Dying Light - zombies, 4-player co-op

Converge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
1,254
Get great 60+ FPS with all settings maxed on a single 970 GTX. But the game has a memory leak and crashes me after 20-30seconds of gameplay :( Hope they patch it soon.


You could try lowering your memory timings in bios, that worked for me when Half Life 2 was doing the same thing on my new system YEARS ago
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
9,726
Opinions? Reviews?
It's Far Cry 4 with zombies.
The games are so similar it's shocking.

Dying Light even has "towers" that you have to unlock. Your character opens an electronics box and flips a few switches, exact same thing as radio towers from Far Cry.

You spend 99% of your time opening chests, crates, etc, looting useless crap that you have to sell to the vendor.
You loot plants to craft syringes. Weapon upgrades via slots (3 slots per weapon?). 3 different skill trees that function the same way as Far Cry.
Every action you make has a really long, annoying animation that's a real pain in the ass after a while.
Bulky, slow UI.

Crappy story. Crappy main character.

This game is *almost* like a mod for Far Cry 4 (similar to Blood Dragon).

Techland stole the 'elite' zombies from L4D2. There's a fat exploding one, there's a spitter, there's a Hunter that runs really fast.
They've basically lifted mechanics and ideas from other games in the genre, CUT and PASTE.

It's kind of sad, honestly.
The game is fun though, 8/10. Ignoring the craptastic frame rates.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
769
I've been playing for a couple hours without any issues. I'm on a 970 and dropped shadows to medium before I started playing. I have no idea what my framerate is but it's smooth.
 

DPI

Nitpick Police
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
10,960
It's Far Cry 4 with zombies.
The games are so similar it's shocking.

Dying Light even has "towers" that you have to unlock. Your character opens an electronics box and flips a few switches, exact same thing as radio towers from Far Cry.

You spend 99% of your time opening chests, crates, etc, looting useless crap that you have to sell to the vendor.
You loot plants to craft syringes. Weapon upgrades via slots (3 slots per weapon?). 3 different skill trees that function the same way as Far Cry.
Every action you make has a really long, annoying animation that's a real pain in the ass after a while.
Bulky, slow UI.

Crappy story. Crappy main character.

This game is *almost* like a mod for Far Cry 4 (similar to Blood Dragon).

Techland stole the 'elite' zombies from L4D2. There's a fat exploding one, there's a spitter, there's a Hunter that runs really fast.
They've basically lifted mechanics and ideas from other games in the genre, CUT and PASTE.

It's kind of sad, honestly.
The game is fun though, 8/10. Ignoring the craptastic frame rates.
TL;DR "This sucks, that's crap, this other thing is just stolen copy/paste.. Its just sad. OH but the game is actually fun, 8/10 WOULD BANG" :)

I get the "cynical gamer" point of view here, made me laugh actually because I agree with some of the points. But when it comes to new games borrowing from some of my favorite classic games, like L4D2 in this case, well I see that as a positive rather than a negative.
 
Last edited:

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
9,726
TL;DR "This sucks, that's crap, this other thing is just stolen copy/paste.. Its just sad. OH but the game is actually fun, 8/10 WOULD BANG" :)

I get the "cynical gamer" point of view here, made me laugh actually because I agree with some of the points. But when it comes to new games borrowing from some of my favorite classic games, like L4D2 in this case, well I see that as a positive rather than a negative.
I would rather see new, innovative zombie types. The zombie genre is very stale, you need original concepts to keep it interesting.

I liked the zombies in L4D2, seeing them *again* in this game feels a bit odd. Why couldn't they design their own new zombies? Lame.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
769
It's Far Cry 4 with zombies.
The games are so similar it's shocking.

Dying Light even has "towers" that you have to unlock. Your character opens an electronics box and flips a few switches, exact same thing as radio towers from Far Cry.

You spend 99% of your time opening chests, crates, etc, looting useless crap that you have to sell to the vendor.
You loot plants to craft syringes. Weapon upgrades via slots (3 slots per weapon?). 3 different skill trees that function the same way as Far Cry.
Every action you make has a really long, annoying animation that's a real pain in the ass after a while.
Bulky, slow UI.

Crappy story. Crappy main character.

This game is *almost* like a mod for Far Cry 4 (similar to Blood Dragon).

