Dell U3415W discussion - 21:9 UltraWide (3440x1440)

A0S

n00b
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
21
Received one of these yesterday, and was wondering if anyone's used the software that comes with it? It it beneficial at all?
Cheers!
 

00Dan

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
78
So is this worth $810? Or does the lack of free sync make this a pass for an AMD owner?
 

doug_7506

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
3,244
So is this worth $810? Or does the lack of free sync make this a pass for an AMD owner?

Depends on how much value you put in freesync. The Acer version will set you back an additional $200-$300. I have never use freesync, so I can not comment on its worth.
 

00Dan

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 10, 2012
Messages
78
I have never used it either so I can't say I know what to expect. I'm hoping someone who has used it can chime in.
 

Trojita

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
28
My monitor comes today :)

I'm upgrading from a 2713HM. I hope there is a visual upgrade too.
 

prolific71

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2014
Messages
42
Anyone notice horizontal lines running across the Dell 3415w when scrolling with the browser scrollbar? The lines disappear once you stop scrolling.
 

Trojita

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
28
Was able to rush home from work to bring it in, set it up, and play with it for just a few minutes.

It's sooooo wide. It's weird. The curve is super subtle that at times it doesn't look like a curve. Are the other LG and Samsung panels curvier?

Haven't really gotten a chance to check the picture quality, though it did look like it had better black levels than my 2713HM, maybe?

It did look like there was backlight bleeding on the upper left and right of the monitor. I'll have to see how bad it is later.
 

BIGGRIMTIM

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
906
Was able to rush home from work to bring it in, set it up, and play with it for just a few minutes.

It's sooooo wide. It's weird. The curve is super subtle that at times it doesn't look like a curve. Are the other LG and Samsung panels curvier?

Haven't really gotten a chance to check the picture quality, though it did look like it had better black levels than my 2713HM, maybe?

It did look like there was backlight bleeding on the upper left and right of the monitor. I'll have to see how bad it is later.

Congrats on the new display. I made the jump from a U2713HM also. Very happy. Mine has some bleed in the upper left but It isn't noticeable unless I am in a dark room with completely dark screen.
 

FrameBuffer

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
310
Anyone notice horizontal lines running across the Dell 3415w when scrolling with the browser scrollbar? The lines disappear once you stop scrolling.

you using HDMI by chance ?
if using DP, check display menu and you are set to DP 1.2.
 

FrameBuffer

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
310
I am having problems with the Dell's DP out using MST. I have DP 1.2 enabled in menu however the destination display (HP ZR2740W, 2566x1440 ips) only shows 640x480 and shows up as Non-Plug and Play display. If I plug in directly to video card shows up fine.. hate to send the Dell back but this is rather annoying..
 

wovie

n00b
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
29
Always been a fan of Dell monitors. This one is tempting indeed, but I'm trying to wait for the Asus/Acer G-SYNC 75hz panels. Should be an interesting comparison.
 

jackstar7

Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
568
I am having problems with the Dell's DP out using MST. I have DP 1.2 enabled in menu however the destination display (HP ZR2740W, 2566x1440 ips) only shows 640x480 and shows up as Non-Plug and Play display. If I plug in directly to video card shows up fine.. hate to send the Dell back but this is rather annoying..

As mentioned on AT, we think you're exceeding the bandwidth limits.
 

FrameBuffer

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
310
As mentioned on AT, we think you're exceeding the bandwidth limits.

According to Dell manual & maths 3440x1440@60z (x2) , DP1.2 has ample bandwidth

http://downloads.dell.com/Manuals/a...ay/dell-u3415w-monitor_User's Guide_en-us.pdf


3440 x 1440 = 4,953,600 Pixels x 60Hz = 297216000 pixels/sec
297216000 x 3 (channels) x 10 bits (per channel) = 8916480000 8.91Gbit/s X2 (displays) = 17.83 Gbit/sec (Raw) X .8 (8b/10) = 14.266Gbit/s

DP1.2 = 21.6Gbit/s Data= 17.28Gbit/s available video
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DisplayPort
 

wuzupfoo

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
320
horry sh!t!

Just got mine from Dell via pricematch and Im in awe of this thing.. it helps that I was moving up from a U2311h.

So far only a tiny bit of IPS glow on each of the corners though I think mine is a compromise between it being in all corners but very minor vs in one corner and massive, so im actually pretty happy considering some of the pics I have seen with others. Gonna use it for awhile and see if it bothers me a lot.

Only con is that my 780 is being brought to its knees on some of my games at Ultra settings but that was to be expected. Its a good excuse to buy a 980(ti maybe).

BTW I didn't have time to search for the specs or test last night but are the USB ports 3.0? The cable it came with didn't have the typical blue coloring most USB3.0 cables/ports come with.
 

FrameBuffer

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
310
horry sh!t!

