Dell U3415W discussion - 21:9 UltraWide (3440x1440)

Discussion in 'Displays' started by lucidrenegade, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. Climber

    Climber [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,283
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Amazon has it for 809.99 currently
     
  2. A0S

    A0S n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Received one of these yesterday, and was wondering if anyone's used the software that comes with it? It it beneficial at all?
    Cheers!
     
  3. 00Dan

    00Dan [H]Lite

    Messages:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    So is this worth $810? Or does the lack of free sync make this a pass for an AMD owner?
     
  4. doug_7506

    doug_7506 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,223
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Depends on how much value you put in freesync. The Acer version will set you back an additional $200-$300. I have never use freesync, so I can not comment on its worth.
     
  5. 00Dan

    00Dan [H]Lite

    Messages:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    I have never used it either so I can't say I know what to expect. I'm hoping someone who has used it can chime in.
     
  6. BIGGRIMTIM

    BIGGRIMTIM Gawd

    Messages:
    877
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    I think it is worth the $810. I am an AMD owner and I love mine.
     
  7. Trojita

    Trojita n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    My monitor comes today :)

    I'm upgrading from a 2713HM. I hope there is a visual upgrade too.
     
  8. tacos4me

    tacos4me Gawd

    Messages:
    774
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    that's definitely an upgrade. i made the same jump.
     
  9. prolific71

    prolific71 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Anyone notice horizontal lines running across the Dell 3415w when scrolling with the browser scrollbar? The lines disappear once you stop scrolling.
     
  10. Trojita

    Trojita n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Was able to rush home from work to bring it in, set it up, and play with it for just a few minutes.

    It's sooooo wide. It's weird. The curve is super subtle that at times it doesn't look like a curve. Are the other LG and Samsung panels curvier?

    Haven't really gotten a chance to check the picture quality, though it did look like it had better black levels than my 2713HM, maybe?

    It did look like there was backlight bleeding on the upper left and right of the monitor. I'll have to see how bad it is later.
     
  11. BIGGRIMTIM

    BIGGRIMTIM Gawd

    Messages:
    877
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Congrats on the new display. I made the jump from a U2713HM also. Very happy. Mine has some bleed in the upper left but It isn't noticeable unless I am in a dark room with completely dark screen.
     
  12. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    you using HDMI by chance ?
    if using DP, check display menu and you are set to DP 1.2.
     
  13. A0S

    A0S n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
  14. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    I am having problems with the Dell's DP out using MST. I have DP 1.2 enabled in menu however the destination display (HP ZR2740W, 2566x1440 ips) only shows 640x480 and shows up as Non-Plug and Play display. If I plug in directly to video card shows up fine.. hate to send the Dell back but this is rather annoying..
     
  15. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,814
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
  16. wovie

    wovie n00b

    Messages:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Always been a fan of Dell monitors. This one is tempting indeed, but I'm trying to wait for the Asus/Acer G-SYNC 75hz panels. Should be an interesting comparison.
     
  17. jackstar7

    jackstar7 Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    As mentioned on AT, we think you're exceeding the bandwidth limits.
     
  18. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    According to Dell manual & maths 3440x1440@60z (x2) , DP1.2 has ample bandwidth
    [​IMG]
    http://downloads.dell.com/Manuals/a...ay/dell-u3415w-monitor_User's Guide_en-us.pdf


    3440 x 1440 = 4,953,600 Pixels x 60Hz = 297216000 pixels/sec
    297216000 x 3 (channels) x 10 bits (per channel) = 8916480000 8.91Gbit/s X2 (displays) = 17.83 Gbit/sec (Raw) X .8 (8b/10) = 14.266Gbit/s

    DP1.2 = 21.6Gbit/s Data= 17.28Gbit/s available video
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort
     
  19. wuzupfoo

    wuzupfoo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    309
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    horry sh!t!

    Just got mine from Dell via pricematch and Im in awe of this thing.. it helps that I was moving up from a U2311h.

    So far only a tiny bit of IPS glow on each of the corners though I think mine is a compromise between it being in all corners but very minor vs in one corner and massive, so im actually pretty happy considering some of the pics I have seen with others. Gonna use it for awhile and see if it bothers me a lot.

