DAN A4-SFX: The smallest gaming case in the world

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by dondan, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. Nanook

    Nanook Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    385
    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    I haven’t tried a Nexus 7000, but in trying the Evercool 815, I find that a 1156 compatible heatsink could fit on a 1151 motherboard if I remove all the heatsink from my z370i (two vrm/mosfet ornamental heatsinks, and the m.2 heatsink) ymmv
     
  2. duke00

    duke00 n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    I use the Falcon II on an 1151 motherboard so i think te Nexus will fit too.
     
  3. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018

    Please link this to me on Superbuy? This sounds perfect for my portable on the road setup.
     
  4. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    It's this one:
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sc...907&pvid=7612b237-1f81-4ebb-9b6d-7079f388b89b

    Superbuy seems to find it as well, but I got it directly from Taobao so can't say much about that.
    https://www.superbuy.com/en/page/buy?url=https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?scm=1007.10010.52063.100200300000002&id=563242926907&pvid=7612b237-1f81-4ebb-9b6d-7079f388b89b

    It looks like they even just updated it with Thunderbolt / USB-C. And yeah, it's great for travelling.

    edit: I should add that I haven't managed to get Freesync working on mine, and I've had the screen go black intermittently for a second. Those minor annoyances aside it's been great.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
  5. AP2

    AP2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    quick question.. is the interior of the case made of aluminum or steel?
     
  6. Caconym

    Caconym n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Yeah, I’m not so worried about it interfering with motherboard components as actually attaching it to the motherboard, and being able to fit a fan under the cooler.
     
  7. richiegore

    richiegore Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Aluminium
     
  8. tenrose

    tenrose n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
  9. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018


    Awesome! Does it also


    Is the HDR HDR 10 ? and is that working fine?

    You power it with 12v and then just HDMI to your GPU?
     
  10. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015

    Yep, 12V. Some of the smaller ones support 5V as well, even via USB I believe. This one needs 12V up to 3A. Since I don't want to carry around an extra power brick, I soldered a DC jack onto what used to be a SATA power cable, and routed that out of the case. The screen has 2x mini-HDMI and 1x mini-DP. I use mini-DP mostly, but HDMI works just as well. Mine came with a mini-HDMI to HDMI adapter, and a mini-HDMI to HDMI cable. Slight difference I've noticed between HDMI and DP is in the screen-going-black issue I mentioned. DP goes black for a second every once in a while, HDMI flickers every once in a while. Both work fine if I lower refresh rate to 50Hz. Not sure if that's just my unit, or a general issue with these.

    The HDR is HDR 10, I believe. Windows 10 will allow me to enable HDR for the display. I haven't had much chance to play around with it yet; A quick try of a HDR video through VLC didn't look very good to be honest. Do you have any pointers for how I could give it a quick try? In terms of specs, my colorimeter says the display does just over 400 nits, about 800:1 contrast, and covers 100% SRGB, 99.9% AdobeRGB and 92% DCI-P3.
     
    richiegore likes this.
  11. Chris4SFX

    Chris4SFX n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Any chance you could upload pics of that? Very nice idea.
    The need of an extra power brick definitely drives me away from this type of monitors...

    I have done some research on portable monitors (all usb-powered) for quite a while, as a portable setup is a must for me too!

    These are some of the monitors i came around so far:

    - GeChic 1503H/I: 15.3 inch, 1080p, videosignal via HDMI, seemingly good panel, "I" version is touch, "H" isn't. Biggest disadvantage: Very pricey (around 350-450 Euro)
    - Asus Zenscreen mb16ac: 15.3 inch, Very elegant design, USB-C (one cable to rule them all) but very dim (200 nits) ("...and in the darkness bind them" :D ) and input lag.
    - Magedok 4k: 15.6 inch, UHD, 100% Adobe RGB, videosignal via HDMI. Like on gechic, it's very pricey. So nothing for me
    - Elecrow AUS13310P: 13.3 inch, 1080p, 300 nits, USB-C for power and optional video (otherwise hdmi), fairly payable

