Decryptor movies Won't Play In vista

|CMF|SoulAssassin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
334
Okay Maybe some one could help me on this, I've been running Windows Xp Sp2 For quite some time now and I recently installed Vista Home Premium X64 Bit. I have A media Drive that store's all my movies,pics,mp3's & videos Etc, in it. Now when i play my movies in Windows Xp it has no problem recognizing the Movies (off course i use dvd Decryptor to Decrypt my movies) but when I try to play them in Windows Vista it's a different story it won't even recognize the movies at all, won't play them won't do nothing, I'm missing something different codecs ?. I've tried playing them in classic media player and nothing, Can please some one help me on how to go about this and some tips on how to decrypt movies in vista with a free software that windows Xp & vista recognizes.

Thanks in Advance.
 

SC385

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 14, 2004
Messages
1,333
sounds like a codec issue. Do you have a 64bit dvd decoder installed?
 

|CMF|SoulAssassin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
334
no i don't the only codec i have is K-Lite Codec Pack 4.14 (Full). I Usually watch my movies in either Windows Media Player 11 or Power DVD,
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
if you have upgraded to Windows XP to Windows Vista, and in turn gone from 32bit to 64 bit, as well...you've got big issues. Vista is not compatible with K-Lite codec pack, at all. If you really want a codec pack, you're going to need to uninstall K-Lite and go with Vista Codec pack....although I would personally recommend using neither, there are those that are not interested in installing 20 codecs to watch all of their content, so they have their uses. Additionally, you'll probably want to uninstall any Video playing software that was installed under XP, and find 64bit compatible versions (technically, Vista x64 compatbile versions), as well.

Unfortunately, it's not as simple as "I upgraded to Vista" (when is it ever, with any OS, really?) You've gone from the last generation OS to the new one, and from 32bit to 64bit. I'm surprised you aren't having bigger issues, like at the driver level.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
no i don't the only codec i have is K-Lite Codec Pack 4.14 (Full). I Usually watch my movies in either Windows Media Player 11 or Power DVD,


Uninstall it and any other codecs you may be using immediately.

if you have upgraded to Windows XP to Windows Vista, and in turn gone from 32bit to 64 bit, as well...you've got big issues. Vista is not compatible with K-Lite codec pack, at all. If you really want a codec pack, you're going to need to uninstall K-Lite and go with Vista Codec pack....although I would personally recommend using neither, there are those that are not interested in installing 20 codecs to watch all of their content, so they have their uses. Additionally, you'll probably want to uninstall any Video playing software that was installed under XP, and find 64bit compatible versions (technically, Vista x64 compatbile versions), as well.

Unfortunately, it's not as simple as "I upgraded to Vista" (when is it ever, with any OS, really?) You've gone from the last generation OS to the new one, and from 32bit to 64bit. I'm surprised you aren't having bigger issues, like at the driver level.

Following you again....

Heres what you need for Vista (note this works on both 32 bit and 64 bit editions)

ffdshow tryouts
Haali Matroska Splitter
when you install ffdshow you will be prompted on the applications section for something but be sure to select "Do not limit" for both dialogue boxes.

This should allow you to play everything you could ever want. thats all i have installed on my HTPC's plus PowerDVD7 for Blu-ray and hd-dvd support.
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
Uninstall it and any other codecs you may be using immediately.



Following you again....

Heres what you need for Vista (note this works on both 32 bit and 64 bit editions)

ffdshow tryouts
Haali Matroska Splitter
when you install ffdshow you will be prompted on the applications section for something but be sure to select "Do not limit" for both dialogue boxes.

This should allow you to play everything you could ever want. thats all i have installed on my HTPC's plus PowerDVD7 for Blu-ray and hd-dvd support.

You need another hobby...and I'm not saying get out of computers...I mean not following me!
 

w1retap

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
13,366
Oh man.. I stopped reading after he mentioned K-Lite... LOL.

Get rid of that.. it causes more problems on people's systems than anything I've ever seen, and can even lead to AIDS and cancer. :p

What nitrobass said will get your issue resolved.
 

|CMF|SoulAssassin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
334
Okay........ I'll uninstall K-Lite asap and follow nitrobass24 Suggestion,

I happen to be running Vista 64 Bit with no {Hardware} driver problems what so ever thank you very much (sabregen)

Any good software thats free for playing DVD?
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Okay........ I'll uninstall K-Lite asap and follow nitrobass24 Suggestion,

I happen to be running Vista 64 Bit with no {Hardware} driver problems what so ever thank you very much (sabregen)

Any good software thats free for playing DVD?

I only use 64bit...8GB of ram.

