Dell P2715Q 4KHD IPS $498 FS (Reg. $699)

Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
703
This is also a 10bit/pixel panel so it supports 1.07 billion colors rather than the usual 16.7 million. Supposed to look great! Also, this is not to be confused with dell's poorly received 2815Q.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
Hmm tempting but I would like g-sync on my next monitor. Playing games at 4k will not be all that good looking for the settings I would have to turn down in most games just to maintain 60 fps.

And last time I looked Dell charges sales tax which here is a whopping 10%....
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,827
Small for 4k.

I could live with that (even 5k monitors are 27") if I had too, but I couldn't live with the narrow gamut. I want Adobe RGB covered. Even my 7 year old 2408 can handle more than 100% Adobe RGB.

Fortunately, my monitor still works and I can wait for the better 4k/5k monitors to drop in price/increase gamut.
 

damstr

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 26, 2005
Messages
1,468
I really wanted a 4k monitor till I saw how bad the scaling is on Windows 8.
 

ddarko

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
271
Just for curiosity purposes (I can't afford this atm), how does this monitor compare to the Samsung U28D590D? Amazon has that monitor for $499.99.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-28-Inch-Definition-Monitor-U28D590D/dp/B00IEZGWI2

Mainly size and panel type. The Samsung is 28" and a TN panel, the Dell is 27" and IPS. The Dell has 5 USB ports (4 USB 3.0 downstream, 1 USB upstream) while the Samsung doesn't have any USB ports. The Dell can be swiveled into portrait mode, the Samsung can't. Both support single stream transport (SST) at 60Hz over Displayport.
 
Last edited:

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
I hate how win8 scales it looks/works mostly well on my Surface Pro 3 but as soon as I plug in my 30" HP or Del monitor (2560x1600) it's impossible to get it to look right no matter what scaling option (even none -- or so you think).
 

Tyler-Durden

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
2,302
I guess I'm not quite understanding this Win 8 scaling issue. It looks just like Win 7 on my Viewsonic 2560x1440 monitor. :confused:
 

Yakk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
5,810
Tempting I have to say, but I'm holding out for some freesync monitors at this point.
 

RESTfulADI

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
2,218
OS X scaling is awesome, pulling trigger for retina 1440p.

Thanks OP!
 
Last edited:

jojoenglish85

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
407
If you want 4k, just wait until October time frame, that is when they will start to perfect the technology, right now, they are just trying to sell you on numbers by throwing 4K in front of everything.

Personally 4K @ 27inches is too small. It needs to be atleast 32-40inches to really accomodate the resolution.
 

SuperSubZero

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
3,780
I guess I'm not quite understanding this Win 8 scaling issue. It looks just like Win 7 on my Viewsonic 2560x1440 monitor. :confused:
2560x1440 @ 27" is actually a pretty sweet spot in the DPI. At 4K that size screen becomes a bit of an issue. If you fire up IE11, go to hardocp.com, and set the zoom to 75%, you can get a rough idea of what it does to the entire OS. While Win8.1 is 'nicer' to HiDPI, it's still not perfect (dig far enough down in legacy menus and you run into blurry upscaled stuff), and the third party situation for dealing with HiDPI is fairly lacking.
 

SRTie4k

Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
965
Ugh. I just started looking for a new screen after 8 years of the same one, and it seems like the 1440p offerings are starting to dry up. Now I see this...but I game and only have a GTX 670 FTW. So tempted, but I know I'd be shooting myself in the foot with a 4K monitor...
 

jojoenglish85

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 20, 2011
Messages
407
Ugh. I just started looking for a new screen after 8 years of the same one, and it seems like the 1440p offerings are starting to dry up. Now I see this...but I game and only have a GTX 670 FTW. So tempted, but I know I'd be shooting myself in the foot with a 4K monitor...

Well the monitor would be a good deal, but you might want to go grab a gtx 970 on the cheap then you won't have to worry.
 

Papa Geo

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
93
I purchased this monitor yesterday. To comment on win 8.1 scaling issues, I already have first-hand experience with my Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro w/ 3200x1800 display. For the apps I use, I prefer the nice, crisp display w/ the occasional scaling headache versus having the lower res screen. However, the three types of scaling issues I have experienced are:

1) Upscaled, low-res assets: The software maintains the correct size and proportions, but everything looks upscaled and blurry. Usability is unaffected but it looks worse than using a lower, native res monitor.
2) Text is enlarged for correct zoom level, windows/assets are not. In this case, the text is cropped due to the small viewable area of the tiny windows; and the proportions are all screwed up. This can be a real headache since the software's usability is impaired, e.g., only the top half of letters are visible in a menu bar.
3) Text and/or window sizes are not adjusted automatically by the app, but settings are available to manually tinker with the size and work area to one's liking. If you switch back and forth between a lower res display, then you will have to manually change your settings each time.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
Well the monitor would be a good deal, but you might want to go grab a gtx 970 on the cheap then you won't have to worry.
lol you act as if the 970 can play games at 4k at nice settings. His 670 provides way more performance at 1080 than the 970 will at 4k. Hell I fired up Crysis 3 and even with an overclocked 980 I could not even average more than 50 frames per second on just medium settings at 4k.
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
My issues are not with text not fitting, or weird apps not working right due to size/text.