    Only con is that my 780 is being brought to its knees on some of my games at Ultra settings but that was to be expected. Its a good excuse to buy a 980(ti maybe).

    BTW I didn't have time to search for the specs or test last night but are the USB ports 3.0? The cable it came with didn't have the typical blue coloring most USB3.0 cables/ports come with.
     
  20. jackstar7

    jackstar7 Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Best of luck sorting it out then.
     
  21. FrameBuffer

    FrameBuffer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    310
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    yes there is upstream AND downstream. In essence this allows the monitor to almost act as a KVM..you can use multiple PCs with single KB/Mouse/(usb devices)
     
  22. wuzupfoo

    wuzupfoo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    309
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    wait what?! this is a pretty cool feature. I wonder if this can operate my headless FreeNas system so I don't have to keep flipping my KB/Mouse over to it..

    Thanks for the tip
     
  23. skuko

    skuko Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    143
    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    how's the backlight bleed on these nowadays? has there been a newer revision or something?
     
  24. Trojita

    Trojita n00b

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Well this fricking sucks. Have had the monitor for a week and all of a sudden today it starts displaying a red/magenta line right through the middle vertically half way through the screen. It appears even without an input, so it is something wrong with the monitor itself.

    I guess I'll have to talk to Amazon and get it replaced. This is after they gave me a discount for keeping the monitor with light bleeding, so I guess I'll lose that discount. I'm going to have to wait until tomorrow to contact Amazon since their late night support is usually awful.

    edit: It appears that a white background causes the line to appear magenta while a black background causes a red line.

    Literally nothing was done with it since I last used it and it was fine. I can't believe something broke internally this fast.
     
  25. Rhyme

    Rhyme Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    184
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    It's better to have broke now within their return policy. They'll ship you a new one. No big deal. Also if it's out... no worries.. Dell does advance exchange. You are fine.
     
  26. prolific71

    prolific71 n00b

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Their still on Rev A01 and have blacklight bleeding issues. I don't think they really care about fixing or reducing the backlight bleeding. If you talk to their tech support about it, they say that as long as the middle of the monitor is uniform, it falls within their specs.

    Mine was worse. Half the monitor was covered with a white thing and dozens of lines even when not connected to any inputs.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  27. Ankle

    Ankle Gawd

    Messages:
    938
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Received mine today after going through two u2515hs with horrible image persistence and the panel so far seems great. I would not have expected anything this wide to have even remotely uniform brightness but I'm not seeing much if any bleed by eye at 28 brightness in a dark room and full black picture. No tint displaying a full white picture.

    The stand itself seems to be lopsided though – the display is around 1cm lower on the right. Anyone know if you can just RMA the stand or if you have to replace the entire thing? Might be more tempted to get another stand if thats the case.
     
  28. GCS

    GCS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    285
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Recommendation on a good (but inexpensive) video card to drive this thing? This will not be used for games at all only office work.
     
  29. Cobra

    Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,637
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Just got one of these and with my Evga Nvidia 980 and with displayport it goes back and forth between a black screen for a random amount of seconds then displays the desktop for a random amount of seconds. It doesn't do it until it gets to the desktop. It works great on HDMI, so I guess I can just use that, but my Auria 276w worked fine with displayport on the same card with no problems. Is this the "flickering" issue people talked about with the 980 on displayport or do I have some totally different thing going on?
     
  30. Cobra

    Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,637
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Just an update for anyone else having issues like mine. I called EVGA and they sent me a BIOS update for my card that is supposed to resolve displayport problems. After doing the update I could get video working at the desktop with the monitor set to displayport 1.1 mode only, but as soon as I rebooted the machine (either shutdown or restart), or if I updated the driver or anything else that would make the monitor go to a black screen for a second, I'd have to turn off the monitor and turn it back on again to get video again. After trying 3 different displayport cables and messing around with drivers and in the nvidia control panel, I finally did one thing that I was expressly told NOT to do and used a displayport to mini-displayport adapter plug and plugged that into the mini-dp port of the monitor. Lo and behold everything works 100% as it should with the monitor set to displayport 1.2 even... no more video problems on reboot or shutdown. Still don't know if this is a monitor or a video card issue because I had no problems with my old monitor using the same interface, but now that I have it working with some version of displayport I'm loathe to send the monitor to RMA.
     