    The last one is my favorite so far, although i would definitely prefer 15.6 inch over the 13.3. Apart from that it seems to be a pretty good deal. Hopefully it doesn't suffer of input lag on USB-C (like the asus zenscreen), but it would be ok to use HDMI for video, too.
    Don't really get it why a world famous brand like Asus doesn't get over 200 nits on usb power, while a no name product like the elecrow or the gechic gets 300 nits... o_O

    If anyone knows of a bright (300 nits or better) 15.6 inch 1080p monitor (usb powered) under 200-250 Euro, any hint would be highly appreciated!! :D
     
  12. Alaberti

    Alaberti [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    That was my build with the HDPlex PSU tenrose
     
  13. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018

    Ill probably nab this one https://www.amazon.com/SIBOLAN-S16b-15-6inch-3840×2160-MiniDisplay/dp/B07DJ59PLQ

    little lighter on my wallet and it will still fit in my 15 inch laptop backpack. 2 extra inches and type C arnt really worth 250 extra lol.

    This is a great middle ground and I still can take the setup anywhere.

    Now i have a quick question especially if the mighty dondan can chime in..

    2700x only for gaming purposes (dont want intel this gen) you think I should just go 545LC or should I go C7 CU? I dont own a window kit so womp womp.

    V3 case.
     
  14. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015

    I mean, right now it's literally just the plug hanging out the back of the case, not much to look at. ;) I haven't gotten around to drilling a hole to fix it to the case properly.

    Yep, there's not anything comparable from Western brands, as far as I am aware of. The same Taobao seller has a few options that fit what you're looking for though, e.g.
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5-c-s.w4002-18504435222.26.4674294d3DVaTA&id=569816060886
    or
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5-c-s.w4002-18504435222.35.4674294d3DVaTA&id=534680485373
    or
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5-c-s.w4002-18504435222.38.4674294d3DVaTA&id=565698974027

    It looks like all of them can be powered either by micro USB, or USB-C. All under 200 euros.

    The no-names getting 300 nits on USB and Asus only 200 might be because the no-names draw more power than the USB spec allows?



    Just FYI, this looks to be a branded version of the ones on Taobao. I think when I got mine the had a 15" screen that looked exactly like that one, minus the logo on the front. You can get the current ones on Taobao for about 225 USD, if you want minimise your expense further.
    https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.5-c-s.w4002-18504435222.34.38b62f3fdTCpln&id=568059430529


    Just to be clear, I have no affiliation with that brand or seller; just wanting to share to help, as it took me quite a while to find these myself.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018

    Since im superbuy and taobao illiterate could you please link this to me on superbuy if it is on there? I couldnt find it.

    Or how do you buy from TaoBao?

    I would use my OLED Alienware 13 display but I need a eDP 4k external controller card and I dont know how to start with building the connector needed with that thing.
     
  16. Chris4SFX

    Chris4SFX n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    sdfewfe : Thanks nevertheless for the picture ;) And on the inside?

    Wow! Great findings, although i only understand a few letters and numbers :D Thanks!

    But even i would figure out how to order on this website, i am unsure about ordering a monitor directly from china.
    If something's broken or issues appear you have to deal with a company on the other side of the world...

    Unfortunately i don't see a brand or Product No. to do some research and maybe to find it on amazon or other popular onlineshops...

    Over on aliexpress there can be found several of these monitors, too. But again mostly without findable brands. Additionally the photos and especially partly contradictory specifications don't seem trustworthy to me...


    Didn't know that USB could deliver more power than the specs allow? Or the panel itself is specified with 300 nits, but it cannot be achieved fully through USB? Would be mad for monitors with USB as only power connection though...
     
  17. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    I asked a Chinese friend to bring it back on a recent trip home. ;) I haven't used superbuy, but it looks like you can just copy-paste the taobao URL into the search field on superbuy:
    https://www.superbuy.com/en/page/bu...18504435222.34.38b62f3fdTCpln&id=568059430529

    I have looked into using a panel plus eDP controller as well, but it looks like none of that is as standardised as the "eDP" name makes it sound. I gave up on that too.
     
