Did the latest iCue and related firmware updates break everything for anyone else?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Thunderdolt, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    I'm continually blown away by the truly garbage quality of Corsair's software. After doing the latest updates, my system not only doesn't save any profiles but it can't even handle basics like keeping fans within 50% of the target RPM. One of the Corsair fans connected to the Corsair Commander Pro inside of my Corsair 1000D being managed by Corsair iCue is currently sitting at 900rpm even though the profile it's on is calling for only 300pm. The other Corsair fans (same model) connected to that Commander Pro and configured for the exact same profile are sitting at 330rpm.

    Did the latest updates do this for anyone else?
     
    {NG}Fidel likes this.
  2. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,753
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Just messed with my setup and it's working correctly.
    I've got 3 HD120 RGB and an ML120 RGB controlled by the Commander Pro
     
  3. Thunderdolt

    Thunderdolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    183
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    That was easy. I simply reflashed both Commander Pros three times each and now they seem to be able to make fans turn again.
     
  4. Shadowarez

    Shadowarez n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    I have exact same case and a extra commander pro. For the longest time usb ports in front wouldn't work unless is go to icue then lighting setup click the profile.
     
  5. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,144
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Their software is literally why I'm jumping back to Logitech.
     
  6. German Muscle

    German Muscle [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,834
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    I have a H100i that cycles RGB. However i have zero intent on ever installing their software to turn it off unless there is some magical firmware that will drop my temps.
     
  7. PhaseNoise

    PhaseNoise [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,553
    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    I love Corsair hardware. But yes, the software is on par with most hardware companies - meaning it is tripe on a stick. I just use it to setup static colors on my keyboard, but nonetheless each release manages to do something unexpected and undesirable.

    Logitech's new G Hub software is a horrendous UI nightmare, but the software + drivers do actually seem to work consistently. I have had a logitech mouse since mice were newfangled novelties, never had a single problem with a driver. The usability of setting things up is IMO poor, but once done, it works.
     
    Brian_B likes this.
  8. Hagrid

    Hagrid [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,182
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    I updated mine to the latest and have not seen anything. Maybe it is affected by some other driver?
     
  9. somebrains

    somebrains Gawd

    Messages:
    570
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    icue is off
    Hwinfo is running

    Going to play blackout all day on a 2600 4.2ghz at 1.4v for funsies.