Diablo II Resurrected: Offical Thread

horse

Gawd
Joined
Mar 22, 2006
Messages
645
I played a little of this last night and earlier this morning, was already experiencing rubberbanding and lagginess in general. I think I will not be purchasing this like I had previously planned to, most definitely not for $40 anyway (probably not even for thirty or twenty). It's doesn't really hold up all that well anyway imo, it almost feels like a chore to play sometimes. I did an amazon with a bow for a bit and then a crossbow and it felt wonky at times. The hit detection seemed off more often than not.
 

Daishi123

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
271
I played a little of this last night and earlier this morning, was already experiencing rubberbanding and lagginess in general. I think I will not be purchasing this like I had previously planned to, most definitely not for $40 anyway (probably not even for thirty or twenty). It's doesn't really hold up all that well anyway imo, it almost feels like a chore to play sometimes. I did an amazon with a bow for a bit and then a crossbow and it felt wonky at times. The hit detection seemed off more often than not.

So....exactly like how it was originally released.
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
5,311
I played a little of this last night and earlier this morning, was already experiencing rubberbanding and lagginess in general. I think I will not be purchasing this like I had previously planned to, most definitely not for $40 anyway (probably not even for thirty or twenty). It's doesn't really hold up all that well anyway imo, it almost feels like a chore to play sometimes. I did an amazon with a bow for a bit and then a crossbow and it felt wonky at times. The hit detection seemed off more often than not.
I agree I had some terrible rubber banding. I decided to stop the pre order. I’ll check out the reviews next month after it releases
 

Eshelmen

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
5,385
I agree I had some terrible rubber banding. I decided to stop the pre order. I’ll check out the reviews next month after it releases

Aren't betas supposed to be a stress test for servers at release?

Shouldn't the rubber banding be alleviated to a degree once they get servers up to capacity?
 

jmilcher

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
5,311
Aren't betas supposed to be a stress test for servers at release?

Shouldn't the rubber banding be alleviated to a degree once they get servers up to capacity?
I’d hope so. I was experiencing it very often. In fact a few times it got me killed.
 

Xrave

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
7,430
I didn't experience any rubber banding during the closed beta, but during open beta I was getting it about once per hour.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
2,395
Haven't played D2 since probably 02 or 03.

Considering how arcadey Diablo3 is compared to this, I find it kind of odd how you can have only 2 active skills(auras or attacks) at any given time(of course can change on the fly). Or am I missing something here?

You d2 vets be smashing those button combos I bet. Lol
I swapped my potions to the F1-F4 keys and attacks to the 1-8. Noob move? I find it better.

What's your go to keybind set up?
I used to somehow bind them to the mousewheel. I can't remember how I did it though. You could then just scroll through.
 

Spaghetti

n00b
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
16
I used to somehow bind them to the mousewheel. I can't remember how I did it though. You could then just scroll through.
That's actually the default behavior, I always have to remember to turn it off or I accidentally switch skills when using mouse 3 for something.

As far as rubber banding and lag, I'm 50/50 on whether it was any better or worse than the original. Hit detection was about the same, rubber banding caused by actual server lag, maybe a little worse? I'm guessing that 'hit detection' is part of the core game engine they won't be changing (since it's broken for singleplayer too) but hopefully rubber banding is fixable with more stable servers and faster connections.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,938
I was assuming some of the rubberbanding I was experiencing was due to the beta servers beeing in the US and me beeing in Europe, but if it is the same stateside must be something else.

Not that I was thinking of buying it, I was never big into D2, found D3 to be a much better game.
 

Aix.

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
1,949
That's actually the default behavior, I always have to remember to turn it off or I accidentally switch skills when using mouse 3 for something.

As far as rubber banding and lag, I'm 50/50 on whether it was any better or worse than the original. Hit detection was about the same, rubber banding caused by actual server lag, maybe a little worse? I'm guessing that 'hit detection' is part of the core game engine they won't be changing (since it's broken for singleplayer too) but hopefully rubber banding is fixable with more stable servers and faster connections.
It may just be desync occurring, like when you path your character near an object (around a corner, through a doorway, through a bunch of enemies, etc.) and there is a disagreement between your client and the server regarding what actually occurred - namely whether you successfully pathed through the area or not. The result is usually your character running ahead before suddenly being teleported back to the problem spot. In these cases it's not really a laggy server but rather a game engine from 20 years ago.
 

Decko87

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
1,882
I'm still buying it, I agree the rubber banding was awful. Made Barbarian unplayable. I had forgotten how much I love this game, it's truly a master piece. I played through each class through act 2, a couple classes with different builds. When I was a kid I must've sunk thousands of hours into this game, I'm 34 now so I won't sink as much time but I'm going to play the shit out of it when it comes out.
 

