Damn 7820x is impressive (my own chip)

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by tangoseal, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. andrvad

    andrvad n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Godammit...think my motherboard broke :(. Delidded my 7820x (which went fine), and now it refuses to boot, showing code 00. Upon closer inspection one or more of the socket pins have been bent.

    Ordered a Asus TUF Mk II, which will arrive next week. Just praying that it ain't the CPU that's broken...
     
  2. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,790
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Watch some videos on youtube about how to straighten the pins. It might be restorable.
     
    Shadowed likes this.
  3. andrvad

    andrvad n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Already tried, one of the pins is sort of bent in an s-shape. Gonna need some finer tools to straighten that out.
     
  4. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,782
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Get a big magnifying glass too.
     
    Wyodiver likes this.
  5. BrainEater

    BrainEater Gawd

    Messages:
    753
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    +1
    You want one of those round desktop magnifying lights.
    You also want a pair of super small tweezers....I bought a pair that are like 2 pins on the end.(20$)

    I've done it, it's possible, Good Luck !
    ----
    Rule #1 of fixing things :
    It's already broken.Don't worry about breaking it further , at least try.

    :D
     
  6. caltech31

    caltech31 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    That sucks man, hope that it is just the board - it is very rare to destroy the CPU. Did you ever get it to post after the delid? Or have you yet to confirm that it was successful?
     
  7. andrvad

    andrvad n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    No, no post at all. Just fans spinning and LEDs, and code 00 on the debug LED screen. Should have the new mobo by wednesday, so will be able to confirm then.
     
  8. Budwise

    Budwise [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,752
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    My 7700K rig died so I tried out a Ryzen 1800X and wasn't all that impressed. That mobo and CPU are going back to Fry's since my 7820X and Asrock Taichi XE just arrived. Running under a Fractal Design S24 and yea, it's warm running RealBench, it gets to ~80C pretty quick. I'm happy though, I just set it to MultiCore Enhancement so all 8 cores clock to 4.5Ghz and it's plenty. I don't feel the need to push volts and try for more these days. Back in the day of 1Ghz overclocks sure, but for 200Mhz more, I'm good here.

    I have 2X 16GB DDR4 3200 sticks so I'm in dual channel for now. From what I've read the performance difference to quad is pretty tiny and I got these back when ram was still reasonable prices..

    TLDR, it's warm, but a really nice chip. At the new price of $450 at Newegg I don't see why it's not flying off the shelves.
     
    tangoseal likes this.
  9. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,790
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Its a very very fast chip for multithreaded work as well as gaming. With a delid I am able to run 4.7ghz all cores and no more than 55c under full load water cooled. Before delid it was an easy 90c in the first 3 secs of any real workload.

    The quad channel ram has no performance benefit outside of the most demanding and extremely limited workstation application scenarios. However, it sure as hell looks nice to load up 4 or even 8 slots with an RGB ram of your choice. I prefer G Skill Ram for the looks, but thy're all about the same performance wise.

    Of course you also get extra PCIe lanes. I am running dual 1080ti cards in my 7820x and the top card gets 16 and the bottom gets 8 so my cards have zero bottleneck.

    All in all the 7820x is a wonderful processor and it fills the perfect spot for those of us that want 8 cores that are fast as hell but do not want to spend an arm and a leg to get. With the benefit of quad channel ram (aesthetic of course) and theoretically enhancing performance (theory :p)

    Enjoy it. I do not plan to upgrade my cpu until the next gen or more drop in is available, pending Intel still supports X299.
     
    Montu and Budwise like this.
  10. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    344
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Ram density is nice bc I have to move Kubernetes workloads around.
    VMs are still a thing, and I want to be able to pull down the AWS AMI 2 for specific builds.
    None of my Sr colleagues are ok with the $ of transmitting large volumes when we want to start answering ?'s like "how does Redis 5.0 work when we have X records @ Y velocity in Z use case"

    Besides that the 7820x is a capable gamer and I can alt-tab to actual work when Slack starts freaking.
     
    tangoseal likes this.
  11. andrvad

    andrvad n00bie

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Anybody undervolt their CPU? Whats your results?
     
  12. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,790
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Oh it's more than a capable gamer. It's on par with the newest CFL chips. I OC my 7820x to 4.7 and my 8600k to 4.7 and they both turn nearly the exact same single thread score in CB 15. And my 8600k has 3200mhz ram cl16 and my 7820x has 3000mhz cl16.