Techland stole the 'elite' zombies from L4D2. There's a fat exploding one, there's a spitter, there's a Hunter that runs really fast.
They've basically lifted mechanics and ideas from other games in the genre, CUT and PASTE.

It's kind of sad, honestly.
The game is fun though, 8/10. Ignoring the craptastic frame rates.
Wow that's shoddy. I guess I can skip both farcry4 and l4d2 now.
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
9,726
Fun fact: The name "Dying light" actually refers to how the insane levels of chrome aberration from light will actually kill you from playing this game too much.

It's like looking at an old 3D movie without the blue/red glasses on.

 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
892
I have motion blur and Nvidia blur disabled but I still get this weird blur when panning or while watching cinematic, is that also chromatic aberration?
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
17,932
from what I've been reading it sounds like a solid game...not out of this world amazing but a more polished, better version of Dead Island
 

TaintedSquirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
9,726
I have motion blur and Nvidia blur disabled but I still get this weird blur when panning or while watching cinematic, is that also chromatic aberration?
I have that too, and I don't know what to call it.
It's really noticable in cutscenes when the camera slowly pans, or when people walk or turn their heads. There's a weird blur effect behind everything.

This game... is weird.

Depth of Field, two different kinds of motion blur, Chromatic Abberation, Film Grain. WHY DO YOU DO THIS?!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
892
That's exactly what I see, panning is horrible and cutscenes too, like trailing doubles of everything, looks like motion blur but I have it disables so....
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,612
So.....when is there going to be a sale? Anyone doing silly Russian VPN tricks to get it on the cheap or is there a legit way to get it for not $59.99. I don't mind paying if the game is worth it it but I want to play 4 player co-op and my friends are kinda cheapskates.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
769
I have that too, and I don't know what to call it.
It's really noticable in cutscenes when the camera slowly pans, or when people walk or turn their heads. There's a weird blur effect behind everything.

This game... is weird.

Depth of Field, two different kinds of motion blur, Chromatic Abberation, Film Grain. WHY DO YOU DO THIS?!
At least it's not as bad as evil within, this is at least playable.
 

D4rkn3ss

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 30, 2010
Messages
2,594
So.....when is there going to be a sale? Anyone doing silly Russian VPN tricks to get it on the cheap or is there a legit way to get it for not $59.99. I don't mind paying if the game is worth it it but I want to play 4 player co-op and my friends are kinda cheapskates.
in soviet russia silly vpn tricks YOU.
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
So.....when is there going to be a sale? Anyone doing silly Russian VPN tricks to get it on the cheap or is there a legit way to get it for not $59.99. I don't mind paying if the game is worth it it but I want to play 4 player co-op and my friends are kinda cheapskates.
its 45 on gmg. Downloading now. Here its an improved Dead Island. Where means buggy, shaky plot, stab zombies with sticks, pretty sunset. I'm ok with that. HYEHZ0-GNKD1A-GFNGMQ I think is what I used for 25% off.

Eat dicks inferior console race.
 

Solhokuten

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,270
That's exactly what I see, panning is horrible and cutscenes too, like trailing doubles of everything, looks like motion blur but I have it disables so....
I read on the steam forums that AA causes a ghosting like effect in this game. Try disabling it if you have not tried already.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,618
WTF is with this film grain bullshit? I don't care to pretend I am watching some old shitty movie.

edit: turn it off --->

Extract Data0 from Dying Light\DW to your C:\Users\"username"\Documents\DyingLight\out folder. Navigate to the C:\Users\"username"\Documents\DyingLight\out\data\scripts folder and open varlist_noise in notepad. Change the 0.15 to 0.00 and save. The film grain is now disabled.

Do not repack the data0 file. Leave it the way it extracted in the out folder. Game seems to pick it up.
 

Amaroth

Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
673
Solid B game as I continue to play. Havent done co-op yet but I look forward to it. Turning down shadows to medium solved my frame rate instability. I removed the film grain but there is still some odd motion blur.
 

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
Anyone else having audio issues? Started playing and my sound ranodmly messes up.