My issue was with Windows 8 itself. The icons were huge, SKype was huge, but font was tiny. It was scaling certain things and not others, and wasn't scaling evenly.

In Win7 I used the scaling feature and NEVER noticed any issues at all. Even with 8 at far left/no scaling it still does weird stuff.
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
I only have win8 on my surface pro3, so really it's not that big of an issue for my desktop usage.

However, the SP3 was not "plug and play" into my desktop monitors as I had hoped! And you still get the random SP3 screen shutter, even witht he typekb removed, ugh debating about returning/RMAing it adn waiting for SP4 now.
 

nilepez

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
11,827
I really wanted a 4k monitor till I saw how bad the scaling is on Windows 8.

Haven't seen it in 8, but it wasn't great in 7 either. I'm hoping it's fixed in 10, but I've got no intention of testing 10...at least not before there's a public Consumer Preview.
 

jblue42

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
497
I don't understand why people think 27 is too small for 4K.. it's all about the DPI. Just look at the DPI of the phone in your pocket, it's much higher than 4k at 27 inches.
 

Tyler-Durden

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
2,302
2560x1440 @ 27" is actually a pretty sweet spot in the DPI. At 4K that size screen becomes a bit of an issue. If you fire up IE11, go to hardocp.com, and set the zoom to 75%, you can get a rough idea of what it does to the entire OS. While Win8.1 is 'nicer' to HiDPI, it's still not perfect (dig far enough down in legacy menus and you run into blurry upscaled stuff), and the third party situation for dealing with HiDPI is fairly lacking.
Good to know. I'm not at all displeased with my current monitor. Just thought this could be a good opportunity to jump to 4K. Can't hurt to wait a while on any 4K purchases. Thanks!
 

Papa Geo

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
93
My issues are not with text not fitting, or weird apps not working right due to size/text.

My issue was with Windows 8 itself. The icons were huge, SKype was huge, but font was tiny. It was scaling certain things and not others, and wasn't scaling evenly.

In Win7 I used the scaling feature and NEVER noticed any issues at all. Even with 8 at far left/no scaling it still does weird stuff.

Hmm, interesting. I have not experienced that in Windows 8.1 except for when I change my scaling from 100% -> 200% and then don't log out and log back in. At that point, the task bar may be twice as high, icons will not be the normal size, and everything tends to act unpredictably.
 

misterbobby

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
3,814
I don't understand why people think 27 is too small for 4K.. it's all about the DPI. Just look at the DPI of the phone in your pocket, it's much higher than 4k at 27 inches.
You clearly don't understand how things work. Phones run at half the resolution for web pages and most things so they can be readable. Plus those are devices you put just a few inches from your face. 4k on a 27 inch screen will be very very hard for most people to read and trying to scale it looks like poop for many things and that is the whole point here that you seem to be missing.
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
Hmm, interesting. I have not experienced that in Windows 8.1 except for when I change my scaling from 100% -> 200% and then don't log out and log back in. At that point, the task bar may be twice as high, icons will not be the normal size, and everything tends to act unpredictably.

That's the kind of weird random stuff i was getting too. Even after logging out and back on, and rebooting.

As it is now this morning my SP3 has flashed the screen 3 times or so already and repositioned things on my desktop with each refresh (my open windows/software). For some other weird reason Evernote now when I go to "clip" something makes my 30" resolution appear to be that of a 4K, it's really odd, yet when I clip the screen shot it looks/fine and is the proper size overall.
 

DeChache

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
7,088
I don't understand why people think 27 is too small for 4K.. it's all about the DPI. Just look at the DPI of the phone in your pocket, it's much higher than 4k at 27 inches.

If windows supported DPI scaling right it wouldn't be an issues but they don't....
 

MrMitch

Spinning Drives Rule!
Joined
Dec 13, 2004
Messages
2,604
If windows supported DPI scaling right it wouldn't be an issues but they don't....

This is one area OS X is ahead (but not perfect) of windows. It's a good deal on the monitor, but I'll hold off on 4k until I know windows has it's scaling issues fixed.
 

SLee

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
972
I run 3200 x 1800 on a 15.6" screen with Windows 8.1 and the P2715Q with Windows 7 at 4K.

I don't really have many complaints. The most troublesome is remote desktop which remains pixel based, and a few applications that use their own UI.
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,478
I have this monitor and its great. There's so much room for everything that I barely ever use my secondary monitors now. I keep things at 100% so that area is fine for me. If I'm sitting back in my chair and having trouble seeing I can just Ctrl + for most applications.

It is only 8 bit though, at least I don't have the option for 10 on my AMD GPU.
 

Papa Geo

Weaksauce
Joined
Apr 28, 2005
Messages
93
That's the kind of weird random stuff i was getting too. Even after logging out and back on, and rebooting.

As it is now this morning my SP3 has flashed the screen 3 times or so already and repositioned things on my desktop with each refresh (my open windows/software). For some other weird reason Evernote now when I go to "clip" something makes my 30" resolution appear to be that of a 4K, it's really odd, yet when I clip the screen shot it looks/fine and is the proper size overall.