I like VLC Player on my Workstation it does just about everything...but on my htpc's i alredy have PowerDVD7 for bluray and hddvd playback so i dont use anything else.
BTW wmp supports DVD's
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
Okay........ I'll uninstall K-Lite asap and follow nitrobass24 Suggestion,

I happen to be running Vista 64 Bit with no {Hardware} driver problems what so ever thank you very much (sabregen)

Any good software thats free for playing DVD?

good to hear. here's some info on free DVD player (I'd recommend VLC Media Player, but note the issues mentioned in the link): http://www.pchell.com/support/dvddecoder.shtml
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,956
CCCP.

for dvd's - vlc... but i personally hate VLC.

powerdvd is good if you already have it
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
I only use 64bit...8GB of ram.

I like VLC Player on my Workstation it does just about everything...but on my htpc's i alredy have PowerDVD7 for bluray and hddvd playback so i dont use anything else.
BTW wmp supports DVD's

All I use is 64bit as well, 4GB of RAM in my laptop. That's not what I was getting at. He upgraded form 32bit XP to 64bit Vista, and therein can lie the driver issues.

Yes, WMP supports DVDs, but it does not nateively include the codec to decrypt or play it. That functionality is unlocked when you purchase a DVD player program, like PowerDVD. VLC doesn't add DVD playback to WMP.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Yes, WMP supports DVDs, but it does not nateively include the codec to decrypt or play it. That functionality is unlocked when you purchase a DVD player program, like PowerDVD. VLC doesn't add DVD playback to WMP.

thats not true....you just need a/v codecs that you get in ffdshow

On my WS I only have ffdshow, haali, avisynth. i can play anything on MediaPlayerClasic even blu-rays.
 

sabregen

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 6, 2005
Messages
19,502
Well, I suppose that I can be a big kid and admit when I'm wrong. I was not aware that ffdshow included codecs to plays DVDs.
 

|CMF|SoulAssassin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
334
All I use is 64bit as well, 4GB of RAM in my laptop. That's not what I was getting at. He upgraded form 32bit XP to 64bit Vista, and therein can lie the driver issues.

Yes, WMP supports DVDs, but it does not nateively include the codec to decrypt or play it. That functionality is unlocked when you purchase a DVD player program, like PowerDVD. VLC doesn't add DVD playback to WMP.

Keep In mind before i even made my decision on Vista 64 bit i made sure that all my manufactures Hardware had 64 bit drivers ready for me.

Im gonna try to get power DVD here and see if they play my movies.
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
Keep In mind before i even made my decision on Vista 64 bit i made sure that all my manufactures Hardware had 64 bit drivers ready for me.

Im gonna try to get power DVD here and see if they play my movies.

you can download a free trial at cyberlink.com
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
op said:
Vista Home Premium X64 Bit

you should have a built in player in Vista Media Center.. unless Vista 64bit home premium doesn't come with it..


do a google search for Vista Media Center dvd_library and you just need to change a registry entry to get the dvd_library to show up in media center..
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
you should have a built in player in Vista Media Center.. unless Vista 64bit home premium doesn't come with it..


do a google search for Vista Media Center dvd_library and you just need to change a registry entry to get the dvd_library to show up in media center..

True but thats only for rip'd dvd's where you put the video_ts folder in its own directory for each movie....but it is cool.
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
True but thats only for rip'd dvd's where you put the video_ts folder in its own directory for each movie....but it is cool.

but considering the problem was/is

op said:
...recognizing the Movies (off course i use dvd Decryptor to Decrypt my movies) but when I try to play them in Windows Vista it's a different story it won't even recognize the movies...

this is exactly what VMC is great at, decrypt your dvds to a video_ts folder (like the op has done) and then play them in VMC..

no codecs (for dvd playback), no extra programs.. its all built in..

infact if you look at what the OP has (Media driver with Videos, Pictures, DVDs), its exactly what VMC does best.. centralizing your videos, pictures, and dvds..

just doing a quick search, seems VMC also supports the FFDShow.. personally that's the way i'd go..
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,670
Okay, this has happened to me too awhile back. Did you rip the DVDs to VOBs (resulting in a folder)? What I had to do was run the ripped DVDs through DVD Shrink which didn't bother me since I wanted to rip all the extras and stuff out of it leaving just the movie.

Anyways, run them through DVD Shrink and the resulting VOBs are MCE compatible.
 

|CMF|SoulAssassin

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
334
Update : Tried nitrobass24 & H-street and no luck whats so ever, just said didn't recognize the codec in VMC, When i get home i'll post actual screen shots of the actual folder i have and the type of files they are..
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
Just so its clear, to play dvds in vista media center from the hard drive.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/930526

Change the Registry Entry HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Media Center\Settings\DvdSettings

key ShowGallery change the value to Gallery

now restart Vista Media Center

there should be a dvd_library option that comes up in the TV / Movies

click on the dvd_library, now if you have a dvd in teh drive it should show up with a disk icon (i'd test this first just to make sure your install is still fine in just playing dvds)..

then right click and do Add Movies (Add Files).. This has to be done in the dvd_library view, or else it will try to add them as Video files (DVDs won't play under hte normal video files section)..

do add new etc.. etc..