  31. jackstar7

    jackstar7 Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Weird fix. But glad it worked for you!
     
  32. BB Gun

    BB Gun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,491
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    FYI, picked this up to replace my 3.5 year old Yamakasi Catleap (best bang for buck, ever!). Am definitely impressed with what that extra 880 pixels does for immersion at about 20" from the monitor. I wear glasses, and at that distance it fills my vision as framed by the glasses, effectively encompassing my useable peripheral vision.

    The anti-glare is nice and thin. Mine, though, has a slight 5-6" area of thicker antiglare in the center of the screen, only noticeable when following a moving object across a white or very light background.

    It looks like they applied the anti-glare in two vertical passes instead of one horizontal pass, and the center is where it overlaps. It is a very, very faint effect, and it should be unnoticeable 98% of the time.

    Which leads to the second issue - the two "passes" of antiglare seem to result in a very slight color temperature difference between the left half and right half of the monitor, the right half being cooler than the left. I haven't run a lot of checks yet to make sure it is not lighting/reflection caused rather than a characteristic of the monitor, but I suspect that isn't it given I was in a room at night with a single overhead light behind me.

    Once I figure that out, I have to decide if I want to try the panel lottery, as backlight bleed performance is stellar - at least its way better than the Catleap I had.

    BB
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2015
  33. Paragon54

    Paragon54 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    With the sales I'm seriously considering ordering one of these. I have two quick questions:
    1. Will this resolution be recognized and function properly with Windows7?
    2. I am not a gamer, I will be doing mostly programming, data base design, and general office work. Will my Asus GTX 970 Strix CU2 OC adequately drive this monitor tof these tasks and some minor graphics work?
     
  34. Beerandcoffee

    Beerandcoffee n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    1. Yes
    2. Whitout any problems.

    So just get it if you can get a good deal:)
     
  35. ALBPM

    ALBPM n00b

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    I just set mine up on an older desktop system. Windows 7, Radeon HD 6950 with the latest 15.7.1 Drivers.

    I'm getting 3440 x 1440 resolution with my old graphics card.
    Yes, I do need to upgrade my graphics card but this shows that you do not necessarily need the latest and greatest Operating System or graphics card to use the monitor.
     
  36. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,133
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    I love my U3415W so far, to the point that I wrote a sort of mini-review of it. Thinking about adding pictures at some point.

    Just to confirm, for anyone wondering about using this thing with older hardware, as long as you have DisplayPort on your graphics card, you can get full resolution, full 60Hz. If you're limited to HDMI you'll be stuck at 50Hz but should still be able to get full resolution as long as your card supports at least HDMI 1.4a.

    That's a physically broken panel. There's a good chance they won't accept that on a RMA...
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2015
  37. anon

    anon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    My recent order was an A01 revision with a production date of November 2014. BLB in the upper left is pretty bad. Has anyone tried their luck sending theirs back for an A02? Apart from the BLB, this thing is outstanding.
     
  38. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,133
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Might be interesting to see what revision is coming from what supplier, at this point. Bunch of new old stock somewhere? Did you order direct from Dell, or...? I got mine from BestBuy online (don't think they carry it in stores) and it is a A02, which might go toward explaining why I don't see the intense backlight bleed others have on the older revision.

    If you're somewhere that you can pick it up in store (Microcenter, maybe? Frys? Here in SC those are just mythical places to me) the revision is printed on the label on the end of the box, so it's easy to see what you're getting.
     
  39. anon

    anon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    I ordered directly from Dell which makes it all more surprising to me. If it wasn't for the warranty I'd buy one locally and swap the monitors. This doesn't seem acceptable for a monitor in this price range.
     
  40. Toejam

    Toejam [H]Lite

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    anyone else have issues getting the monitor to play audio? Using the DP to mDP cable..tried switching between DP 1.2 and 1.1, still no dice. Switched the playback device to the monitor and everything as well.