Different questions about overclocking / Aorus Master z390 and 9900k

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
Hi,

I'm always trying to tweak stuff and get better results and temps and so I have a few questions


High vcore / Low LLC or Low Vcore High LLC?
I'm running at 1.24 with turbo LLC but I was advised to rise the vcore to lower LLC. During my tests though, i have no overshoot with turbo. I try to rise Vcore to 1.29 with lower llc without success, should I go higher? What would be the perks of it

ntel speed shift in bios
Does it has a big impact on temps, even at idle ? can this settings when enabled, can mess up an oc or a stress test?


max performance plan in windows
Same question ! I'm running on normal performance

C-state
Same question, i have those disabled for now

Fixed vcore or adaptive one?
I tried to set up a adaptive vcore but the results are not perfect for now, need more testing.
Tried different level of LLC, different offset but best I had was one hour stable on small occt before a WHEA error in HWINFO...


Cinebenchs
Does cinebench (both of it) need to run in real life process? I would like to be able to compare my results to others and i wanna be on the same page :)


VT-D
Does that settings has any impact on the OC, temps or stability?

screen below are my settings and temps after 2h of large occt .

I guess that's all that comes in my mind right now, thanks for your answers !
 

Attachments

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
What is it you are trying to achieve? Maximum overclock or power savings while very fast speeds (like I am)?

I run :
  • auto LLC
  • -75mV DVID
  • Speedshift enabled
  • c states all enabled/Max c10
  • Cache/uncore downbin enabled
  • Ring multiplier 48x (runs 47x at 5ghz)
  • CEC 2019 compatibility enabled
  • VT-x and VT-D enabled
  • Hyperthreading enabled
I run all cores at 5ghz with zero AVX offset. Max voltage is about 1.119-1.2v under full load (maybe a golden chip?)

Will boot on 5.1ghz at the above settings but haven’t pushed it and it falls over after a bit.

My memory runs at 3200mhz, so no issues there

See my thread on Quickcpu for power plan info and links to more info on speedshift

VT-D is not strictly necessary on the desktop, but useful if you’re doing VM work with passthrough of hardware
 
Last edited:

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
I wanna stay at 5GHZ all core with good temps and max possible performance and FPS in games.

For me i run


  • Turbo LLC -- Tried to lower without success with 1.29 vcore, haven't pushed more
  • 1.24 vcore
  • Speedshift enabled
  • c states disabled : I have coil whine with it but I might tried to disable only C1E I read this can help but won't C state be useless without it? Also, does C-State helps with temps a lot or only the "bill"
  • Cache/uncore downbin enabled - I have it disabled, what would it change if I enabled it ?
  • 50 all core / 47 uncore
  • CEC 2019 compatibility enabled : No Idea what that is
  • VT-x and VT-D enabled : Vt-X ? What is that? VT-D is disabled for me I don't do virtualization
  • Hyperthreading enabled : same

    Do you think my temps and settings are good?

    Thanks for your help !
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
I wanna stay at 5GHZ all core with good temps and max possible performance and FPS in games.

For me i run


  • Turbo LLC -- Tried to lower without success with 1.29 vcore, haven't pushed more
  • 1.24 vcore
  • Speedshift enabled
  • c states disabled : I have coil whine with it but I might tried to disable only C1E I read this can help but won't C state be useless without it? Also, does C-State helps with temps a lot or only the "bill"
  • Cache/uncore downbin enabled - I have it disabled, what would it change if I enabled it ?
  • 50 all core / 47 uncore
  • CEC 2019 compatibility enabled : No Idea what that is
  • VT-x and VT-D enabled : Vt-X ? What is that? VT-D is disabled for me I don't do virtualization
  • Hyperthreading enabled : same

    Do you think my temps and settings are good?

    Thanks for your help !
Max performance means compromising power consumption, are you sure?

Downbin means that if the cpu downclocks it pulls the cache down in lockstep to 300mhz below the clock. It’s primarily power saving.

if you’re locking your cores at 5ghz (which you should be if you’re looking for maximum performance) then speedshift won’t make any difference, nor will cstates which should be disabled so there is no latency with cores having to clock up/down/wake up etc.

CEC 2019 is power saving again.

Max performance plan in windows is recommended if you want maximum performance.

C-states, core parking, speedshift and hardware duty cycling all will help significantly with power consumption and responsiveness if you decide to have adaptive voltage/offsets and want to save power, but it sounds like you don’t.
 

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
I wanted to to get adaptive but couldn't make it satble for now.

Should I use downbin for cache?
Haven't seen CEC 2019 in my bios nbeither core parking

Well i read that max performance on window are improving FPS but the temps drops by 3c idle if i go to normal plan so I don't know.

Will there be a huge temperature gap between

Max performance
Speed shift disabled
EIST disabled

Or

normal performance
Speed shift enabled
EIST enabled.

Also, the temps should vary on idle and not really on load right?

Looking at your topic on this software now, sounds interesting
 
Last edited:

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
The only reason to use downbin is if you run adaptive/speedshift.

If you read my other thread re quickcpu and implement the changes suggested and enable adaptive/cstates/speedshift/hardware duty cycling etc, you will likely loose some peak FPS, but I’m talking 2% not 10% here. To be frank, I haven’t noticed it in gameplay at all.

On the other hand, you will be burning less power, so less heat

This is both at idle AND at load as no load is 100% and the processor can step up and down in 15ms chunks of time, so during part of that load duration cores can be sleeping or even powering down.
 
Last edited:

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
If i leave normal performance on windows, i should leave speedshift right?

About Quick CPu, is it only effective with adaptive?

Right now i went back to

  • Turbo LLC --
  • 1.24 vcore
  • Speedshift enabled
  • c states disabled :
  • Cache/uncore downbin - It disabled,
  • 50 all core / 47 uncore
  • Power plan windows : normal
  • VT-D disabled for me I don't do virtualization
  • Hyperthreading enabled : same


Temps on windows are around 36 to 38 with 28c ambiant.
Gaming is usually around 65c MAX with average temps of 50c for a game of 1h kinda.

Could I leave it as it is?
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
You can leave it however you want to leave it :)

Your temps are very good.

Speedshift is only worthwhile if you have enabled cstates and adaptive voltage.

Quickcpu can help you test different settings while you’re in windows, some help you overclock better, some help you save power.
 

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
Oh ok but if i am on normal power plan and I disable speed shift will my frequency still downclock?

Also, what about EIST?
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
Oh ok but if i am on normal power plan and I disable speed shift will my frequency still downclock?

Also, what about EIST?
EIST is an earlier technology(than speedshift) that allows stepping between speeds, yes it will work, same deal though, if you don’t have adaptive voltage then it doesn’t make a lot of sense
 

Elric82

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2017
Messages
36
But without Eist it's like using max performance power plan on windows then no? Does one setting override the other? Staying at 5000 all the time won't rise idle temps even at idle?
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
But without Eist it's like using max performance power plan on windows then no? Does one setting override the other? Staying at 5000 all the time won't rise idle temps even at idle?
there are other power saving things in power plans aside from speed, eg link state stuff, sata management etc.
 

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,124
At the expense of shift lag
It’s kind of, either lock the clock at the maximum and lock voltage, or set up adaptive/offset and speedshift.

Cstates and hardware core duty cycling, as well as core parking are the next level (for power saving)
 
Top