Dead 5820k New 2600 build

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by jmnovak, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    So my X99 system took a dump. No post, code 00. wasnt going to vest in aging system so went with a 2600 for now. Wanted to make sure voltage and temps seemed within range since its been a while since I was on AMD platform.

    Specs are in sig.

    4.2ghz @ 1.36v

    Lvl 4 LLC

    Prime95 26.6 Blend- 4hrs max temp 71c
    avg. 1.403v
    max 1.450v

    Aida64 stress test- 5hrs max temp 73c
    avg. 1.401v
    max 1.428v

    Real Bench stress test- 5hrs max temp 62c
    avg. 1.394v
    max 1.406v

    Gaming was giving me about 1.373-1.384v avg depending on game

    Wasnt sure if those voltages are 24/7 safe?
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2018
  2. Gideon

    Gideon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,922
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Just try to stay below 1.45 volts for extended periods and you will be fine. Your temps look good as well.
     
  3. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,600
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Yeah that all looks great. Basically the same thing happened to me, random 00’s with my 5960x. Jumped to AMD and never looked back.
     
  4. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Thanks guys. Overall pretty happy. System performs close to my old 5820k @ 4.7ghz

    5820k@ 4.7

    CB11.5-
    single core 2.10
    multi core 15.40

    CB15-
    single core 188
    multi core 1421

    CPUZ
    single core 501
    multi core 3740


    2600@ 4.2

    CB11.5-

    single core 1.95
    multi core 15.65

    CB15-
    single core 176
    multi core 1441

    CPUZ
    single core 499.5
    multi core 4008
     
    PliotronX, kirbyrj and Sulphademus like this.
  5. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,768
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    under load

    idle voltage of 1.45 is fine all day and night because there is no current being pulled, thus no additional heat.
     
  6. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Yeah/ Ive been playing around with settings. CPU can pull 4.325ghz but takes 1.42v in Bios and under load its 1.502v Temps get up to 81c. Way to much temp and voltage increase for 125mhz so I backed it down to where I was.

    As far a memory.... Im stuck. No matter what I do it wont go past preset D.O.C.P of 2666 13-14-14-39-1T,(Board defaults CAS to 14 even when set to 13) even if I loosen timings. (The chips are older Hynix) Which is crazy because I had it running @ 3200 14-15-15-36-1T 1.40v with the X99 system
    I'll have to invest in some Samsung B-die 3200 or 3600.

    Update: Was able to set DOCP to 2400(13-13-13-35-1T) then up speed to 2666. But system doesnt like
    Anything lower than (14-13-13-35-1T)
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018
  7. pooloffire

    pooloffire n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Ya that is an issue with Ryzen. Memory is difficult. Newer modules are better at timings and hitting rated speeds.
     
  8. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Yea... after messing around with the system I was able to get everything stable(prime95/RealBench 8hr runs) @ 4.225ghz 1.381v w/LLC5 and Mem.2866mhz 14-14-14-39-1T using Dram Ryzen calculator.
    No matter what setting I used memory wouldnt go any higher than 2866 stable. I am using 4 dimms and have read that it effects speeds/timings.

    CB15 pulls 175/1445
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  9. pooloffire

    pooloffire n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Ya 4 sticks limit the available bandwidth to the memory controller. its always better to buy two sticks of the highest capacity that you can afford. Ryzen loves the higher clocked ram, but also likes lower timings. So its kind of a balancing act. Get the setting right and you should have a monster of a rig.
     
  10. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Screenshot (3006).png

    Here what Im getting memory wise
     
  11. xmadror

    xmadror Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    I got a 2600x a few weeks ago and used 16gb of 3200mhz ddr4 that was in my 6600k system (older samsung ram, not b-die). I can't get any better then 2800mhz stable (16-16-16-36) I can boot into windows 10 at 2866/2933 but system will lockup quickly.
    Even tried with super loose timing but no success there (with ryzen dram calc). My board will also boot at 16 cas if I set it to 15.
    I'll probably run those for a while and eventually get a better set. I've seen many report of 3400 to 3700mhz ram working flawlessly and I kinda want some of that!

    Still waiting on my AIO bracket adapter so I'm using the stock cooler for now and haven't messed with it so far since it goes to 4.25ghz with PBO and temps creeps up higher then I'd like (85c+ and still climbing) while stability testing.

    Cpuz is reporting 1.344vcore under prime95 at 4.0ghz with pbo and from my research below 1.4v should be safe.

    Out of the box with stock cooler the 2600x is pretty impressive. Can't wait to put my h220 on it and see what it'll do!
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  12. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    121
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Yeah... 4.225-4.25ghz(1.381-1.410v) seems to be doable limit. I pushed 4.35ghz but it took 1.52v to get stable which was crazy for 100-125mhz more. but very happy with platform so far. Get some 3200-3600mhz B-die and call it good till the 3600+ chips come out.