Do you use your phone as a remote control?

Discussion in 'Smart Phones and Devices' started by Megalith, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. Megalith

    Megalith 24-bit/48kHz Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,004
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    I have no idea why but I didn't try using my Android phone as a remote until now. I finally got it working with XBMC and also paired YouTube with my TV and everything is absolutely brilliant.

    I guess what took so long is that I assumed that it'd simply be a virtual remote, but the truth is that it's more like a second screen. It's so much better and practical having all of your media at your fingertips. I have XBMC set up so you can even control MPC-HC using the remote app (I'm using Yatse). Heck, I can jump to any scene instantly and pull up trailers via YouTube with one press, and it shows me info for any film on my phone via IMDB.
     
  2. Aurelius

    Aurelius 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,536
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Yep. I use my devices for both remote control and streaming on my Apple TV, Sonos speakers and Xbox One. There's something really appealing to turning on music at home when you haven't even set foot inside yet.
     
  3. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,212
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    I've used my phone to control Foobar2000 many times.
     
  4. FnordMan

    FnordMan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,727
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    once in a while but not that often. Aka: I discovered the G2's Quickremote app that someone ported to run on non-stock ROMs.

    i've also used it with plex once or twice too. (once controlling an app on the HTPC, one with a chromecast)
     
  5. King Icewind

    King Icewind [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,441
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    I use my Note 3 (IR) for every TV, and cable box I have. It's so damn handy.
     
  6. T4rd

    T4rd REEEEEEE

    Messages:
    16,454
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Yup, since I got my One M8 (with IR blaster on it), I use it for my living room stuff because my kids are constantly losing the damn remote. I love it.
     
  7. kuyaglen

    kuyaglen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,233
    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Yes and it's pretty bad ass.
     
  8. QwertyJuan

    QwertyJuan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,287
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    My friend uses his S5 for his TV AND Home Theatre... pretty cool!
     
  9. Blown 89

    Blown 89 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,437
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
  10. CHANG3D

    CHANG3D [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,768
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    I use my M8 to control my 2 different branded TVs, cable boxes, and 2 different branded home theater. I also use it have a remote keyboard and mouse.
     
  11. ///AMG

    ///AMG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,159
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    I have a note 3 and while its cool the remote is still better and easier to use than my note 3.
     
  12. freakycody

    freakycody Gawd

    Messages:
    924
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    no IR in my moto X but I do use it as a remote for my thermostat. Use it in the house when to lazy to walk to thermostat and use it when I am away from home to be more energy efficient.
     
  13. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,380
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    yes i use it for most of my house devices.. but what its even greater its the ability to use the IR (Galaxy S4 and note 3)... to fuck people TV in the street, the people become instantly freak xD.
     
  14. rudy

    rudy [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,585
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Yes I Keep telling people this but am surprised how few people even realize it is possible.
    Harmony link plus unified remote

    What other remote lets you change it if you want more or don't like something?

    Dont forget wake on lan can cold boot your devices.
     
  15. Liqq

    Liqq Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    398
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    I've used mine a few times to shut off the tv's looping pepsi commercials on a display at the mall. I've watched security walk up, turn them back on and as they walk away I shut them back off lol.
     
  16. DriZzLe

    DriZzLe Gawd

    Messages:
    851
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    I use my Tablet & phone.
     
  17. westrock2000

    westrock2000 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,102
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    I also have an Apple TV and any iOS device can control or or send stuff to it. I don't use it often, but it's convenient when I need to type out something, or I can browse the library while something is playing.
     
  18. sinisterDei

    sinisterDei Gawd

    Messages:
    898
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    I've used both my phone and my tablet as XBMC remotes, and Roku remotes, etc. That said, as much as I think I keep my phone with me at all times, it's not always literally in my hand. Quite often, it's on the countertop or whatever, still in the room with me but not close enough to reach from the couch without getting up.
    So, I've stuck with always having a dedicated device to act as my remote. Lately that's been a Logitech K400 keyboard/mouse combo for XBMC. I just use the keyboard to control it, and it lasts 6+ months on a single set of AA batteries. I've considered buying an inexpensive tablet to act as the remote full-time, but the battery life issue always stops me.
     
  19. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Also highly entertaining to wow drunk people at bars with your ability to command televisions with your new "voice" activated interface....

    seems to work just fine for me.... but the drunk moron next to me just keeps yelling ENHANCE!!! at the television like I did.... and then you walk off.
     
  20. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    I use my Note 3 almost exclusively instead of my remotes. I don't even know where mine are. Wish I could get it to work with a Roku3.
     
  21. Allisons Dad

    Allisons Dad Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Yep. I use my phone to control the six Chromecasts using plex and as a remote for my media server.
     
  22. mi7chy

    mi7chy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,985
    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Mostly to control Chromecasts.
     
  23. The Lurker

    The Lurker [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,256
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Those people that are controlling their home theaters, what app are you using OR what is your setup?

    I am very curious but honestly I have a hard time justifying setting it up simply because a physical remote is so simple and always right there.

    This is the only setup I would consider mildly convenient. But a simple virtual remote control thats a mirror of a physical unit is a waste IMHO.
     
  24. The Lurker

    The Lurker [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,256
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2596104

    For anyone curious. I know I am since I have a G2 with CM.
     
  25. Ocean

    Ocean [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,924
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
  26. Rhinohelix

    Rhinohelix Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    218
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Doesn't the Roku app work for that? I use that to control all of the Rokus in my house from my Note 2.
     
  27. Trimlock

    Trimlock [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,157
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    It's really weird, it will randomly decide to not pick up some of my selections and sometimes it works great. Very weird.
     
  28. freelife2014

    freelife2014 n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
  29. skriefal

    skriefal Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    219
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Heck no. I don't want to have to click a button (power) every time I pick up the remote to "turn it on". And I want physical buttons.
     
  30. Johnny78

    Johnny78 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,271
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Actually, I just started using the quickremote feature on my G3 over the weekend. Have it set up to control my TV, Directv receiver, and Surround sound system in my room. Very handy to not have to deal with 3 separate remotes. Shocked I haven't done it sooner.
     
  31. JeffBlair

    JeffBlair Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    333
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Yep, I use mine for both XBMC, and my stereo receiver. The receiver has an app since it's got a network connection to update firmware.
     
  32. sonicboom

    sonicboom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    I use mine as a tv/htpc remote control. I wish I can also find the ir code for my current a/c unit, lost its rc a week ago and have to get up and turn it on every time I want to use it.
     
  33. callmaster

    callmaster n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    I use it to search titles on Netflix/Youtube and then play it on the Roku 3. It's a little tedious typing using any kind of remote (phone lets me do it fast with the keyboard)