DAN A4-SFX: The smallest gaming case in the world

thed00d

Weaksauce
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
69
I was running a 5820K (140w) and a 1080TI (250w) just fine until last week. Yes, it wasn't quiet at load and the case gets hot, but temperatures were well below throttling.
what cooler were you using? This is good news for me, I wondered if I might be able to overclock the Ryzen 5 1600 and If you managed to cool the 5820K, I'll surely be able to ._. - I am planning to use the Copper version of the Cryorig C7, can't wait to read what you used :)

edit: just saw your answer, okay I hope the C7 CU performs as good as that one then ^^
 

P15

n00b
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
7
Got my custom cables too with similar results. Very disappointed. Did you contact Cablemod already?
Wow this has kind of put me off from cablemod, are there any other companies people would recommend to get custom cables from?
 

dominathan

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 23, 2016
Messages
85
Wow this has kind of put me off from cablemod, are there any other companies people would recommend to get custom cables from?

Mine also came back awful, so I think we can all safely say that custom.Cablemod is garbage. We need to stop people from buying through them!
 

Blackreplica

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2016
Messages
205
I got my cables from moddiy.com





They do custom lengths, just specify what you need in the order comments box at checkout. I have no complaints about the quality or price and am happy with them
 

P15

n00b
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
7
I got my cables from moddiy.com





They do custom lengths, just specify what you need in the order comments box at checkout. I have no complaints about the quality or price and am happy with them

Good to know. What cable lengths did you go with for your system?
 

kingtron

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 2, 2017
Messages
254
I got my cables from moddiy.com

They do custom lengths, just specify what you need in the order comments box at checkout. I have no complaints about the quality or price and am happy with them

Can you please provide the link , the initial order to start with , and your cables description.
for SF600 off course :)

EDIT: found it here
 
Last edited:

dPunish3r

n00b
Joined
Nov 7, 2013
Messages
10
https://pexonpcs.co.uk/ too
Around 125€ in Europe

Got the price info from my blog... and there is some nuance.


My build on this awesome case!



Specs and build log:
http://www.disfrutadelcastigo.com/2017/05/pc-gamer-2017.html

Cheers!

Some people ask me about the cables:

Pexon only makes cables nice and tidy, so they refuse to make too short cables.

He said: I would not be happy with the 24 pin on the SFX unit at <40cm myself, I only let items/ cables out the door that are perfect and something that I would be happy to get myself.

I convinced him, paying a plus (order as if they were 40 cm cable length) for the extra work, and told him my desired length for each one.

He said: I must point out that we will do our best to make the cables you desire, but we never make cables this small, we always refuse to make them as they do not sit well. Our attention to detail and quality cables has earned us a very good reputation. All orders are made with great care and attention so, I am sorry we cannot be responsible if you feel that that they are not as short as you anticipated. We will do our best to make them small but I need to confirm with you that you are happy for us to proceed bearing in mind the contents of this email.

After more than 30 working days, I received the following lengths and a perfect job:
ATX24 20cm
EPS8 30cm
PCI6 30cm
PCI8 30cm

92 GBP (105 EUR)
 

galletabah

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
236
Got the price info from my blog... and there is some nuance.




Some people ask me about the cables:

Pexon only makes cables nice and tidy, so they refuse to make too short cables.

He said: I would not be happy with the 24 pin on the SFX unit at <40cm myself, I only let items/ cables out the door that are perfect and something that I would be happy to get myself.

I convinced him, paying a plus (order as if they were 40 cm cable length) for the extra work, and told him my desired length for each one.

He said: I must point out that we will do our best to make the cables you desire, but we never make cables this small, we always refuse to make them as they do not sit well. Our attention to detail and quality cables has earned us a very good reputation. All orders are made with great care and attention so, I am sorry we cannot be responsible if you feel that that they are not as short as you anticipated. We will do our best to make them small but I need to confirm with you that you are happy for us to proceed bearing in mind the contents of this email.

After more than 30 working days, I received the following lengths and a perfect job:
ATX24 20cm
EPS8 30cm
PCI6 30cm
PCI8 30cm

92 GBP (105 EUR)
You have a mp!
 

David A4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
148
How hard is custom cables to do yourself? i read up a bit on it and the stigma comes from potentially botching the whole thing up if your connections arent right.

I want to try for an angular cable style with hard 90 degree angles.
 

galletabah

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
236
How hard is custom cables to do yourself? i read up a bit on it and the stigma comes from potentially botching the whole thing up if your connections arent right.

I want to try for an angular cable style with hard 90 degree angles.
I took like 12-14H to make 24 pin white sleeved.
If you dont sleev and only make the cables, 3-4h probably
 

FinBuilder

n00b
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
41
How hard is custom cables to do yourself? i read up a bit on it and the stigma comes from potentially botching the whole thing up if your connections arent right.

