Does this switch exist?

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,402
Im starting a homelab and im starting to look for networking equipment. This is what im looking for in a switch:
24-48 ports
10GbaseT
All downlink ports RJ45(using cat7)
Prefer uplink to be RJ45 but i can run SFP to RJ45 adapters if RJ45 doesnt exist
Prefer cisco but open to other options
PoE
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,712
The confluence of 24+ port 10Gbase-T and PoE is... quite likely near zero.

Which means that if it exists, you should have your internal organ / offspring sacrifices lined up and ready. You're already going to pay dearly for 10Gbase-T at any scale.

Also... Cisco? Bleh, unless it's simply the network appliance language you already know :).
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,402
The confluence of 24+ port 10Gbase-T and PoE is... quite likely near zero.

Which means that if it exists, you should have your internal organ / offspring sacrifices lined up and ready. You're already going to pay dearly for 10Gbase-T at any scale.

Also... Cisco? Bleh, unless it's simply the network appliance language you already know :).
yeah. It seems everything wants to be SFP which makes it kind of weird. I guess i need to just find a good gigabit switch.
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,712
yeah. It seems everything wants to be SFP which makes it kind of weird. I guess i need to just find a good gigabit switch.
10Gbase-T uses a ton of power per port is the long and short of it.

You can use it, but I'd advise against trying to '10G all the things' at this time. Figure out what needs 10G, what really doesn't, and what might get along with 2.5G or 5G. Those are where the relatively sanely priced stuff is going.
 

bman212121

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
1,658
I was about to say no, this doesn't exist and that there really isn't a market for it. Outside of maybe some higher end APs with like 2.5G or 5G ports I don't even know what device you'd have that is 10gig but also requires POE. In any network where I'd need poe and need 10 gig, I would just buy a 10gig switch with SFP+ ports on it, then another switch with gigabit RJ45 POE. Because the SFP+ modules don't support POE, that makes getting something that does both incredibly rare. That said I was able to track down the couple options Cisco provides for this.

So If you bought a C9400 chassis, there is in fact a line card that does what you want.

C9400-LC-48UX

24 Multigigabit 100/1000 Mbps 2.5/5 Gbps 10GBASE-T ports and 24 10/100/1000 ports

Those are all UPOE ports.

There also seems like there is a card that fits into a 4500 series chassis:

WS-X4748-12X48U+E:

Has 12 10G ports and 36 gig ports, all of them UPOE capable.


Finally found a stand alone switch, the 3650 series can be configured for what you want.


WS-C3650-8X24PD

It has 16 gigabit POE+, 8 10G POE+, and 2 10G SFP+ uplink ports on it. They also make it in a UPOE model (90W) and there are 48 port variants that have 12 10G POE+ instead of 8.


https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/produ...50-series-switches/data_sheet-c78-729449.html
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,402
I dont need 10G POE per say it was just wanting a full 10G switch and PoE.

I think now the best option is to use a separate 8 port switch for PoE since my PoE doesnt need 10G. Its just a couple IP cameras, a few Ubiquiti APs, and a few Cisco IP Phones. I think that would help remove the unrealistic all in one approach. That should help make the switch cheaper and have more options.

I may check out 5G to help keep the ports RJ45 as opposed to SFP. i think 5G should be plenty sufficient amount of bandwidth.
 

EniGmA1987

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
429
Just get a switch with SFP+, used enterprise gear can often be very cheap. It will save a lot of money over trying to find all RJ45 stuff.
Use fiber and SFP+ for as many of your computers as you can, it will be much cheaper to do it this way with used gear than copper RJ45 since the NICs are a good bit pricey too for copper 10g.
For anything that must use copper, just get a few of these for what you need:
https://www.fs.com/products/66613.html
https://www.fs.com/products/87588.html
And then any regular stuff that needs to be connected to the switch that doesnt need high bandwidth, plug some of these in:
https://www.fs.com/products/34976.html
 
Last edited:

KazeoHin

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
8,146
You can use 10G Base-T SFP modules as well. Best of all worlds.
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,402
I would like to apologize for coming in with hefty goals of 10G. I appreciate you guys pointing me in the right direction and not making fun.

Ive been looking and honestly i think i might just go Unify. So far here is a preliminary list of what im looking at going with.

Gateway/Router
https://store.ui.com/collections/unifi-network-routing-switching/products/unifi-security-gateway-pro

Main Switch
https://store.ui.com/collections/unifi-network-routing-switching/products/usw-pro-48

PoE Switch
https://store.ui.com/collections/routing-switching/products/unifi-switch-16-150w

Im open to other options as far as what i should go with but gigabit should be sufficient. Wont be instantaneous with massive transfers but massive transfers arent going to be common.
 

Zangmonkey

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 6, 2005
Messages
3,788
I would like to apologize for coming in with hefty goals of 10G. I appreciate you guys pointing me in the right direction and not making fun.

Ive been looking and honestly i think i might just go Unify. So far here is a preliminary list of what im looking at going with.

Gateway/Router
https://store.ui.com/collections/unifi-network-routing-switching/products/unifi-security-gateway-pro

Main Switch
https://store.ui.com/collections/unifi-network-routing-switching/products/usw-pro-48

PoE Switch
https://store.ui.com/collections/routing-switching/products/unifi-switch-16-150w

Im open to other options as far as what i should go with but gigabit should be sufficient. Wont be instantaneous with massive transfers but massive transfers arent going to be common.

Why unifi over edgemax?
 

cjcox

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
1,751
Arista has some edge switches 720XP that will do 2.5/5, but nothing with full 10 in a PoE. I don't think I've seen anything with full 10Gbit PoE. How many end devices are there that want PoE and are 10Gbit?
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,402
Why unifi over edgemax?
because of the UI. It looks nice. I know it causes some complications and the edgemax can do a little bit more and is cmd line but for my homelab network i just feel like thats the good move to take. I will have a cisco lab in the rack as well to learn cmd line stuff on but i dont want to rely on my cfgs and skill to run or rather break my network while learning. If i end up liking cmd line more i can switch out the unifi to equipment that works like that when im confident enough in my knowledge.
 

scrappymouse

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
124
to quote a post in another thread

Why are you looking to install Cat 7? It's not specified for any ethernet spec. It's a niche product at best aimed at data centers (that are already using fiber anyways). It has no real future.

Cat 6a is the highest level of twisted-pair specified for any ethernet standard, and is good for up to 10 Gb/s to 100 M (I bet most of the connected systems will be 1 Gb/s for the forseeeable future). Unshielded is fine for pretty much all installs, but if the factory is putting out RM/EF interference shielded options are available (or consider fiber). Anything more is a waste of money and resources.
 

mlcarson

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 12, 2009
Messages
348
Juniper EX4300-48MP
24 1GBS ports, 24 10GBS ports -- all POE
Expansion slot for uplink module.


Im starting a homelab and im starting to look for networking equipment. This is what im looking for in a switch:
24-48 ports
10GbaseT
All downlink ports RJ45(using cat7)
Prefer uplink to be RJ45 but i can run SFP to RJ45 adapters if RJ45 doesnt exist
Prefer cisco but open to other options
PoE
 
Top