Does pump speed matter?

termite

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
5,642
Understood. I just wanted to make sure the numbers were what others may see and I see two people on here seem to get the same numbers. I really like it for the looks and the ability to easily see what the coolant temp is. I can see my coolant is flowing in the reservoir so I know it is pumping.

Yep for sure.

I was looking at picking up a Aquacomputer Next for the same reason. Not necessarily needed, but another data point to use.
 
Last edited:

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
309
Yep for sure.

I was looking at picking up a Aquacomputer Next for the same reason. Not necessarily needed, but another data point to use.
I had a Corsair Hydro X pump. But was concerned about flow given it’s lower specs on head pressure and flow rate for what I wanted to do. So I upgraded to the EKWB KE Quantum Kinetic TBE 200 D5 pump. I like the look of it better and even hooked it to my Corsair pump/fan and RGB setup to control it. Now I wished I had seen this Next pump. 😁
 

sabrewolf732

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
4,739
Temps are great. Does not break the 70 C mark unless I am doing something like running benchmarks. Coolant sticks around 22-23C all day long. Although I have not added my 2080 Super to the loop yet and that is just the 5900X running pretty much unleashed at I have the EDC limit set to 200A and using Curve Optimizer to get peak boost on all cores. I do not normally run HWInfo64 all day so as of right now the peak temp on CCD1 has been 59C and CCD2 has been 51.8. I have not gamed at all yet today though but from the last time I ran HWInfo and gamed it may have topped out at 66C. Loop is new as of a few weeks or so ago, I changed cases about a month ago and did a temp loop with rubber tubing until I could get some more hard tubing. I did that a few weeks ago and added the flow meter. Temps are pretty much the same either way since I got the case and added the second 360 rad. They were fine with the one but I had a Corsair Crystal 570X case so the airflow to the rad, in the front, was restricted with the front glass panel on. With the Corsair 5000X RGB case it does have a front glass panel but the side one is just a filter so less restriction, I am waiting for Corsair to get the 5000 AirFlow case front panel in stock.

I wouldn't be super concerned then. Sounds like that block might be more resistive than mine (raystorm flows pretty well) and I'm at a very similar flow rate full blast.
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
309
I wouldn't be super concerned then. Sounds like that block might be more resistive than mine (raystorm flows pretty well) and I'm at a very similar flow rate full blast.

I tried this one since it seems to be more designed for the AMD chips and the location of the chiplets, the intake is right where the two chiplets are. It is doing better than my Corsair block did by a 3-4 degrees peak temp
 

sabrewolf732

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
4,739
I tried this one since it seems to be more designed for the AMD chips and the location of the chiplets, the intake is right where the two chiplets are. It is doing better than my Corsair block did by a 3-4 degrees peak temp

Your temp is better than mine so seems like it is working well.
Have you ever tried running your pump at lower speeds, if yes what were the results?

No it's been full blast since day one, I could see but it's sort of a pain due to where it's located. Next time I service the system I will check for you.
 

Fire-Fox

n00b
Joined
Apr 27, 2021
Messages
39
No it's been full blast since day one, I could see but it's sort of a pain due to where it's located. Next time I service the system I will check for you.
You dont have to, just that some people run a few tests at different pump speeds before they decide which one suits better, that is why i asked.
i am running my pump at 4000Rpm - 1.8 L/min and i am very happy with the results.

20210520_054606.jpg
 

Jamie Marsala

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
309
Your temp is better than mine so seems like it is working well.


No it's been full blast since day one, I could see but it's sort of a pain due to where it's located. Next time I service the system I will check for you.
Installed my GPU BitsPower Water Block today. Coolant went up to 27.1C, CPU to 73.1C and GPU to 43.6C when running TimeSpy. Not to bad since the GPU used to hit 70Cish running it before. Coolant raised almost 3C during the run at the BitsPower gauge. I have my pump/fans set to a gaming profile in iCue which raises pump speed to 4400 and fans to 1250RPM, and up as coolant temp rises past 29C. Not to bad as far as I am concerned. Flow on the gauge is 2.3L/min at 4400 RPM. GPU sits at 27.9C when idle now compared to 41C on air.
 

sabrewolf732

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 6, 2004
Messages
4,739
Installed my GPU BitsPower Water Block today. Coolant went up to 27.1C, CPU to 73.1C and GPU to 43.6C when running TimeSpy. Not to bad since the GPU used to hit 70Cish running it before. Coolant raised almost 3C during the run at the BitsPower gauge. I have my pump/fans set to a gaming profile in iCue which raises pump speed to 4400 and fans to 1250RPM, and up as coolant temp rises past 29C. Not to bad as far as I am concerned. Flow on the gauge is 2.3L/min at 4400 RPM. GPU sits at 27.9C when idle now compared to 41C on air.

Very nice!
 
Top