do you guys still use air can to spray clean the case or you use compressor?

Discussion in 'Cases & Case Modding' started by Happy Hopping, Jul 24, 2019.

  1. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    I need some help here: FOr those who bought a compressor w/ that air gun, I bought the Home Depot Anvil compressor

    https://www.homedepot.com/p/ANVIL-2...th-7-Piece-Accessories-Kit-0110247A/302862443

    and today, I bought the air gun w/ quick connect.

    the result is very disappointing. When I spray, try to get the dust out, it's very slow, it's like a 80 yr. old man trying to have an orgasm. It's day vs. night compares to the strength coming out of an air can

    for those who own a compressor w/ air gun, is the air coming out that weak?
     
  2. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I use a much larger compressor that costs 6 times that price. I did not purchase it for the aria blower only. I use it for automotive work and carpentry.


    Did you wait till the tank filled before using the air? Is the pressure output turned up to the maximum?
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  3. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    if I don't wait for the tank to be full, how much difference does it make as that barrel is tiny

    Didn't check max. pressure, good pt. I"ll double check
     
  4. honegod

    honegod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,673
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Barrel = tank, yes ?
     
  5. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    I use them interactively, and I haven't got the time to test the above again.
     
  6. TheSlySyl

    TheSlySyl Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    181
    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    I use an air blower that was originally used to blow up air mattress for guests, works well enough on my computer components as well.
     
  7. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,136
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
  8. magnetik

    magnetik Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,765
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Airforce Blaster Sidekick
     
  9. Shoganai

    Shoganai Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    kirbyrj likes this.
  10. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,715
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I just picked up one of these also. Somewhat cheaper than the DataVac one. Probably not much difference.
     
  11. Shoganai

    Shoganai Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    318
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    I’ve used it to blow out my garage before. It’s good.
     
    kirbyrj likes this.
  12. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,136
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    The xpower looks less dorky than the datavac, I have to say. But back when I got mine, there was no choice. :(
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  13. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    13,929
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    TOR_51820.jpg

    My Dad bought one of these it's cordless and it has a Turbo mode where it really shoots out the air.
    It removes all the dust from the top of my SSD drives so it's pretty decent.
     
    Shoganai likes this.
  14. Commander Shepard

    Commander Shepard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,940
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    My computer's best friend...

    duster.jpg
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  15. RazorWind

    RazorWind 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,295
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Are you sure you have the pressure adjusted right? Any air compressor should be able to produce enough pressure to clean out a PC case. I have one that doesn't even have a tank, and just the air in the hose is enough.

    Try adjusting the blue knob on the front of it. It sounds like they ship it with the pressure adjusted really low.
     
  16. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    I am curious, for those of you who lives in North America and it's -10 deg. C outside, and say right now, I want to dust spray a few PC's dust. Exactly how do you do it?

    a) indoor in your PC room and blow the dust out

    b) move it to your garage and do it at about 2 deg. C inside a garage

    c) outdoor at -10 deg. C?

    I hate to find out what's the operating temperature of that home depot compressor
     
  17. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I always use b regardless of the temperature. Although my compressors are usually in the garage anyways.


    Many compressors have a difficult time starting in cold temperatures. If this is the case you may blow the breaker a time or two (at first startup) but after the motor and bearings warm up it should work. If I had to guess this has happened to me a hundred times.. These types of compressors are used by contractors in new buildings that are not heated. (not sure how many professionals use the $5X dollar model however)

    One thing that can help in cold temperatures is at first startup keep the drain valve open and run it for a few minutes till it heats up then shutdown and close the drain.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2019
  18. cyclone3d

    cyclone3d [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,103
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    I've been using an air compressor since the early 1990s.

    Around 6 months or so ago my 120v pancake style compressor was stolen so I went looking for a nice used compressor.

    I now have a 20 gallon 230v compressor of the style where the compressor is belt driven by the motor.

    It is the quietest compressor I have ever used.. besides the fact that I need to probably replace the belt and rig up some sort of automatic belt tensioner to it to get rid of the noise from the belt vibrating.
     
  19. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,898
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I had a larger Datavac at a job once and it was awesome when cleaning out large groups of computers at once. I'd love to pick up that hand held unit.

    I have used compressors before but you have to be careful. The one I use once in awhile has never got water in it, but I've seen some before that get a bunch of water in them, so bad you have to drain it out periodically. So I trust the ones I know are water free but the Datavac type devices are obviously the best choice.
     