Point it to the directory you are storing your DVDs.. click next and save..

DVDs need to be stored in a FOLDER/VIDEO_TS/VobFiles.. infact take the movie you just tried int he dvd_drive and open up dvd_decrypter and rip it. You may have to do with Criminal Evil suggested above with the DVDShrink, can't say as i don't have x64.. but should work.


now re-open the dvd_library in Media Center.. under there should be now your newly ripped dvd as an icon (shouldn't have an disk icon on it), click on it, then click play.. (visit www.dvdxml.com if you want to have quick movie information)



if you need to check yoru decoder for media center use this utlity http://mediacenterexpert.blogspot.com/2006/07/vista-media-center-decoder-utility.html , put it back to the default microsoft decoder if it has been changed
 

bing

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
280
CCCP.

for dvd's - vlc... but i personally hate VLC.

powerdvd is good if you already have it

+1 for CCCP!

ffdshow, Haali, VobSub for subtitles, etc., etc., all in a really nice package.

For players it includes MPC (MPC-HC if you go w/ the beta...) and ZoomPlayer. I use ZP for most everything, 720P, 1080P, etc. With MPC you can view DVD's, just open: VIDEO_TS\VIDEO_TS.IFO

From the FAQ: "We are officially endorsed by the Matroska Project, the individuals who designed the MKV format. They originally provided their own codec pack, but dropped it in favour of ours as it was of a higher quality and better maintained."

Last but not least is support. The guys that make CCCP are very helpful and will walk anyone through diagnosing/fixing problems. They have forums setup, IRC, etc. They also have a tool called Insurgent to identify installed codecs for troubleshooting and such.

The setup tool has a great "Reset All Settings" option for when you mess something up and can't figure out what went wrong. Gets you back to working baseline settings so easily.

The support is great, but if you follow the install instructions carefully you probably won't need it. :)

Try it, you'll like it.

PS: (I like VLC too, but there's no comparison in quality with it vs ZP for 720P/1080P etc., and CCCP makes it relatively easy to get that capability.)
 

nitrobass24

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2009
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
10,462
CCCP.

for dvd's - vlc... but i personally hate VLC.

powerdvd is good if you already have it

+1 for CCCP!

ffdshow, Haali, VobSub for subtitles, etc., etc., all in a really nice package.

For players it includes MPC (MPC-HC if you go w/ the beta...) and ZoomPlayer. I use ZP for most everything, 720P, 1080P, etc. With MPC you can view DVD's, just open: VIDEO_TS\VIDEO_TS.IFO

From the FAQ: "We are officially endorsed by the Matroska Project, the individuals who designed the MKV format. They originally provided their own codec pack, but dropped it in favour of ours as it was of a higher quality and better maintained."

Last but not least is support. The guys that make CCCP are very helpful and will walk anyone through diagnosing/fixing problems. They have forums setup, IRC, etc. They also have a tool called Insurgent to identify installed codecs for troubleshooting and such.

The setup tool has a great "Reset All Settings" option for when you mess something up and can't figure out what went wrong. Gets you back to working baseline settings so easily.

The support is great, but if you follow the install instructions carefully you probably won't need it. :)

Try it, you'll like it.

PS: (I like VLC too, but there's no comparison in quality with it vs ZP for 720P/1080P etc., and CCCP makes it relatively easy to get that capability.)


CCCP is not updated and maintained well enough in my opinion....considering they are not developing codecs or anything their development cycle should be very small. CCCP is just a collection of other peoples work. The last time CCCP had a release was 7 months ago...I mean come on..your not developing anything your just taking other peoples installers and rolling them into one...thats not really hard to do.
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,670
CCCP is not updated and maintained well enough in my opinion....considering they are not developing codecs or anything their development cycle should be very small. CCCP is just a collection of other peoples work. The last time CCCP had a release was 7 months ago...I mean come on..your not developing anything your just taking other peoples installers and rolling them into one...thats not really hard to do.

Huh? The version I'm running is from mid last month. :rolleyes:
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,956
no it isnt hard to do , but is saves you from running around to a bunch of sites to get everything download then install it and then indivdually configure each one, cccp does it all in one installer and a setup at the end - done, dont need to touch anything else..

besides, how much better can DivX / Xvid play back get? sure x264 could get soem bug fixes... but everything i has plays and looks great to me, so what would an update to the second updated version really do... (how many people here are using media player classic vs MP 10+?) Newer isnt always better
 
Top