Disable Signed Driver Checking doesn't work

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Stoly, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,030
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    I tried to install Ati tray tools, I got the "signed driver" error notice, so I reboot press F8 and select Disable Signed Driver Checking and try to install again. Same error

    I tried bcdedit and still doesn't work

    Using Vista64 business SP1
     
  2. NoxTek

    NoxTek The Geek Redneck

    Messages:
    9,319
    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    There is a hotfix you have to uninstall

    Uninstall hotfix KB938979 and then you should be able to disable driver signing via the F8 method, or the BCEdit method...
     
  3. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,057
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    F8 works fine at boot, the error message WILL still pop up, but it won't block it. Ignore the above post, you do not need to disable a hotfix.

    Business x64 on the Q6600 in sig
     
  4. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,030
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    F8 doesn't work. Its still blocked, and from what I've read there's no way to unblock it.
     
  5. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,057
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    F8 works fine. Unless they turned off the functionality in SP1, I'm not sure you're aware what the system is doing.. The system will pop up a warning saying that the driver won't be installed, but it actually will install it. eg: Vmware requires you to hit F8 at boot to install (and it will bitch, but work fine) and run subsequently.
     
  6. xxEIEIOxx

    xxEIEIOxx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,281
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    I have heard that this functionality actually was to be removed in SP1.
     
  7. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,057
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Looks Like I will not be installing SP1 then. If I can't run vmware, I can't run vista. Joy!
     
  8. Violator

    Violator Gawd

    Messages:
    706
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    F8 to disable Driver Signing works fine with SP1 installed.
     
  9. Rebel44

    Rebel44 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,292
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Latest version (beta) of Ati tray tools have signed driver :).
     
  10. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,924
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    VirtualBox is free, and works much better, in my opinion.
     
  11. xxEIEIOxx

    xxEIEIOxx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,281
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    We have done a lot of virtualization testing at work, and I must agree, I prefer VirtualBox to VMWare. I even prefer VirtualPC to VMWare. My only complaint with VirtualBox is that is does not support drag and drop between the host and guest, but it has been very stable. But then again, I assume someone that has existing virtual machine images probably isn't interested in recreating them.
     
  12. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,924
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    The lack of drag and drop just about made me switch back to VirtualPC 2007. Then I started mapping a drive to my data drive on the host PC, and it is working out great. I had to do some RTFM'ing to get it working, but it was actually very simple.
     
  13. xxEIEIOxx

    xxEIEIOxx 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,281
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    True, it is a reasonable workaround. Just wanted to make sure someone used to VMWare wasn't expecting drag and drop to work. So I'm assuming VMWare has unsigned drivers? No excuse for that, considering their resources. My testing was on XP32, so I wouldn't have caught it. Didn't Intel just make a $100,000,000 investment in VMWare? And they can't get the drivers signed?
     
  14. devman

    devman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,399
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    VMWare should just sign there damn drivers, imo!