I want to try for an angular cable style with hard 90 degree angles.

I once did that kind of cable, that I think you mean. I hadn't made any cables before. Just find enough info before you start and you can do it yourself. Although you might get better quality if you buy cables from somewhere. But I'm satisfied with the quality that I managed to get with my own cables. And now I can say that I have made my own cables. :D Here is couple poor quality pictures of my ATX24 cable. (and EPS8)



Every "pair" was same length, and every pair was shortened evenly. Don't remember how much did I shortened every pair. I think I measured the shortest and the longest length and then divided the difference even with the last pairs...
 

David A4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
148
Whats the best free CAD software out right now? And what's the most reasonably priced for quality? I want to design my own addon to the DanCase.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
30
Might be too late for this suggestion, but it would be cool if at the end somebody slipped it into a Wallye Duffle and walked away.

The Wallye Duffle is much larger then the Dan A4-SFX. The Tenba BYOB 13 is the right size, and is about half the volume of the Wallye.

https://www.amazon.com/Tenba-636-224-BYOB-13-Camera/dp/B00KT7G9UY

The Lowepro Event Messanger 250 is also the right size if you cut out the tablet pocket. This bag has doubled in price since many of us bought it last year, and is out of stock on Lowepro.com

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0077B403S/

With Premium shipment to US is 5 working days vs 15 working days.

Is that drop-shipping from Taiwan or is that coming from Germany so it can be blessed, re-boxed, VAT'ed, and taxed?

Dondan, upon shipment, is it possible to under declare the package to around 100euro or less?

I doubt that would be economical, as that would require 3 shipments (side panels, frame, PCIe riser).
 

Ark :o

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 7, 2006
Messages
224
Halp!

I really want to buy a Dan A4-SFX v2, but I foresee myself splurging and building a Threadripper box sometime late this year/early next, which will certainly not fit in any ITX case.

What do, [H]?! (both is my choice, but not an option!)
 

David A4

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2016
Messages
148
The Wallye Duffle is much larger then the Dan A4-SFX. The Tenba BYOB 13 is the right size, and is about half the volume of the Wallye.

https://www.amazon.com/Tenba-636-224-BYOB-13-Camera/dp/B00KT7G9UY

The Lowepro Event Messanger 250 is also the right size if you cut out the tablet pocket. This bag has doubled in price since many of us bought it last year, and is out of stock on Lowepro.com

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0077B403S/



Is that drop-shipping from Taiwan or is that coming from Germany so it can be blessed, re-boxed, VAT'ed, and taxed?



I doubt that would be economical, as that would require 3 shipments (side panels, frame, PCIe riser).
Under declaring wont work well, it's going to cause whichever countries customs department to stop the package in it's track to confirm the value.
 

Rysen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
407
Whats the best free CAD software out right now? And what's the most reasonably priced for quality? I want to design my own addon to the DanCase.
If you are student you can get any autodesk CAD software. Otherwise I would say get a free trial from autodesk or use sketchup.
 

takeavvay

n00b
Joined
May 30, 2017
Messages
4
Hey dan, will there be an option for us on kickstarter if we do the plan to not use the front USB to instead use an aio cooler to have the front panel completely flat instead of having an empty hole?
 

Kbird27

n00b
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
42
Hey dan, will there be an option for us on kickstarter if we do the plan to not use the front USB to instead use an aio cooler to have the front panel completely flat instead of having an empty hole?

Just buy a rubber stopper for USB port. That should work pretty well.
 

Da_Tute

n00b
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
1
So just to check - if the user goes for the Asetek AIO cooler, we lose the front USB functionality and have to cut part of the plastic inside the case?

Is there really no way to save the front USB port?
 

maven1975

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
31
So just to check - if the user goes for the Asetek AIO cooler, we lose the front USB functionality and have to cut part of the plastic inside the case?

Is there really no way to save the front USB port?

The USB slot can still be used if you heavily modify the cable.

However, the AIO works well with Dan's X99 board because of the ram slot locations.

On z270 boards, it requires the hoses to cross over the ram. If you have high profile ram, it will not work. Also, if you have RGB ram, prepare to have hoses cross over them.

The cooler works and the v1 case can be easily modified to work with it.

The real pain is the cable management. Again, Dan's x99 board has its 24pin in a different location. 24pin location on z270 Is a nightmare with stock cables. (Corsair SF600)

I would not get too excited about the AIO cooler at this point. We need lower profile cables for our power supplies right off the bat.

One more thing...

If you have an EVGA 1080ti FTW 3 and try to use this cooler you have to pop open the top RGB strip so that the top clip of the case can remain on an working. (Case snaps into this)

The bottom two back clips must be removed (but can be replaced if you decide not to use the AIO) to allow the radiator to sit flush. Using the two bottom screws on the case would eliminate issues caused by removing these clips.

