DONE - board for E5-2637v2 (or for sale E5-2637v2 +32gb)

Discussion in 'For Sale / Trade' started by dbwillis, May 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,024
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    I seem to have a spare E5-2637v2 chip and 4x 8gb ECC/REG sitting around.

    Does anyone have a board (and IO plate) that works with this chip and ECC/REG memory?
    Was looking at some options on the web, figured Id check here first.
    If I cant find a board, the chip and 32gb mem are for sale...
     
  2. allenpan

    allenpan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,710
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    i wanna dip on that 4x 8gb reg DDR3!
     
  3. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I think the only thing that will easily accommodate these will be a workstation or server chassis. The good think is that these can be pretty decently priced on ebay/cl when the cpu and memory have been stripped out of them. (y)

    If you see anything you like on the Chicago CL, let me know and we can work something out. ;)
     
  4. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,024
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
  5. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,978
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    That's a socket 2011 processer, so there should be plenty of boards that support it. I'm in the same boat, somewhat. I have a Precision T3600 with a Xeon E5-2660 in it. I have been toying with building a box to move it to so I have more flexibility with the parts I put around it. The case only holds two drives, for example.
     
  6. Starbomba

    Starbomba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    254
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    A lot of consumer mobos are compatible with that hardware, surprisingly. I currently have an E5-2650 v1 with 8x 1GB DDR3 ECC sticks working more than fine on my Rampage IV Black Edition. I've ran all the tests i've seen on the internet, and all point that my mobo not only detects the ECC RAM, but has ECC active. I've ran the same RAM on other consumer mobos like my Rampage III Gene and works as well. I'd say Asus mobos have the best chance to be compatible with ECC RAM when paired with a Xeon.
     
  7. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,462
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    This doesn't surprise me since Xeon's my nature generally require ECC/ECC Registered and any motherboard that fully supports a Xeon should have the appropriate capability. (y) Really great to see more than just Supermicro making boards for the Xeons.
     
  8. Starbomba

    Starbomba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    254
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Not really, or at least not true for more "workstation-y" Xeons. My EVGA P55 Micro can run Xeons no issues (can run an X3460) but it won't boot with my ECC RAM. And it is not like my sticks are super-high density or highly incompatible, they are 1 GB 1Rx8 PC3-10600 1.5v Samsung sticks which are at least 8 years old. I also did a quick test with my X58 Classified, no dice.

    Also, Xeons do not really need ECC RAM, they can run fine with unbuffered RAM. You need ECC RAM if your workloads demand it. I ran 32 GB of Samsung WonderRAM on my E5 2670 just fine for like 2 years for gaming and distributed computing, no issues whatrsoever.

    ECC compatibility is not only CPU dependant, it actually needs extra traces on the motherboard, which may or may not mean significant redesigns, which in the end are $$$. That is why consumer mobos don't openly announce Xeon or server part compatibility, as it cannot really be guaranteed, unless you get specific workstation-labeled mobos with consumer chipsets (like Asus WS series), or actual server motherboards with server chipsets.
     
  9. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,024
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Update - Found an HP Z420 locally or $100, this CPU and the memory work in the board (typing from it), still proprietary, but cheaper than buying a new board, thanks folks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.