    7820x_Single_Thread.png


    20171126_045122.jpg
     
  13. Budwise

    Budwise [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,752
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    At stock settings with multi-core enhancement (lazy mans OC) on I was at 4.5Ghz on all cores with 1.242 volts. That is of course the auto vcore which is pretty high.

    So far I'm down to 1.2v and temps have dropped a bit already, probably around 3-4C load lower running a few hour increments on RealBench to verify stability. I've seen that most can go down to 1v at 4Ghz but @ 4.5Ghz I'm guessing I won't get too much lower than this.
     
  14. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,790
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I run 4.7 all core but I use speedstep and C states so I downclock when no load is on the chip to save wear tear and energy.

    I run adaptive voltage and mine hums along at 1.23-24 volts on average. I am also delidded so that helps immensely with stability and heat removal. I am using a Prime Deluxe mobo so it has great power delivery and I use a full monoblock to pull heat out of my VRMs and CPU at the same time.
     
  15. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,782
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    I can run 4.7 around 1.23v as well. But man I gotta share that the bios' on the MSI x299 board blows chunks big time. The bios is so buggy it adds tens of hours onto my tinkering fun. The biggest bug is that it sometimes doesn't save settings randomly so it won't pass boot up checks, which forces you back into the bios defaults. Fricking annoying as hell when I know this chip will do 5.0ghz on this board as I've benched at that before. But sometimes it will just wig the eff out and stop booting. MSi needs to hire some Asus bios testers asap.

    https://hardforum.com/threads/damn-7820x-is-impressive-my-own-chip.1947682/page-4#post-1043407642
     
    Montu likes this.
  16. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    7,013
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Same. My Gigabyte board runs my 7820X@4.7ghz all day long fully loaded with 1.23v and it's solid as a rock.
     
  17. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,790
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I've got an x299 prime deluxe. Solid
     
  18. Darkswordz

    Darkswordz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Latest test at 4.8Ghz CPU, 2.9Ghz Mesh, & 3000 CL16 RAM.

    I'm running AUTO voltage in the BIOS, and CPU-Z always shows it at 1.180v, so I'm not exactly sure what the true voltage is.

    5br9c6.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
  19. TahoeDust

    TahoeDust Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    356
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Careful with that. You really should want to know what the actualy voltage is.
     
  20. Darkswordz

    Darkswordz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    420
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    I just checked with Aida64 and the BIOS and it said my voltage was at 2.100v! :eek: But that just can't be right. I'd think the CPU would explode if that were the case.

    Can anyone help me understand these voltage readings? I went back in and set my voltage to "Manual" and 1.350v, which is what CPU-Z now shows. But Aida64 shows two readings, one for CPU Core (1.808) and one for CPU VID (1.350). Which one is really accurate?

    For what it's worth, after setting the core voltage to "Manual" the system wouldn't load at 1.300v at all. I had to bump it up to 1.350v even for 4.5Ghz.

    8xlcgn.jpg
     
  21. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Someone is having way too much fun! lol. That is a wicked computer, well done and good job! I used two x-acto knifes to fix bent pins on a socket 2011, very much nerve racking but it went smooth. I have a buddy who got a 7820x around the same time as I got my 8700k, it is impressive what the extra 2 cores can do.
     
  22. AlexisRO

    AlexisRO Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    145
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Both are but they are different. CPU Core is VCCIN voltage. What you're setting is the VID one. For 4,5ghz 1.35v is a lot. You either have a dud or you're overvolting your CPU unnecessarily. Heck even 1.3v seems alot. You should be in the region of 1.25v max. Reset your bios, see what the baseline VID is for your CPU and start from there.
     
    Shadowed likes this.
  23. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,782
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Wow, read the guides posted earlier! My goodness man you are doing it wrong. This platform is better on auto than not trying at all as with manual. You almost don't even need to mess with voltages as it will set itself to near minimum voltage on auto. Once set to auto, check voltages, note amounts, then trim down using offset, then -, then amount. Read the videos and guides posted in thread.
     
  24. TahoeDust

    TahoeDust Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    356
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    I'm still really happy with my 7820x. It is a monster of an 8-core. I am curious to see what intel will bring out in the future that will work with x299. Any thoughts of when we will see something?
     
  25. Gideon

    Gideon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,487
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    I dont think your going to find much better for awhile, I dont think 10nm chips are going to offer you enough of a bump for you to be worth it and 7nm stuff is highly unlikely to work on your board. But who knows maybe Intel has a rabbit up their sleeves.