Dell 8600 on the way....need advice.

tbonepat11

Limp Gawd
This is my first laptop purchase....I am mainly a desktop guy and i jumped on that $750 Dell deal. My question is, when i get the laptop...should I leave it as it is or should I wipe it and install only the things I want? Since I have never worked with a laptop before, I was just curious to whether or not this helps. I do plan on uninstalling all the crap that comes with it. Also, it has the Radeon 9600 pro turbo. Should I just grab regular Cats for it or do I need special drivers? Thanks!

There is going to be a lot of crap on there you won't want. You can do one of two things:

1) Go through and uninstall everything you don't need (anything Dell related, spyware possible, etc) and then use the laptop, likely without issue.

2) Wipe and resinstall everything, getting the drivers from the Dell website and installing only the software you want.

Option 1 is the fast and easy way. Option 2 is the more foolproof. Just depends on how much work you want to do. I also go the 8600 on the coupon and I for one will be reformatting and reinstalling everything from scratch. Will likely save close to a gig of storage that way.

You'll likely want to download most recent Cats. If that doen'st work get the Omega Drivers. That's what I use on my Compaq Evo with Radeon 7500 right now.

I work as a network technician at my college. Whenever we get a shipment of dells in, the first thing they order us to do is to format the entire hard drive and reinstall windows from our CDs to eliminate all the crap that they preload on those things.

Thanks guys. I was thinking of reformatting because for one i have a 40 gig HD so space might be a issue and two i dont want that crap that comes preloaded. I just didnt know whether or not the Dell laptop would have a problem with that. I have heard of some laptops not working so well if the original software isnt installed. But who knows.

Schadenfroh said: