Cyberpunk is Available - Lets share how your GPU/CPU is performing

jhatfie

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 19, 2003
Messages
1,558
See Sig for Rig. Limited playing/testing so far, so take results with that in mind.
@ 4k. All settings ON except film grain (Not sure I like it), Everything set to High, except Volumetric Clouds - Med, Mirror Quality - Med, Local Shadow Quality - Med, AO - Low, CAS scaling 90%. Average 60-65fps most the time, sometimes into the 70's, some occasional dips into the high 50's.
 

t1337duder

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
161
I’ve seen this reported and I am not seeing it on my setup. SDR looks worse in every way. It may only be for people using HDMI output, because on my X27 my black levels are fine.
Echo'ing this. HDR has the bright high-lights and perfectly dark blacks on my setup. It's not like RDR2's initial fake implementation of HDR - this HDR actually works, and looks at least on par with RDR2's re-implementation. It might not be perfect, but there's a clear improvement over SD. The HDR complaints I've heard were on Playstation and Xbox - which might have issues of their own.
 

repoman0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
1,172
Echo'ing this. HDR has the bright high-lights and perfectly dark blacks on my setup. It's not like RDR2's initial fake implementation of HDR - this HDR actually works, and looks at least on par with RDR2's re-implementation. It might not be perfect, but there's a clear improvement over SD. The HDR complaints I've heard were on Playstation and Xbox - which might have issues of their own.

PC HDR is without a doubt broken as well, at least on my 3080 + LG CX setup. The game will not show true black, which is really easy to spot on an OLED. It’a a scaled SDR image. That said it still looks better than SDR mode and it will be even more awesome on a later play through when they fix it.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,283
Everything is performing great with my 3700X and RX5700. However, I am stuck at the point where you take the military dog robot, I cannot get beyond the area after you drop down onto a landing. This game is not always easy.

Edit: The all foods escape mission. I cannot believe I am already going to have to at least watch a video at least a bit to see how to escape, I am missing something probably obvious.
 
Last edited:

ocbaud

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 3, 2000
Messages
5,910
Everything is performing great with my 3700X and RX5700. However, I am stuck at the point where you take the military dog robot, I cannot get beyond the area after you drop down onto a landing. This game is not always easy.

Edit: The all foods escape mission. I cannot believe I am already going to have to at least watch a video at least a bit to see how to escape, I am missing something probably obvious.
ff1.jpg


isn't this always the answer?
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
7,025
So I was enjoying ray tracing on the more story / indoor areas. Now that I'm trying the city side-missions, it's getting like 45 fps, not really playable.

I changed the settings to high pre-set with RT off and DLSS on performance. This gets me to around 80 fps in city or 100 in doors. Much better experience.
 

zechs3

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
298
Rig in the sig. I am getting 62 - 67 in populated areas. And 70's on highways.

I have everything on high/ultra including RTX, using DLSS quality.

Pretty good so far, tried OC'ing my 5600x but it made little difference.
Unless I was running and jumping around the most populated areas of the game... in which case it prevented noticeable dips to the 50 fps range.
 

d3athf1sh

Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
826
CP2077 v1.04
3800X / 980ti oc'd / 32GB DDR4 3666 c16 1:1 (micron e-die)
52-62fps
1080p High w/ motion blur & depth of field: disabled
never drops below 50 and this is without the AMD hex editor mod. which i'm hoping CDPR will be patching out in 1.05 but for now runs really smooth so i'm not messing with it.

incase anyone else was interested in the AMD fix: https://www.techspot.com/amp/news/8...unk-2077-yields-double-digit-performance.html
 

ocbaud

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 3, 2000
Messages
5,910
7700k @ 5ghz
16gb ddr4
samsung evo 970 ssd
Evga 2080 Super (+200mem/+40gpu)
4k


With the High Preset selected and all shadows set to medium + DLSS set on balanced, I'm getting a steady 60fps in every area. Game looks amazing on those settings. For screenshots, I bump it all up to Ultra and end up getting 22fps with DLSS on Quality setting.
 

fist003

n00b
Joined
Mar 29, 2020
Messages
42
8086k @ 5ghz
32gb ddr4
samsung evo 970 ssd
zotac 2060
1440p.

Ultra preset with DLSS quality. Film grain & Chromatic aberration off. gets around 50 fps
 

ZeqOBpf6

Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
719
wtf am I doing wrong

RTX 3070
6600k @ 4.5ghz
16GB ram
1440p
Lowest settings for everything, RTX off and DLSS either off or auto:
If I'm in a car and move my mouse around aka look my 1% drops to 12FPS with no other programs running.

