dedicated physx card to pair with gtx 580?

fpliii

n00b
Hey guys,

I'm putting together my new build, and am trying to decide whether it's worth it to buy a cheap card to pair with my gtx 580? I usually run on 1200p, but I'll occasionally use two 24" monitors. Here are my questions:

• Which (decent) games use physx?
• What's the minimum gpu I could run as a dedicated physx card?
• What's the best gpu worth buying for physx given the selection of games that will utilize physx as well as the cost/benefit of the card?

Thanks.

When i use to use physx, i used a 9600 for physx with a 260GTX Black Edition. The best i ever saw was doubling my FPS in Boarderlands.
I haven't seen many games today that get a great preference boost from using a dedicated physx card.
If you were to pick up a physx card. Maybe a cheap 280 ( you can find a good deal in the fo rsale section here) or something. or a 460. Im not an expert on physx tho.

Don't waste money on a physics card unless you love a game that takes advantage of it. Or if you just have a card laying around.

For it to be worth while on a GTX 580 you'll need at least a GTX 460 or better to use. It isn't worth it.

i've tried using 9800gt, 460, 560ti with my hd6990... and from 9800 to 460 i got a huge performance boost... but when changing from the 460 to 560, i only got like 2% increase in fps...

so my best bet is using a 460 as a physx card... you can buy it used for around $70 to $100 these days...

Yea unless you love playing a game that uses physx, its not worth it to buy it in preparation for games that use physx. That being said, I agree with the 460.

Don't waste your money on a PhysX card, wait i think someone said that, so really save your money =)

When i use to use physx, i used a 9600 for physx with a 260GTX Black Edition. The best i ever saw was doubling my FPS in Boarderlands.
I haven't seen many games today that get a great preference boost from using a dedicated physx card.