  18. thehack

    thehack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Dedaciai likes this.
  19. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Not much more interesting on the inside, I think, but there you go. I was wrong - it's a molex cable, not SATA power. Same principle either way: Find 12V and GND wires, cut and strip them, and solder onto a DC jack of your choice. Then solder appropriate DC plugs onto an appropriate cable to go from the computer to the screen.

    Use google translate! In Chrome you can do it right inside the browser. The writing inside the pictures won't translate, obviously, but the text should give enough of an idea of what's going on. The screen shows an "intehill" logo on power on, but there isn't much to be found on that brand. Mine has model number Intehill HS-173KP, if that helps. And yes, of course - don't expect customer support to be straightforward. I can recommend finding a Chinese friend to assist. I was confused by some of the photos and specs as well, but can confirm that the screen I received is in line with most of the information on the product page. If it seems to you that the photos show two completely different kinds of OSD menu, then you should know that one of those is actually a Playstation menu, not the screen's OSD menu. Took me a while to figure that one out, having never seen a PS menu before... ;)

    Legacy USB spec is 500mA at 5V for 2.5W, so not nearly enough power for most screens. I think most USB ports will deliver more current than that. But drawing more current than a port can handle would either shut down the port or computer, or if the port doesn't have overcurrent protection could damage the computer. So a name-brand should really want to avoid going out of spec. Some older USB hard drives used two USB plugs for that reason, to get enough current within USB spec.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Chris4SFX

    Chris4SFX n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Thanks alot for your detailed answer!

    Good idea with chrome (usally i use FF).
    Main prob of some of these pages, for example aliexpress, is that specs like "contrast ratio" or "brightness" are several times on the pages, at first place with 400:1, after scrolling a bit it "grows" to 1000:1 :D or brighness varies from 250 to 350... :cautious:

    Another prob besides high shipping costs or long delivery times, is that you have to add the import-turnover tax, which in the end drives these monitors into quite pricey products after all.

    I will do a lil more research, but i guess at the moment i'll stick to the elecrow 13.3 on amazon...
    Thanks again nevertheless!
     
  21. RedSawn

    RedSawn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Will that end up on your shopfront? I don't have a 3D printer and figured if I'm going to buy the adapter I might as well buy the shroud as well

    ... Suppose since it's in dollars too I should ask if you ship to the UK...
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2018
  22. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    You can get stuff 3D-printed and mailed to you these days! Check out 3dhubs.com for instance.
     
    RedSawn likes this.
  23. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    sdfewfe which package type should I get? I know you havent bought from superbuy but maybe someone has?


    XXikOHR.png

    I cant tell which one I should get they are all different prices :( Official standard is cheapest.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2018
  24. sdfewfe

    sdfewfe [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Hm, I'm not sure either. Judging by the relatively small price difference perhaps it's just different shipping / packaging options? I vaguely recall that there was two similar options when I got mine as well, I think we went for the official standard one.
     
  25. thehack

    thehack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    You can PM me or email at jim@j-hackcompany.com for an order. I am currently in the EU for temp work.
     
  26. RedSawn

    RedSawn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Unfortunately I took Sdfewfe's advice, but maybe if that doesn't work out I can't possibly go wrong getting it straight from the source, huh?
     
  27. thehack

    thehack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    It's quite alright. It'd be very helpful if you add the photo to the thingiverse to help others.
     
  28. irebel

    irebel n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    thehack likes this.
  29. RedSawn

    RedSawn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Sure, they'll be a week. How would I attach both of them at the same time?
     
  30. thehack

    thehack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    You will need 8x fan screws (or you can get away with 4). Just screw the fan into the adapter, and then the shroud into the fan.
     
    RedSawn likes this.
  31. RedSawn

    RedSawn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Understood. Didn't think the fan screws were short enough for screwing in both sides, heh
     
  32. overcookedTOFU

    overcookedTOFU n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Hey, just trying to get a quick sanity check on some temps. Build is now complete, but cooling seems to be an issue.