Good point. I was having flashing issues (desktop getting "reset" to a new res) when my hi-res laptop was connected to a 1920x1200 external display via the mini hdmi connection. I had assumed it was because my connector was loose, but now that sounds like it probably isn't the case. To get around it I have been using a USB -> VGA adapter and setting my laptop's internal display to 1920x1200 to match.

I am hoping that being able to run the same scaling level between the Dell and my laptop will negate the flashing issue.
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
Good point. I was having flashing issues (desktop getting "reset" to a new res) when my hi-res laptop was connected to a 1920x1200 external display via the mini hdmi connection. I had assumed it was because my connector was loose, but now that sounds like it probably isn't the case. To get around it I have been using a USB -> VGA adapter and setting my laptop's internal display to 1920x1200 to match.

I am hoping that being able to run the same scaling level between the Dell and my laptop will negate the flashing issue.

I'm using a Mini-DP to DP adapter on my SP3 for what it's worth. (HP ZR30w)

Hmmm. Setting the surface to match would be nice if possible :D

But, whta you described makes more sense it's as-if the surface is making my 30" resolution match it's resolution, and then doing scaling from there. (Even if I check or uncheck scale the same -- or whatever that option is).

I also noticed that MS Excel looks PERFECT where FireFox and Skype have weird scaling issues, fuzzy text -- barely noticeable stuff but still stuff that is a real bother after having crisp screens forever.

Can't wait to get my desktop reconnected ;) and running win7 which scales at 112% on my 30" just fine, no noticeable affects except in VERY OLD software.

I was really hoping to drive a 4K with the surface, and replace my desktop but that is not happening anytime soon. Probably not until I can daisy chain two together, and they actually *gasp* work!!

I have those USB->VGA adapters too (for sale actually) they work great, just not at the revolution I need.
 

ddarko

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
271
Regarding this actual deal - what a nightmare dealing with Dell customer support. Is it always this bad? Haven't ordered anything from them in years or had cause to interact with them until today. There's three hours of my life I won't get back. Placed an order yesterday with next day delivery due on Thursday. Of course, the monitor is stuck "in production" all day today, making the odds of delivery next day very slim. Never ever attempt to chat with Dell reps because they know nothing and can do nothing. If you want to cancel the order, they can't help you because that's handled by "return specialists." "Do you want me to transfer the chat to them?" Click - chat disconnected - thank you, we hope you return again! Call the returns department by phone? Welcome to an hour on hold!
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
Regarding this actual deal - what a nightmare dealing with Dell customer support. Is it always this bad? Haven't ordered anything from them in years or had cause to interact with them until today. There's three hours of my life I won't get back. Placed an order yesterday with next day delivery due on Thursday. Of course, the monitor is stuck "in production" all day today, making the odds of delivery next day very slim. Never ever attempt to chat with Dell reps because they know nothing and can do nothing. If you want to cancel the order, they can't help you because that's handled by "return specialists." "Do you want me to transfer the chat to them?" Click - chat disconnected - thank you, we hope you return again! Call the returns department by phone? Welcome to an hour on hold!

Yes, it's a nightmare and has been like that for a long long time.

Luckily their business class support/repairs with their systems is MUCH better, at-least in my experience.


So did you cancel it or are you keeping it? If cancel, what changed your mind?
 

ddarko

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2005
Messages
271
Yes, it's a nightmare and has been like that for a long long time.

Luckily their business class support/repairs with their systems is MUCH better, at-least in my experience.


So did you cancel it or are you keeping it? If cancel, what changed your mind?

Not yet if only because it's so difficult to reach them to cancel. I am waiting to get a new estimate of when the monitor will actually ship - of course, chat couldn't help me with that either, this question requires an investigation by the so-called "back end team" which takes 24 hours, of course.

The monitor is fine, the price is decent, the change of mind has to do with mainly with the unknown ship date and the fact getting the monitor has cascaded to a new video card. I am building a new system and wanted to reuse as many components as possible including the 7970 video card which is still fine for what I do. However, the 7970 doesn't support SST mode and I really don't want to deal with MST so that meant a new video card. So this $500 monitor led to a $350 video card. The bill is escalating too quickly.
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
Oh, I know how that goes... I'm hiding a new full-size rack behind the door ;) wife wasn't so pleased... LOL
 

Gamerdad

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 31, 2006
Messages
401
For those of you that may have purchased one within the last 30 days, you may be eligible for a refund of the difference if I'm reading this right.

http://www.dell.com/learn/us/en/19/campaigns/free-shipping-easy-returns

I bought mine last Friday and so far I've used it for one day. It isn't much bigger than the 24" 16:10 dell it replaced. As expected, the icons and text are a lot smaller and I can't seem to get win 8.1 to scale just the icons/text on the 2715q and not the 1080p NECs on the sides. Maybe win 10 will have a better solution.

I've fired up a few games such as World of Warcraft and New Vegas and I'm blown away by the difference it made....So much that I can put up with the small text for now.:D
 
Top