Like when people talk, it's like the sound is all "digitalized" and slooooowwwwssss down like they are robots....
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
17,932
Solid B game as I continue to play. Havent done co-op yet but I look forward to it
sounds decent enough but I think I'm going to pass on this...will spend the $60 I would have spent on this and put it towards Evolve which I absolutely loved
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
well for once I get to be that guy. I finally got to sit down and play an hour or so. Game runs like butter for me. No issues. I'm running default settings other than it was set to windowed I switched to full screen. 1920x1080*60. Not really seeing the chromatic aberration though there is general sunsplashed tint to the game like a lot of stuff has that kind of mirage effect. Maybe I'm too much of a druggy but it looks cool. Action blur when I'm running. No audio issues. Nothing special about my machine though. I usually hate people who report an obviously buggy game running great but I don't know what else to say. Hope it gets fixed for you guys.
 

Dion

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
3,735
You could try lowering your memory timings in bios, that worked for me when Half Life 2 was doing the same thing on my new system YEARS ago
Just took a stick out of another machine and added it while I ordered more ram. All playable for now.
 

tgg

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
1,151
Solid B game as I continue to play. Havent done co-op yet but I look forward to it. Turning down shadows to medium solved my frame rate instability. I removed the film grain but there is still some odd motion blur.
How did you remove the film grain?
 

song414

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2006
Messages
324
Game runs like ass on AMD hardware.

I have 4770k @ 4.5ghz
24gb ram
2x 290's in xfire.

Terrible performance with 1 card, worse with xfire.

Prologue is fine, but once you get outside it's horrible. I've got view distance at 60%, turned off ambient occlusion, filmgrain, all nvidia gameworks settings and AA. I've got all others maxxed. I get 30 fps average outside and dips into teens at times. I have the latest catalyst drivers too.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,612
Game runs like ass on AMD hardware.

I have 4770k @ 4.5ghz
24gb ram
2x 290's in xfire.

Terrible performance with 1 card, worse with xfire.

Prologue is fine, but once you get outside it's horrible. I've got view distance at 60%, turned off ambient occlusion, filmgrain, all nvidia gameworks settings and AA. I've got all others maxxed. I get 30 fps average outside and dips into teens at times. I have the latest catalyst drivers too.
Guess I'll skip it for now. Super annoying when you go out and spend a shitton of money on hardware, only for it to NOT properly work with new titles. This is starting to occur more and more often.
 

w35t

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
1,166
Game runs like ass on AMD hardware.

I have 4770k @ 4.5ghz
24gb ram
2x 290's in xfire.

Terrible performance with 1 card, worse with xfire.

Prologue is fine, but once you get outside it's horrible. I've got view distance at 60%, turned off ambient occlusion, filmgrain, all nvidia gameworks settings and AA. I've got all others maxxed. I get 30 fps average outside and dips into teens at times. I have the latest catalyst drivers too.

This is why I stick with nVidia now. My results with AMD cards (6970, 7970, 290x, single and xfire) have never reflected benchmark results and the results of others. Even when the framerate was high, the overall smoothness and playability was worse with AMD. I never ever ever could get Far Cry 3 to run decently at all with any AMD card/s, Crysis 2 as well, so now I just get raped by nVidia prices, oh well. Hopefully they'll release a driver which solves your issues.

I am definitely interested in checking this game out. Are you all enjoying it? It looks somewhat similar to Dead Island, is that the case? I was never really able to get that into that game but this one looks better. Is it actually scary and/or intense at all?
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
checked in on it this morning with Fraps running just to confirm. I'm getting solid 40-50 fps at all times with default settings. One thing that comes up a lot is that Nvidia fucking phyx driver. A lot of Nvidia games will run like shit if I have that and or the regular nvidia driver installed. Some games try to auto-install it but Dying Light did not. Maybe look for that?

When I first loaded it this morning I saw the weird chromatic aberration and pixelly looking stuff but when I reloaded it to run fraps It was gone. I'll try the fix just to compare maybe I'm just missing it.

This is my setup. seems to running fine otherwise. I have it installed on a regular Seagate 3TB 7200rpm.

I5 4690K stock, Corsair H50 2x120 Mod, W7 U 64bit, GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK, 2x8GB 1866 vengence, MSI 280x OC, 3x 27" Acer G276,Raid-0 2x3TB Seagate HDD , NZXT H440, CORSAIR CX750M PSU
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
892
I don't think that chromatic aberration fix is working, and the damn motion blur is just as bad, I wonder what that is called because motion blur is disabled in options, must be some new crap
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
I'm a very lets all be friends, I hug trees and all that. There's very few people I'd wish ill on, but I kind of wish that kids computer would kill him in a horrible horrible electrical fire preferably during a livestream.
 
Top