performance increase goes up to 50%.

If you really spend most of your time ripping and if your ripping software can handle being multi threaded, go with the quad. There is a round of price cuts coming up in April if you can hold out.
 

doormat

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 18, 2000
Messages
4,251
This is interesting...some tangible proof of something happening...even if its the multi core advantage...seems 3.6 on a quad is attainable...might have to shrink the epenis:eek:

Just reframe your epeen as "14.4Ghz" (3.6 * 4 cores) as opposed to 8Ghz (4Ghz * 2 cores). ;)
 

Mav451

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Messages
4,740
Err I thought there's only the IP35 Pro or the IP35-E (E being the $60 version). I'd say it's worth a shot going to quad instead, b/c if you manage to hit anywhere from the 3.6-3.8 range, then going to a Wolfdale is pointless. And if there's a Microcenter near you this isn't even a debate - get the Q6600.

The only issue I have is that Abit's PWM area runs hot with quads...so you're gonna need a fan pointed there.

*VA Beach...hmmm might be quite a drive then :(
 

dnottis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 14, 2001
Messages
4,768
What games are you running? It doesnt seem like many games out there would see a difference between 3.6 vs. 4.2, especially a so much smoother difference?

Everything is smoother with the 4.2Ghz Wolfdale. COD4, AC, UT3, Crysis...
 

brysig228

Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
573
hit me up if you decide to sell the E6300 i'll be willing to buy it if it a good price.. i'm hoping really cheap cuz i'm a cheap ass kinda guy.:D
 

RipperMac

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2002
Messages
352
Err I thought there's only the IP35 Pro or the IP35-E (E being the $60 version). I'd say it's worth a shot going to quad instead, b/c if you manage to hit anywhere from the 3.6-3.8 range, then going to a Wolfdale is pointless. And if there's a Microcenter near you this isn't even a debate - get the Q6600.
The only issue I have is that Abit's PWM area runs hot with quads...so you're gonna need a fan pointed there.
*VA Beach...hmmm might be quite a drive then :(
There's no E in the Pro..you are right..fixed the sig..no Microcenters even close to Va Beach:eek:so that option is out for now...however I might just wait until April Fools and get a Q6600 then...airflow in my case shouldn't be an issue even with w/c...the Yate Loons work really well keeping the flow across everything

brysig228 said:
hit me up if you decide to sell the E6300 i'll be willing to buy it if it a good price.. i'm hoping really cheap cuz i'm a cheap ass kinda guy.:D
Its an E6400 but I'll probable keep it since I'll have enough laying around to build another complete system:rolleyes:

14.4Ghz Epenis...I like that :p
 

hmz

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
3,228
Everything is smoother with the 4.2Ghz Wolfdale. COD4, AC, UT3, Crysis...

I doubt that. How exactly is that smoother? More fps?

I'd say from the E6400 to 45nm quad core would be the most signicant upgrade.
 

NKDietrich

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,442
Everything is smoother with the 4.2Ghz Wolfdale. COD4, AC, UT3, Crysis...

Stop blowing smoke up peoples asses.

CPU scaling in games at high resolution stops well below 3.0GHz, let alone 4GHz

The only reason to upgrade from a 3.2GHz E6400 to an E8400 would be non-gaming CPU dependent apps like encoding. Even then you'd probably better off with a quad.

This is becoming a huge pet peeve of mine these days and it seems like 3/4ths of my posts are helping people who have been misinformed by guys like this.
 

NKDietrich

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,442
QFT

its not worth the money to go from a e6400 to a e8400 for just gaming, heck my x2 3600+@2.5 with a 8800gtx allows me to play cod4 at 1920x1200 with all the settings maxed out

I've currently got an Opteron at 2.7GHz and my machine is PCI Express so if I wanted I could slap whatever card I wanted in here and be gaming right up thre with everyone else at 1920x1200.

Though I do a lot of non-gaming things that can take advantage of a faster CPU so I'm building a new rig.
 

OutKlast

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 12, 2006
Messages
116
Seems like you wouldn't see any noticable difference not to mention it seems pretty tough to find a 8400 right now.
 
Top