Furious Nerd

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
3,434


The OST for Diablo 2 is literally my favorite piece of music ever. I've listened to it countless hours on drives.
What Matt Uelman did with the orchestra members is truly amazing in its variety and quality.
Has there been any news on what if anything they're going to do with the OST for the remaster? I hope they release a loseless version for free or something
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,915
Diablo 2 Resurrected ditched ultrawide support because it breaks the game

According to Blizzard, problems with 21:9 became abundantly clear during that technical alpha..."For example, the AI failed to sense the player and trigger attacks," reads a new Blizzard blog post. "Furthermore, players with 21:9 monitors were able to pull many more monsters into battle at a range limit beyond the original game’s intention"...

https://us.forums.blizzard.com/en/d3/t/diablo-ii-resurrected-console-lobbies-tcpip-uw-updates/44360
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,036
Diablo 2 Resurrected ditched ultrawide support because it breaks the game

According to Blizzard, problems with 21:9 became abundantly clear during that technical alpha..."For example, the AI failed to sense the player and trigger attacks," reads a new Blizzard blog post. "Furthermore, players with 21:9 monitors were able to pull many more monsters into battle at a range limit beyond the original game’s intention"...

https://us.forums.blizzard.com/en/d3/t/diablo-ii-resurrected-console-lobbies-tcpip-uw-updates/44360
Ya I noticed that last test. Kinda sucks but it didn't ruin the experience for me.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,799
Launch time is 0800 PDT/1100 EDT/1500 UTC on the 23rd.

https://twitter.com/RodFergusson/status/1435724309595660292

1631300603386.png
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,036
I remember trying to play the original version of D2 at launch, the servers were a mess. Same thing with Diablo 3.

This shouldn't have the same demand so hopefully things go smoothly.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,799
They will have problems, totally...they would rather save money then spend money over provisioning "just in case"
No point in spending more on infrastructure than you have to. How fast will the number of players trying to get on at the same time going to decrease and stabilize?
 

Furious Nerd

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
3,434
I remember trying to play the original version of D2 at launch, the servers were a mess. Same thing with Diablo 3.

This shouldn't have the same demand so hopefully things go smoothly.
Based on my and your experiences with Blizzard products on launch, I would curb your optimistic outlook 😅
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,282
No point in spending more on infrastructure than you have to. How fast will the number of players trying to get on at the same time going to decrease and stabilize?
If they were smart and had burstable infra, would not be an issues, but likely more a software code base issue also. The problem is crappy launches last 2-3 days, then bugs, and maybe a week or 2 later people can actually play. So instead of pissing off players who may never come back, do it right, considering the profit they will rake in anyways.
 

horrorshow

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
7,957
Everyone in this thread should buy Last Epoch instead and stick it to Blizzard IMO

(I'll probably still end up buying Resurrected - just because..)
 

TheGardenTool

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
3,168
Sadly other than a couple WoW expansions this will be just the second Blizzard game I’ll pass on buying. The first was Warcraft 3 Reforged. I was excited by the promise of original networking options and Ultra Widescreen support. If they decide to try to add them back later, then I’ll reconsider. While I don’t think I’d use the alternative networking methods often, there were plenty of times during my time heavily playing D2 that I did use them. Also made use of them during D1 especially for Hellfire.
 

alxlwson

You Know Where I Live
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
8,222
Sadly other than a couple WoW expansions this will be just the second Blizzard game I’ll pass on buying. The first was Warcraft 3 Reforged. I was excited by the promise of original networking options and Ultra Widescreen support. If they decide to try to add them back later, then I’ll reconsider. While I don’t think I’d use the alternative networking methods often, there were plenty of times during my time heavily playing D2 that I did use them. Also made use of them during D1 especially for Hellfire.

I would like to see this promise of UWS support. It's been stated for basically forever that even WS would create issues, let alone UWS.
As for TCP/IP play, I played that like maybe five times in 20 years
 

Motley

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,485
Oh man so many cool memories with D2. It was my favorite game for such a long time. And everybody here that played it at launch are oldschoolers like me. Man it sucks getting old.

I can't believe how many people still play D2 like some streamers. But unless you experienced the game at launch, these young kids/streamers just don't understand us old time gamers.

I played D3 and I thought it was way too easy, didn't compare to D2.

Does anybody know if this will have Linux Steam Proton support? I am gaming on Linux right now.
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,036
I would like to see this promise of UWS support. It's been stated for basically forever that even WS would create issues, let alone UWS.
As for TCP/IP play, I played that like maybe five times in 20 years
Initially they said it would have UW support and the first 'alpha' version did actually support it. They pulled the support before the open beta as they found it broke the game as some enemies wouldn't react to ranged attacks from that far away.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dan
like this
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
663
Axing LAN is an instant nope. That's been the only way my friend and I have played D2 over the years.

For security purposes, yeah okay. Just another way for a company to force people to use their provided servers.
 

Zorachus

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
9,822
So for those of us that have Ultrawide monitors, will D2 have the big black bars on either end of the screen? If so, then hard pass on this game.
 
Top