Dell PowerEdge T110 $329 Shipped + Tax

Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
Redirect failed in Chrome - worked in IE.
Changed it and it seems to work in Google Chrome now.

I also probably should have said "Mini-Tower" form factor ...but ...
They'll get it :)
 

450

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
20,978
"We're sorry, but we are unable to process your request. The product or offer you are attempting to locate is no longer available."
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
The processor supports vt... the mobo doesn't?

VT-x is for 64bit guest and the T110 supports this and the BIOS
has the option of enabling/disabling it.

VT-d is for direct access to hardware by a VM and the T110
does not have an option to enable/disable it.

I have not been able to confirm VT-d is completely non-working though,
so I didn't want to mislead anyone looking for a platform that needed that
specific feature.
 

HammerSandwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
1,125
That's a great deal. Using an aftermarket RAM upgrade, you can have a real server with Intel quad & HW RAID for $750.
 

RooK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Messages
1,108
I would have bit if I an employee discount coupon that would work.
 

DSee

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Messages
2,174
Is it worth to upgrade the CPU to get HT?

* Need a SOHO server.. trying to decide if buying pre-build or build it myself *

PS: Just the CPU (Xeon X3430) costs $209.99 @ NE. Very good deal if you think about it that way.
 

lathode

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 23, 2007
Messages
1,441
Is it worth to upgrade the CPU to get HT?

* Need a SOHO server.. trying to decide if buying pre-build or build it myself *

PS: Just the CPU (Xeon X3430) costs $209.99 @ NE. Very good deal if you think about it that way.

What are you going to be using it for?
 

Ocellaris

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
19,058
Going to order one of these for my mom if I can find my spare Windows 7 license. She just needs a new PC that works and these are generally well built. Her Athlon X2 is really starting to chug.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
Going to order one of these for my mom if I can find my spare Windows 7 license. She just needs a new PC that works and these are generally well built. Her Athlon X2 is really starting to chug.

NOTE:
PowerEdge T110 is a server which means it has minimal built-in graphics capability,
no built-in sound capability, and has a x8 max PCIe slot.
 

lightp2

Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
672
Just a side note, for user with sensible needs, generally Dell T110 is very good bargain in US. In non-US area cost for the same server is nearly 2 times the US-price.
 

450

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
20,978
NOTE:
PowerEdge T110 is a server which means it has minimal built-in graphics capability,
no built-in sound capability, and has a x8 max PCIe slot.

Is the 8x slot open? Can it hold a 16x card? Does the slot need to be cut open?
 

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15,459
Was just looking at this and thinking "Ok, that's not bad..." and then just for shits and giggles I started playing around with the configuration... the price skyrockets $589 for a 2TB drive, with no OS on it?!?!?! - that's not $589 total, that's the base price of $329 - $99 for dropping the stock 250GB drive + $589 for the 2TB...

I don't buy many "server" machines but, am I missing something, or is Dell making out like freakin' Apple with such types of insanely ridiculously ludicrous pricing? I'm just curious, seriously.

/me whips out Friday's Fry's ad and notes that 2TB drives typically run $90-100 these days and wonders WTF, Dell... :confused:
 

white_devil

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
225
...$589 for the 2TB...

I don't buy many "server" machines but, am I missing something, or is Dell making out like freakin' Apple with such types of insanely ridiculously ludicrous pricing?

I can almost guarantee the drive you'd get is THIS. At least all of the (SMB) Dell servers I've ordered in recent memory have come with WD RE drives. So not as bad as you were thinking buy yeah, still ridiculous. They also only warranty the drives for 1 year so you're better off getting drives elsewhere anyway.
 

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15,459
Yeah, I expected the drive wouldn't be your typical consumer level tech but, even so... ;)

Damn, I sure could use such a "simple" server at this point in time, that $329 for the base model is actually pretty awesome for the complete box ready to go. We'll see what happens... wish I could get it without even the 250GB, that's $99 right there... $230 for that box with no drive in it, oh lord that would be truly spectacular. :D
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
I don't buy many "server" machines but, am I missing something, or is Dell making out like freakin' Apple with such types of insanely ridiculously ludicrous pricing? I'm just curious, seriously.

