Dual boot with XP installed after Vista

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Archer75, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    I have Vista installed now. If I install XP on another hard drive will it detect Vista and install a boot loader so I can choose which OS to use?
     
  2. digital_exhaust

    digital_exhaust [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2008

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    I had thought that it was not possible, until I saw this post, and found it very helpful. Should help you do what you want.
     
  3. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    No go. I don't even have some of the files it says to run and the ones I do have simply won't run.

    Is there something like a repair utility on the Vista DVD such as what XP has on it's CD?
     
  4. digital_exhaust

    digital_exhaust [H]ard|DCer of the Month - May 2008

    Messages:
    6,903
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Yes, and some have said that that method might work, although I have not tried it myself and I have not found any information as to rather it actually works or not. But I would think that if you install XP and then run a repair install of Vista, it might get the Vista bootloader back, but this is something I would hesitate to recommend to anyone as I have not yet heard of anyone successfully doing this, sooo...
     
  5. killowatt

    killowatt n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    i followed the instructions from the MS article back in november. works great. vista was installed first, used comp management to create a new partition for XP, ran that install and then ran the BCD commands to get the bootloader working.
     
  6. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    The BCD won't run. I have to do it in XP as I can't get into the Vista partition and the BCD won't run. Perhaps it's because my Vista install is 64bit and my XP is 32bit.
     
  7. killowatt

    killowatt n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    its been a couple months since i had to mess around with it so my memory is foggy. can you boot from the vista CD and get to a command prompt?
     
  8. WickedWeasel

    WickedWeasel Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    444
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    How about having 2 OS, one on each hard drive. Use the BIOS to switch the boot order, or swap the SATA cables if the BIOS does not support it?
     
  9. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    The Vista install was already set as the first drive in the boot order. So it's a no go there.
     
  10. Capt_Scarlet

    Capt_Scarlet n00bie

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
  11. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,430
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001