ddr2 1066

Discussion in 'Memory' started by patnmel97, Feb 6, 2008.

  1. patnmel97

    patnmel97 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    312
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Im kinda new to this stuff so bare with me.
    if my mb supports 1066:asus p5ke and my proc. supports 1333 e8400
    whats the best memory for me, im looking at this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231144
    or would i be fine with ddr2 800. im not planning on overclocking. any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Lames.

    Lames. Gawd

    Messages:
    736
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Really what ever is cheaper for ya.
     
  3. Mithent

    Mithent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    If you're not overclocking, definitely DDR2-800 (unless somehow DDR2-1066 is cheaper).

    The E8400 has a 1333Mhz quad-pumped front-side bus, which means the base bus speed is 1333/4 = 333Mhz, ish. The RAM runs at some multiple of that 333Mhz speed, which is then doubled (because it's Double Data Rate RAM) to get the RAM speed. The lowest multiple of 333Mhz you can get is.. 1x333Mhz, which is doubled to get 666Mhz. Therefore if you're not overclocking, even DDR2-667 would be sufficient for the CPU if it's not overclocked - but RAM is cheap, so you may as well get DDR2-800. RAM with a higher clock speed is not noticeably faster in any real-world situation, so there's no reason to get DDR2-1066.

    (Incidentally, DDR2-800 would allow you to overclock up to 800/2 = 400*9 = 3.6Ghz, if you had a good chip and motherboard and decent cooling etc. DDR2-1066 RAM would theoretically allow a maximum of 1066/2 = 533*9 = 4.8Ghz, but that's impossible. The 9 in these calculations is the CPU's clock speed multiplier, which is based on the 'true' bus speed, not the quad-pumped speed.. but don't worry about that.)
     
  4. patnmel97

    patnmel97 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    312
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Thank you very much:)
     
  5. Voltron

    Voltron Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Excellent post, Mithent! I was a bit curious on this aswell.
     
  6. Vix

    Vix [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Based on the price difference, I'd spend the extra $20 and buy faster, more future-proof memory. As the P5E and my Maximus Formula are basically the same board, these are the sticks that I run my E8400 on. (500*8) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148069

    The OP may not have current plans to OC, but if he keeps hanging out here, he may just change his mind. :cool:

    With DDR2-800 I hit an insurmountable wall at 450 MHz FSB.

    With DDR2-1066 I've run 515 FSB with stability, and I know I can go higher.
     
  7. patnmel97

    patnmel97 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    312
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    maybe one of these days for now just wanted to get the best stock performance possible.
     
  8. jstenuf

    jstenuf [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,522
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Great post. Very helpful.
     
  9. glowtraq

    glowtraq n00b

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Which is better with a Core 2 Duo E6600, DDR2-800 or DDR2-1066? Would the DDR-1066 be perfectly in sync with the Core 2 Duo E6600 1066 FSB?

    - Thanks
     
  10. Forceman

    Forceman [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,243
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    DDR2-800 is fine for the E8400. At standard clockings, the E8400 runs the memory at DDR2-667, so anything above that is fine.
     
  11. glowtraq

    glowtraq n00b

    Messages:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Hi, what type of memory would be in sync with the FSB of a Core 2 Duo E6600? Thing is I would like to build a system which has no compensation when it comes to cycles between the CPU/Memory.

    - Thanks
     
  12. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    stock fsb is 1066, or 266mhz.. which is the speed DDR2-533 runs at

    though why don't you want compensation? while there is a bit of extra latency in the memory controller when running at ratios other than 1:1, it's not noticeable, and in the end, overall memory access time is what decides things anyway, and faster ram almost always has lower access latency.

    that said, the difference between some ddr2-533 and ddr2-800 will definitely be less than 2-3% in real world performance.
     
  13. balance101

    balance101 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    411
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    wow didnt know that :D thanks what will happen if i dont run 1:1 is that bad? cuz it consume more power and generates more heat? sorry if its a stupid question

    thanks

    edit
    one more question how would ddr3 work? lowest multiple of FSB X 3 ?
     
  14. (cf)Eclipse

    (cf)Eclipse Freelance Overclocker

    Messages:
    30,028
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    same way as ddr1 and ddr2 work... it's just a matter of what the fsb is, and what the memory speed is. the right ratio is selected based on those two to get the proper memory speed.

    so if you have a 1333 fsb chip and some ddr3-1600, it's 333mhz fsb with 800mhz ram. the ratio would be 12:5 (DRAM:FSB)