Yes...upgrades from Dell are costly.
Buy only the server from Dell.
Buy all upgrades elsewhere.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
Is the 8x slot open? Can it hold a 16x card? Does the slot need to be cut open?

It's open ..but whether or not an x16 card will physically fit or not ... i dunno.

I did the cut mod on an old SC420 years ago ...never again will I bother to make
a server into a desktop gaming system.
 

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15,459
Does anyone here actually have one of these, as a current production model? Curious to know more about the specific motherboard in there, chipset, the inner geek in me wants the specifics. :D

Found some info that says Intel 3420 series chipset so I'm still looking for specifics, if anyone can help.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
Does anyone here actually have one of these, as a current production model? Curious to know more about the specific motherboard in there, chipset, the inner geek in me wants the specifics. :D

Found some info that says Intel 3420 series chipset so I'm still looking for specifics, if anyone can help.

I do.
They do have the 3420 chipset.
What else about the motherboard do you wish to know about??

Lots of info here: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/pet110/en/index.htm
 

Joe Average

Ad Blocker - Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
15,459
Yah, I pulled down the manuals, been reading through them. If I can think of any specific questions I'll drop you a PM if that's ok.

Thanks...
 

ir0nw0lf

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
6,403
Yes...upgrades from Dell are costly.
Buy only the server from Dell.
Buy all upgrades elsewhere.

+1. General rule of thumb for Dell and pretty much all the major brand sites: only buy the base model from them, all upgrades are hella cheaper elsewhere. It's one of the reasons they get the systems out so damn cheap, they are hoping/banking on clueless people plopping on the upgrades and turning that $3xx system into a $600+ system and making a freaking kiling on those upgrades. To make it worse, those prices to upgrade from one item to another don't include the lower item, so it's even worse a screwing you get. No kiss or cigarette either.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
How loud are these things?

They aren't.
You can hear them ..but you can keep them in your bedroom and still sleep at night.

The fact that they are in a mini-tower = bigger, lower rpm fans
when compared to rack servers.

The only time mine are "loud" is when they are first booted ...after
a few seconds, the fans idle down.
 

HammerSandwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2004
Messages
1,125
The only time mine are "loud" is when they are first booted ...after
a few seconds, the fans idle down.
A T100 I admin also ramps up to full speed if you open the case while the PC runs. You need to power off to reset the fans then. And it's bloody loud IMO.
 

Urraca

Gawd
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Messages
806
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
A T100 I admin also ramps up to full speed if you open the case while the PC runs. You need to power off to reset the fans then. And it's bloody loud IMO.

T100 <> T110

When was the last time you updated firmware on that T100 ?

Most Dell servers will do that to maintain max airflow
with case/cover off.

I think my SC420 does that too .... a PE1900 does it for sure.

It seems counter intuitive to run a server with it's case off during
"normal" operations and expect quiet at the same time.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
According to Intel's Documentation, it says this chipset supports VT-D. The original poster says that it's not in the BIOS though...

Is Dell blocking this feature, or it actually there? Can you confrim?

http://www.intel.com/Assets/PDF/datasheet/322169.pdf

http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1036808138&postcount=9

The chipset definitely supports VT-d ... and there is no option
to enable/disable it in BIOS .... the ???? is did Dell leave it enabled or disabled
even though they didn't provide the option to do so.

EDIT:
Looks like someone has tested vmdirectpath and it works with limitations.

http://www.vm-help.com/esx40i/esx40_vmdirectpath_whitebox_HCL.php
 
Last edited:

RooK

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 19, 2001
Messages
1,108
After looking at this a second time, I would avoid it for running ESX on.

You might be able to run 2 or 3 VM's as long as you weren't putting lots of pressure on them.

You'd also want to probably make a 4 disk RAID-10 for best performance.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2010
Messages
661
After looking at this a second time, I would avoid it for running ESX on.

You might be able to run 2 or 3 VM's as long as you weren't putting lots of pressure on them.

You'd also want to probably make a 4 disk RAID-10 for best performance.

Interesting. Why do you think it is so limiting?
 
Top