Disable one core on X2

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by caboosemoose, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. caboosemoose

    caboosemoose Gawd

    Messages:
    587
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Anyone know if one core can be disabled in bios or software on an X2?

    Thanks.
     
  2. mike0219116

    mike0219116 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    I use a program called RunFirst.

    http://www.activeplus.com/us/freeware/runfirst/

    Put the .exe in the same folder as your game and then add a command line (before the game's .exe) in the game's shortcut. This will automatically set the processor affinity to a single processor wach time you start theh program.

    I'm assuming that application problems are the reason you want to disable a core. Sorry if my assumption is incorrect.
     
  3. serbiaNem

    serbiaNem 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,155
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    You can try getting an older revision bios for your mb that supports venice chips only. (else no boot whatsoever) This will make the mb only detect 1 core.
     
  4. BigDaddy85

    BigDaddy85 Gawd

    Messages:
    876
    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    ... don't disable nothin. u should take an advantage of havin dual core for many things. :)
     
  5. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,064
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    why.. exactly do you want to do this?
     
  6. caboosemoose

    caboosemoose Gawd

    Messages:
    587
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002

    Heh, thanks, but I actually want to get some perfromance numbers out of a single core.

    Any further ideas other than the bios (looking for one now)..?
     
  7. TheDoucheMan

    TheDoucheMan Washed free of idiocy.

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    if you only run one instance of the benchmark then it will only test one core. If the utility supports dual core, it probably lets you specify.
     
  8. freeloader1969

    freeloader1969 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    You could always reinstall Windows XP or install it on a new drive partition and when it's installing and says press F6 to install a thrid party driver (or somthing similar to that) press F5 instead. Then choose a uniprocessor pc system. One core will only function then!
     
  9. Buckshot

    Buckshot Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    is there something similar that will set a program to affinity CPU1?
     
  10. freeloader1969

    freeloader1969 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Yes, just use the task manager. CTRL + ALT + DELETE. Find the process that you want to run affinity on, right click on it and "Set Affinity to cpu(x)". That's it.
     
  11. Shane

    Shane [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,356
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Lol like others said why the hell would you want to disable the other core ? I mean thats what makes the x2 so good if it wasnt for that I wouldnt even bother with a single core amd cpu and yes that includes the fx series. Personally until amd came out with the x2 I wouldnt even think of owning a amd processor.
     
  12. eurin

    eurin [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    He already said he wants to bench the performance of the single core.
     
  13. Buckshot

    Buckshot Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    I do not want to have to sit infront of my pc and constantly set affinity that is Y i asked for a program that would set affinity to either core of my choosing. oh well guess im out of luck
     
  14. freeloader1969

    freeloader1969 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    You asked for a program that could set affinity. The task manager is that program. Short of the program your running having an option to do it, you're SOL.

    Also, considering your situation you should've bought a single core processor or bought a hyperthreading P4. Atleast you can shut off hyperthreading in the BIOS on most P4 boards. Maybe in a future BIOS release, you'll have the option of disabling one of the cores on your processor. Ask the manufacturer of your board to do so. If enough people ask, they'll probably do it.

    JFYI...it's pretty rude to criticize someone who is only offering you advice on a question you've asked :( If you want answers to your questions, even though those answers aren't correct or may not be what you want to hear, then why ask? Peace....
     
  15. Buckshot

    Buckshot Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    yes the task manager does that but im looking for one that will set affinity automatically everytime the program starts and/or restarts one of its processes (ie folding@home. the client keeps running but the cores stop and start{and change to another folding core} and everytime a new unit starts the affinity goes back to cpu0&cpu1 set on) which spreads the work across both cpus.

    i purchased dual core to run two folding clients and or one folding client and a game on the other cpu i have no desire to disable either processor

    honestly if that was rude i guess the world has become a very delicate place. i did mention at the end OH WELL GUESS I'M OUT OF LUCK "as in that sucks and ill get over it". if i knew how to write a program i would do it im sure someone else is having the same problem some where.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. rhexis

    rhexis Gawd

    Messages:
    995
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    the utility you are looking for is called imagecfg and can be found at http://www.robpol86.com/?imagecfg
    ive used it to set the affinity for aplications that dont work well on dual cores and it works great.
     
  17. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,296
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    My virus scanner says it has a virus in it when I scan it... so I'm kind of wary, to say the least, of using this. However, Microsoft does have an official tool that might work for what the poster is asking:

    Installation and usage instructions:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;252867&

    Intfilt included in the MS 2003 Server resource kit, which works with Windows XP too:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=4544
     
  18. freeloader1969

    freeloader1969 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,245
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    I'm a very easy person to get along with, very easy. Your post came across more as "saucy" then rude. Anyhow, let's just forget about it. Hopefully you'll find what you're looking for. ;)
     
  19. Buckshot

    Buckshot Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    well i never have been called saucy, thats a new one but COOL we are all just tryin to find our digital way.

    thanks for your help. hope we can carry on :)
     
  20. rhexis

    rhexis Gawd

    Messages:
    995
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    i just scanned it with symantec corp v 9 and it came back clean on this end. you are correct tho ms has the utility as well.
     
  21. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,296
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    I just did a quick scan using trendmicro's web scanner since I'm on a computer at a lab and not on my own computer. It claimed it had a virus, so I was just passing on the information just in case :).
     
  22. valrond

    valrond n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    I was searching for this yesterday and i found a simple and efficient way. Just edit your boot.ini file and add /onecpu to the line of windows.

    example:


    [boot loader]
    timeout=05
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /usepmtimer
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional un solo nucleo" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /usepmtimer /onecpu


    I added a second line with the /onecore option, so i can choose if i want a manchester or venice.
     
  23. onetrueday

    onetrueday [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,329
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001

    :p

    very cool.