Does this all look right? Wiring the house for ethernet.

Oldie

Mean Old Administrator
Staff member
On deciding to stay where I am for a few more years, I decided to wire up the house and rack mount some of my equipment here. I've never wired a structure before, or even made my own cables, but it sounds like fun and I thought I'd give it a whirl. So this is everything I'm getting, I was wondering if you guys would let me know if it all looks good or if you have any suggestions. Max cable length should be ~150 feet. :)

Tripp Lite Cabinet
24 AWG Cat 6 550Mhz STP Solid
Tooless Keystones
Ratcheting Crimper/Stripper
Solid Cable Plugs

Now in addition to the in-wall stuff I'm going to be cutting some shorter cables to go from the larger wall plate under the cabinet into the switches. Should I get stranded for that (and swap to stranded connectors) or is it fine to use solid cable there?

Anyway, like I said, I've never done this before, but I wouldn't mind the experience and it sounds like fun. Just trying to make sure I don't make any serious mistakes. If you take the time to read/give feedback, thanks!

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
I believe you need wallplates, no? Also a patch panel that your cables will come into from all around the house before going into your switch. The max run in ethernet cables is 100m (300ft) so your max run of 150 ft should be fun. (Most people consider the max run to be 90m, cause you'll want 5m or so on each end of the jack for a cable to goto a device or switch.0

What are your walls like? You'll want some sort of fishing pole/wire puller. Other people here can give good recommendations on tools. Do you have the non-techie hand tools to put in wallplates?

Unless you're planning on running 10GigE, or have some other non-ethernet device which requires it cat6, cat5e is fine.