Let me know if you have any questions
 

Kbird27

n00b
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
42
The USB slot can still be used if you heavily modify the cable.

However, the AIO works well with Dan's X99 board because of the ram slot locations....

Seems like the dan cooler will be the best bet if the only compromise is VLP ram. I want a nice easy install, so i'm going SC2 and most likely a dan cooler.
 
Last edited:

mikelorant

n00b
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
14
I have contacted Cablemod about the quality issues. Hopefully will hear something back in the next few days. Confident they will sort this out as from other posts in this forum, there is clearly a problem we are all experiencing when purchasing cables from them.
 

Necere

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 3, 2003
Messages
2,745

maven1975

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
31
I just checked out the x299e-itx.

It has dang riser cards on both sides of the CPU socket! Hopefully it can be used without these if desired. The one in question houses a m.2 and SATA3 connectors.


This positioning may also pose an issue depending on final spec height.
 
Last edited:

maven1975

n00b
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
31
Dondan installed the Asetek AIO with the ASRock X99 ITX board, which has the RAM along the edge of the board closest to the bottom. This allows for a gap between the RAM and the PSU to run the hoses. The point made by maven1975 is that there may not be enough space for the hoses if the RAM is in the more typical place along the front edge of the board.

This is exactly what I was speaking about ^

It's not completely impossible....

It can be done with the z270 Strix and Trident RGB setup, but the hoses block a good portion of the RGB lighting.

A 52mm hole saw and 60mm fan grill is all you need to modify the case. This leaves all the other mounting holes intact and usable. If you wanted to use a larger drill bit to punch holes in the bottom, it would give the same effect as Dan's v2.

The main problem is still ram height, and power supply cables. Would be killer to find a low profile 24pin cable for the sf600. This cable poses the largest problem when trying to keep it away from the Noctua fan on the AIO radiator.
 

Petroj

n00b
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
33
I'm devastated. On tuesday I had finally gotten hold of all my parts (waiting the longest for the Biostar X370GTN) and the Cryorig C7 AM4 bracket. I put all the components in the case and was so happy. But... I only ran the system quickly as a test without the side panels on. Yesterday when I put them on I realized the Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ is a few millimeters too thick. When I started the PC I heard the fans scratching against the side panel. I have contacted the retailer so that I can send the card back and get a refund. The problem is there suddenly is a shortage of RX 580s and 570s here in Sweden (But not last week!). Might just go and grab a RX 480 (even though it's a cooler that hasn't really gotten the best reviews, I just want a working rig! :()
 

jenosmaverick

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
142
dondan
Uhmm will a Gigabyte Aorus 1060 fit in the case? Really love the Evga but I just don't like it's aesthetics. Thanks :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
10
I'm devastated. On tuesday I had finally gotten hold of all my parts (waiting the longest for the Biostar X370GTN) and the Cryorig C7 AM4 bracket. I put all the components in the case and was so happy. But... I only ran the system quickly as a test without the side panels on. Yesterday when I put them on I realized the Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ is a few millimeters too thick. When I started the PC I heard the fans scratching against the side panel. I have contacted the retailer so that I can send the card back and get a refund. The problem is there suddenly is a shortage of RX 580s and 570s here in Sweden (But not last week!). Might just go and grab a RX 480 (even though it's a cooler that hasn't really gotten the best reviews, I just want a working rig! :()

I have the RX570 Nitro+ 8GB and its working fine. I was under the impression that it is the same cooler as with the 580. Maybe you can check your installation? I had some trouble to screw the GPU to the case at the back but after some time I managed to get it right.
 

Petroj

n00b
Joined
Oct 17, 2016
Messages
33
I have the RX570 Nitro+ 8GB and its working fine. I was under the impression that it is the same cooler as with the 580. Maybe you can check your installation? I had some trouble to screw the GPU to the case at the back but after some time I managed to get it right.

Wow, really? While looking at Prisjakt (The swedish PriceSpy site) it says that the RX 580 Nitro+ is 43mm (2,2 slots) thick (or wide I guess) and that the RX 570 Nitro+ is the same. But looking at for example pricespy.co.nz it says that RX 580 Nitro+ is 2,2 slots (without any measurement) while the RX 570 Nitro+ is 2 slots.

I had to google for a review and found some "Product photos" of the RX 570 Nitro+ in the Guru3D review and they sure look the same. The cooler shroud stands out a few millimeters more than the GPU bracket. I have to remount the GPU tonight and see if I can manage to get it to work after all. Now you really have gotten my hopes up, thanks! :)
 

TinySeth

n00b
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
6
dondan


I know you're busy, but it would be great to get a simple yes or no on the Power button situation.

Is it completely the same from V1? asking because of the review by LinusTechTips saying it's kind of wobbly without tactile feedback.

Thanks!

(backer#600ish :) )
 
Top