  20. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    You are supposed to drain a compressor about every day of use. In the construction industry you usually do this at the end of the day.

    I have certainly forgotten and left air in a compressor for much longer however.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2019
  21. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    I went back to home depot. I now understand what the problem is:

    the guy can describes exactly what the situation is, ie.., I turn the dial up at 75 psi. I then air spray the computer parts. It last only 15 sec. And after that, nothing happens. It drop to less than 20 psi after 15 sec., and the air that comes out after, it's like a T-girl having an ejaculation.

    So he told me that it's like I'm hiring a child to do the job of an adult. The barrel is too small, I have to get a much bigger compressor to have strong air comes out for a long period of time. But a can of air is only $10, so I don't want to pay $300 upwards to get strong air flow.

    I wonder what make / model is the ones that you guys are using, and how big is it? as I don't have that much space to store such a giant compressor. However, I do need to stock a compressor in case I need to pump air in my car tires


    https://www.homedepot.com/p/ANVIL-2...th-7-Piece-Accessories-Kit-0110247A/302862443
     
  22. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,527
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    The small pancake compressors are better for small nail guns than blowers. Blowers use require a lot of CFM.

    Although I have access to 230V model with a large tank I mainly use a 115V craftsman from 25 years ago. It is larger and has better specs than this but is a similar design (belt driven though):

    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Husky-8G-150-PSI-Hotdog-Air-Compressor-0300816/302862402

    Edit:

    Here is a better match to what I use:

    https://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-...ectric-Air-Compressor-DXCMPA1982054/204068485

    Although again I use it mainly for carpentry and automotive uses. I certainly would not buy it for the ability to use the blower.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019
  23. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,003
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    You just need something with a bigger tank unless you are worried about how fast that tank fills or are running air tools that require a high cfm. My current office has something like the POS you linked and it has the same problem. I have a 6 gallon pancake in my garage and it works fine however.

    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Porter-...ectric-Pancake-Air-Compressor-C2002/203162815

    Now if you are blowing out machines constantly then something with an even larger tank and higher cfm like above commenter posted would be a good idea.
     
  24. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    I do 1 or 2 PC blow per month. Not that often. I'll check with home depot .

    Bottom line: Have you use the Porter to clean a the inside of a PC ? You know that would take probably 1 to 2 min. Would a 6 gallon unit do it?
     
  25. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Dewalt too expensive, I rather buy can of air. the 8G Husky is doable, depends on whether it's enough to blow 1 to 2 min. of air to clean the inside of a PC. I think 2 min. is quite reasonable. Or perhaps longer, depends on how dirty a PC is. But I only do 1 to 2 PC per mth.

    So a simple trick is to keep my Anvil for car tires emergency, and just buy a few can of air per year
     
  26. matt167

    matt167 Gawd

    Messages:
    825
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
  27. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    The Husky is 150 psi and yet the HP is 1.8HP.

    The above Central Pneumatic, also 8 gallon, w/ 2 HP, and yet it's only 125 psi. If 8 gallon, like you said, is enough to blow air on a PC, then I'll pick the Husky

    Having said that, how many min. do I get from a 6 gallon tank?

    as the 2 gallon has no chance of refilling the air fast enough while I am using it. So I wonder would an 8 gallon be fast enough to refill the air when I am blowing the air to the PC?


     
  28. matt167

    matt167 Gawd

    Messages:
    825
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    The reason I recommended the Central Pneumatic over the Husky is because if you look at the specs. the CP has a higher SCFM rating than the husky by quite a bit, meaning that the pump actually pumps more air per revolution of the pump.. With the CP, you could likely blow 40 PSI air almost indefinitely. If you need more air pressure than that, it will be intermittent. And if you want 150 PSI out of the CP compressor, you can do that as well. you can take the cover off of the pressure switch and turn the screw until you get 150 PSI. You might need to buy a new safety valve but they cost about $10
     
  29. Happy Hopping

    Happy Hopping [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,644
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    so here's a primitive question: when we buy an air can, what is the PSI coming out of that can? As to be honest, I normally do a few min. of cleaning depends on how much dust is inside

    if there is NOT enough air or pressure in the tank, I feel like I'm Ultraman in those episode and racing against time before the light on Ultraman's chest blink on and off, and I am hoping for a better solution than that