Do I have enough power for SLI?

Escher

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
496
So I just built a new rig and am tempted to go SLI (mostly because I can get a free copy of Arkham Asylum :), but I don't know if I have enough power to do it.

Specs straight from NewEgg:
1 x EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
1 x ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
1 x Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52500K
1 x G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR
1 x LITE-ON Blu-ray Burner with 3D Playback SATA iHBS212-08 LightScribe Support
1 x COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1 "Heatpipe Direct Contact" Long Life Sleeve 120mm CPU Cooler Compatible Intel Core i5 & Intel Core i7
1 x Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
1 x COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M600 RS-600-AMBA-D3 600W ATX12V V2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Bronze Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

I'm not sure how I'll power it as the PSU only has 2 PCIe-x connectors, but I guess that's what the molex to PCIe-x cables are for. :)

Additionally, I have no idea how to measure power draw, so can someone enlighten me on this dark art? Ideally I'd add another EVGA 560Ti to this rig and probably a few more hard drives.
 

fightingfi

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
3,231
I can tell you this much always buy MORE psu than what you need. Id be looking for a 900-1k watt for what you want to use and do with it. I think 600 is just to small nowadays.
 

Escher

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
496
I used to think like you do, but I used an online calculator and it topped me off at 524W. After spending years with a Shuttle box that powered way more than I thought with what I thought was a puny power supply, I've started to rethink my old ways.

At the same time, I really don't know. I was looking at the Cooler Master 850 since it has more PCIe connectors, but then I'll have wasted $90 on this 600W PSU. Hate that.
 

Profumo

Gawd
Joined
Jul 10, 2011
Messages
681
Ignore the ridiculous 1KW suggestion.. that's for triple 6970s;)
Now regarding your build, a true 600W PSU would power without an issue any 560Ti SLI config, however you're PSU only has 40A on the 12v rail, and that is 480W for two 560Ti and a 2500k :)
If you don't push the cards too much(consistent overvolting) the PSU should handle the setup :)
 

Tsumi

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
13,551
I can tell you this much always buy MORE psu than what you need. Id be looking for a 900-1k watt for what you want to use and do with it. I think 600 is just to small nowadays.

Never ever take advice like this. It's just plain stupid to buy more than you need, unless you are absolutely sure of what you are going to upgrade to.

Unless, of course, you're getting a killer deal on a larger capacity power supply.
 

pug71

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
442
I can tell you this much always buy MORE psu than what you need. Id be looking for a 900-1k watt for what you want to use and do with it. I think 600 is just to small nowadays.

Nonsense... All that for a 560ti SLi setup? Stop giving advice like this that makes no bit of sense.. It would make most users seeking advice to waste a high amount of cash.
 

E4g1e

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 21, 2002
Messages
7,346
Actually, that 600W Cooler Master PSU is not that great of a buy, especially since you can buy the higher quality and slightly higher wattage Corsair TX650 v2 PSU for nearly the same price.
 
Top