Just got mine from Dell via pricematch and Im in awe of this thing.. it helps that I was moving up from a U2311h.

So far only a tiny bit of IPS glow on each of the corners though I think mine is a compromise between it being in all corners but very minor vs in one corner and massive, so im actually pretty happy considering some of the pics I have seen with others. Gonna use it for awhile and see if it bothers me a lot.

Only con is that my 780 is being brought to its knees on some of my games at Ultra settings but that was to be expected. Its a good excuse to buy a 980(ti maybe).

BTW I didn't have time to search for the specs or test last night but are the USB ports 3.0? The cable it came with didn't have the typical blue coloring most USB3.0 cables/ports come with.
yes there is upstream AND downstream. In essence this allows the monitor to almost act as a KVM..you can use multiple PCs with single KB/Mouse/(usb devices)
 

wuzupfoo

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
320
yes there is upstream AND downstream. In essence this allows the monitor to almost act as a KVM..you can use multiple PCs with single KB/Mouse/(usb devices)

wait what?! this is a pretty cool feature. I wonder if this can operate my headless FreeNas system so I don't have to keep flipping my KB/Mouse over to it..

Thanks for the tip
 

skuko

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
151
how's the backlight bleed on these nowadays? has there been a newer revision or something?
 

Trojita

n00b
Joined
Jun 18, 2012
Messages
28
Well this fricking sucks. Have had the monitor for a week and all of a sudden today it starts displaying a red/magenta line right through the middle vertically half way through the screen. It appears even without an input, so it is something wrong with the monitor itself.

I guess I'll have to talk to Amazon and get it replaced. This is after they gave me a discount for keeping the monitor with light bleeding, so I guess I'll lose that discount. I'm going to have to wait until tomorrow to contact Amazon since their late night support is usually awful.

edit: It appears that a white background causes the line to appear magenta while a black background causes a red line.

Literally nothing was done with it since I last used it and it was fine. I can't believe something broke internally this fast.
 

Rhyme

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 18, 2003
Messages
184
Well this fricking sucks. Have had the monitor for a week and all of a sudden today it starts displaying a red/magenta line right through the middle vertically half way through the screen. It appears even without an input, so it is something wrong with the monitor itself.

I guess I'll have to talk to Amazon and get it replaced. This is after they gave me a discount for keeping the monitor with light bleeding, so I guess I'll lose that discount. I'm going to have to wait until tomorrow to contact Amazon since their late night support is usually awful.

edit: It appears that a white background causes the line to appear magenta while a black background causes a red line.

Literally nothing was done with it since I last used it and it was fine. I can't believe something broke internally this fast.

It's better to have broke now within their return policy. They'll ship you a new one. No big deal. Also if it's out... no worries.. Dell does advance exchange. You are fine.
 

prolific71

n00b
Joined
Jul 23, 2014
Messages
42
how's the backlight bleed on these nowadays? has there been a newer revision or something?

Their still on Rev A01 and have blacklight bleeding issues. I don't think they really care about fixing or reducing the backlight bleeding. If you talk to their tech support about it, they say that as long as the middle of the monitor is uniform, it falls within their specs.

Have had the monitor for a week and all of a sudden today it starts displaying a red/magenta line right through the middle vertically half way through the screen. It appears even without an input, so it is something wrong with the monitor itself.

Mine was worse. Half the monitor was covered with a white thing and dozens of lines even when not connected to any inputs.

 
Last edited:

Ankle

Gawd
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
938
Received mine today after going through two u2515hs with horrible image persistence and the panel so far seems great. I would not have expected anything this wide to have even remotely uniform brightness but I'm not seeing much if any bleed by eye at 28 brightness in a dark room and full black picture. No tint displaying a full white picture.

The stand itself seems to be lopsided though – the display is around 1cm lower on the right. Anyone know if you can just RMA the stand or if you have to replace the entire thing? Might be more tempted to get another stand if thats the case.
 

GCS

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 15, 2006
Messages
358
Recommendation on a good (but inexpensive) video card to drive this thing? This will not be used for games at all only office work.
 

Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 7, 2000
Messages
2,637
Just got one of these and with my Evga Nvidia 980 and with displayport it goes back and forth between a black screen for a random amount of seconds then displays the desktop for a random amount of seconds. It doesn't do it until it gets to the desktop. It works great on HDMI, so I guess I can just use that, but my Auria 276w worked fine with displayport on the same card with no problems. Is this the "flickering" issue people talked about with the 980 on displayport or do I have some totally different thing going on?
 

Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 7, 2000
Messages
2,637
Just an update for anyone else having issues like mine. I called EVGA and they sent me a BIOS update for my card that is supposed to resolve displayport problems. After doing the update I could get video working at the desktop with the monitor set to displayport 1.1 mode only, but as soon as I rebooted the machine (either shutdown or restart), or if I updated the driver or anything else that would make the monitor go to a black screen for a second, I'd have to turn off the monitor and turn it back on again to get video again. After trying 3 different displayport cables and messing around with drivers and in the nvidia control panel, I finally did one thing that I was expressly told NOT to do and used a displayport to mini-displayport adapter plug and plugged that into the mini-dp port of the monitor. Lo and behold everything works 100% as it should with the monitor set to displayport 1.2 even... no more video problems on reboot or shutdown. Still don't know if this is a monitor or a video card issue because I had no problems with my old monitor using the same interface, but now that I have it working with some version of displayport I'm loathe to send the monitor to RMA.
 

BB Gun

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2004
Messages
1,537
FYI, picked this up to replace my 3.5 year old Yamakasi Catleap (best bang for buck, ever!). Am definitely impressed with what that extra 880 pixels does for immersion at about 20" from the monitor. I wear glasses, and at that distance it fills my vision as framed by the glasses, effectively encompassing my useable peripheral vision.

The anti-glare is nice and thin. Mine, though, has a slight 5-6" area of thicker antiglare in the center of the screen, only noticeable when following a moving object across a white or very light background.

It looks like they applied the anti-glare in two vertical passes instead of one horizontal pass, and the center is where it overlaps. It is a very, very faint effect, and it should be unnoticeable 98% of the time.

Which leads to the second issue - the two "passes" of antiglare seem to result in a very slight color temperature difference between the left half and right half of the monitor, the right half being cooler than the left. I haven't run a lot of checks yet to make sure it is not lighting/reflection caused rather than a characteristic of the monitor, but I suspect that isn't it given I was in a room at night with a single overhead light behind me.

Once I figure that out, I have to decide if I want to try the panel lottery, as backlight bleed performance is stellar - at least its way better than the Catleap I had.

BB
 
Last edited:

Paragon54

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
136
With the sales I'm seriously considering ordering one of these. I have two quick questions:
1. Will this resolution be recognized and function properly with Windows7?
2. I am not a gamer, I will be doing mostly programming, data base design, and general office work. Will my Asus GTX 970 Strix CU2 OC adequately drive this monitor tof these tasks and some minor graphics work?
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
13
With the sales I'm seriously considering ordering one of these. I have two quick questions:
1. Will this resolution be recognized and function properly with Windows7?
2. I am not a gamer, I will be doing mostly programming, data base design, and general office work. Will my Asus GTX 970 Strix CU2 OC adequately drive this monitor tof these tasks and some minor graphics work?

1. Yes
2. Whitout any problems.

So just get it if you can get a good deal:)
 

ALBPM

n00b
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
25
I just set mine up on an older desktop system. Windows 7, Radeon HD 6950 with the latest 15.7.1 Drivers.

I'm getting 3440 x 1440 resolution with my old graphics card.
Yes, I do need to upgrade my graphics card but this shows that you do not necessarily need the latest and greatest Operating System or graphics card to use the monitor.
 

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,133
I love my U3415W so far, to the point that I wrote a sort of mini-review of it. Thinking about adding pictures at some point.

Just to confirm, for anyone wondering about using this thing with older hardware, as long as you have DisplayPort on your graphics card, you can get full resolution, full 60Hz. If you're limited to HDMI you'll be stuck at 50Hz but should still be able to get full resolution as long as your card supports at least HDMI 1.4a.


That's a physically broken panel. There's a good chance they won't accept that on a RMA...
 
Last edited:

anon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
154
My recent order was an A01 revision with a production date of November 2014. BLB in the upper left is pretty bad. Has anyone tried their luck sending theirs back for an A02? Apart from the BLB, this thing is outstanding.
 

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,133
My recent order was an A01 revision with a production date of November 2014. BLB in the upper left is pretty bad. Has anyone tried their luck sending theirs back for an A02? Apart from the BLB, this thing is outstanding.

Might be interesting to see what revision is coming from what supplier, at this point. Bunch of new old stock somewhere? Did you order direct from Dell, or...? I got mine from BestBuy online (don't think they carry it in stores) and it is a A02, which might go toward explaining why I don't see the intense backlight bleed others have on the older revision.

If you're somewhere that you can pick it up in store (Microcenter, maybe? Frys? Here in SC those are just mythical places to me) the revision is printed on the label on the end of the box, so it's easy to see what you're getting.
 

anon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2011
Messages
154
I ordered directly from Dell which makes it all more surprising to me. If it wasn't for the warranty I'd buy one locally and swap the monitors. This doesn't seem acceptable for a monitor in this price range.
 

Toejam

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 27, 2009
Messages
72
anyone else have issues getting the monitor to play audio? Using the DP to mDP cable..tried switching between DP 1.2 and 1.1, still no dice. Switched the playback device to the monitor and everything as well.
 
Top