    I've got a R7 2700x with an Asetek 545lc in the A4 SFX v3.

    My idle and load temps are quite high.

    Idle: ~55c via Ryzen Master
    Load: Up to limit at 85c at 3.7 ghz.

    After about 15 minutes I start to see it throttle back to prevent overload if load continues.

    Are those temps roughly what others are seeing with similar parts? Thanks!
     
  33. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,386
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    check the tightness and or remount it
     
  34. overcookedTOFU

    overcookedTOFU n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    I've tried that. Temps remain stubbornly high, idling at ~50-55c.

    With stock cooler and side panel off, temps idle ~40c and top out at ~75-80c.

    I think that narrows it down to the Asetek545lc + Noctua NF A9x14 92mm fan being the culprit.

    Anyone seeing better cooling performance from their 545lc? Should I be looking at an RMA for the cooler? Or are those temps simply the best that can be expected?
     
  35. Chris4SFX

    Chris4SFX n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    I honestly can't imagine, that your temps are by far in the expected range for that AIO :confused:
    He even reached quite good temps on a 140w tdp CPU, so i would definitely contact customer support and report your issues to them.

    Would you keep us updated regarding this? I could imagine using this AIO by myself. Therefore i would be very interested in where the fault was in the end...
     
  36. tenrose

    tenrose n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
  37. Raptor5150

    Raptor5150 n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018

    Same. Just waiting for my V3 to ship to me so I can put my 2700x under the frosty coldplate :D
     
  38. Alaberti

    Alaberti [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Oh I see! It looks like the dimensions are much larger:

    1U: 81.5 mm (W) x 40.5 mm (H) x 170 mm (D)

    HDPlex: 51.5 (W) x 30 (H) mm x 160(L)

    As the V3 is specifically compatible with the HDPlex, I imagine you'd have to perform a very creative mod to make it fit.
     
  39. tenrose

    tenrose n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    my planning so far is to have the 120mm AIO rad on the cpu side of the case, with the pipes going above the gpu slot on the mobo where the riser sits. i've managed to only just make this fit but it should work fine. i'll throw some pictures up when i get home from work.

    with a gtx 1080 ti from zotac, the mini, i've got about 12cm total to fit next to the gpu. it's difficult to explain in words so here's a paint.exe image

    upload_2018-7-24_15-12-59.png

    this is the setup i've currently got. everything seems to fit and there's no kinks in any pipes. im planning for the psu to go in front of the radiator (ie, closer to us). it won't completely cover it, and im hoping to fit a 15m noctua fan the the bottom of the case as an intake. i'll need to find a mounting system for the psu if it fits...luckily i've got a friend with a 3d printer!

    good lord that drawing is bad haha
     
    Alaberti and Jspr like this.
  40. RedSawn

    RedSawn [H]Lite

    Messages:
    69
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Came home today to find my ordered prints had went through the letterbox 2 days earlier then expected. Of course I'm not complaining. Got it in ABS since 3D Hub's PLA has a 60C glass temp which sounds a bit low for the use case.

    Carefully snipped off the old cableties, screwed the fan to the adaptor and it slotted right on perfectly. Screwed the shroud in and it doesn't trouble the side panel at all. Idle temps have been fluctuating but I'm seeing 4~10C drops which is awesome for a bit of plastic.

    Still really need to go tidy up the cabling... but every time I get the courage the A4's a lot smaller then I remember as if it hasn't been by my side 24/7 and it seems to be impossible to deal with the clump mostly caused by the 24 pin awkwardly twisting to fit the motherboard slot (I think it's slightly visible in the picture). Next time I have to see if it can wrap around the cutout below the motherboard. The slim fan wouldn't turn down there anyway.

    20180724_135014.jpg 20180724_141507.jpg 20180724_142227.jpg 20180724_142405.jpg
     
    ReaperX22, bAMtan2, Jspr and 2 others like this.