I also noticed the "texture quality" right below the preset is often not there.

This is super frustrating though.
 

ManofGod

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
12,283
wtf am I doing wrong

RTX 3070
6600k @ 4.5ghz
16GB ram
1440p
Lowest settings for everything, RTX off and DLSS either off or auto:
If I'm in a car and move my mouse around aka look my 1% drops to 12FPS with no other programs running.

I also noticed the "texture quality" right below the preset is often not there.

This is super frustrating though.

Do a completely new install of Windows on another drive, run Chris Titus Tech debloat scripts, install the drivers and game and see how it is. I think it is your cpu but, I could be wrong.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,267
wtf am I doing wrong

RTX 3070
6600k @ 4.5ghz
16GB ram
1440p
Lowest settings for everything, RTX off and DLSS either off or auto:
If I'm in a car and move my mouse around aka look my 1% drops to 12FPS with no other programs running.

I also noticed the "texture quality" right below the preset is often not there.

This is super frustrating though.
There is something up with this game's performance when panning around. I have a 3090 and I experience it, too. Obviously not to the same extreme, but it's significant.
At least on my system, the fog and smoke effects are the biggest performance killers. Panning around with lots of smoke/fog/steam/etc. onscreen or even close by is choppy as hell unless I lower those settings down to low or even off.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,283
There is something up with this game's performance when panning around. I have a 3090 and I experience it, too. Obviously not to the same extreme, but it's significant.
At least on my system, the fog and smoke effects are the biggest performance killers. Panning around with lots of smoke/fog/steam/etc. onscreen or even close by is choppy as hell unless I lower those settings down to low or even off.

Yeah I have a 3090 and a 6900xt now. Going to return my 3090 soon but I see the same thing you report on both cards. THis game is just too far reaching for what they wanted to do. In my opinion all that fog and steam etc... actually makes the game look like a bucket of shit.
 

Slade

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Messages
2,764
I've been running a lot of side missions in the city and lowest I see is 61 fps in the crowds with RT reflections. Most of the time I am in the 70's to 80's. I opted not to continue main story for the moment but just see how gameplay is until more driver/game fixes but I am seriously impressed for what it is so far. The hex fix was more a solution to the min fps on the ryzen 5k series, prior to it, I think I saw a few instances of 58 fps in high density zones with RT reflections in play in some puddles.

For the all foods escape, I just fought my way out. It looks like in combat, your cybernetics overheat as you are in combat. I noticed this in normal extended street fights where I was sniping from a good spot, but kept overheating as my character was in combat. This kinda makes sense as one of your skill trees has "cool" on it and I don't think it is simply about stealth but literally keeping you cool.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
27
wtf am I doing wrong

RTX 3070
6600k @ 4.5ghz
16GB ram
1440p
Lowest settings for everything, RTX off and DLSS either off or auto:
If I'm in a car and move my mouse around aka look my 1% drops to 12FPS with no other programs running.

I also noticed the "texture quality" right below the preset is often not there.

This is super frustrating though.
Your 6600k is probably the culprit.

Checkout the Gamers Nexus video with CPU benchmarks in Cyberpunk 2077:


The 8600k and 3300x both get mentions for having really bad playability ruining frametime spikes. Your 6600k is a good bit slower than both these CPUs, so I'm going to guess this is what you're experiencing.
 

ocbaud

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 3, 2000
Messages
5,910
I've been running a lot of side missions in the city and lowest I see is 61 fps in the crowds with RT reflections. Most of the time I am in the 70's to 80's. I opted not to continue main story for the moment but just see how gameplay is until more driver/game fixes but I am seriously impressed for what it is so far. The hex fix was more a solution to the min fps on the ryzen 5k series, prior to it, I think I saw a few instances of 58 fps in high density zones with RT reflections in play in some puddles.

For the all foods escape, I just fought my way out. It looks like in combat, your cybernetics overheat as you are in combat. I noticed this in normal extended street fights where I was sniping from a good spot, but kept overheating as my character was in combat. This kinda makes sense as one of your skill trees has "cool" on it and I don't think it is simply about stealth but literally keeping you cool.

Nah, if you're catching on fire, it's because you're being hacked. There is a cyberdeck plugin you can gain later to do the same to others.
I'm doing the same though, just playing side missions unless my wife is up to watch. She's enjoying the main story also.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
58,023
Lol...remember this?

View attachment 310330

I guess i7-6700 was a lie.

Here are some basic numbers I've seen so far: At 4K using the RT Ultra preset on a GeForce RTX 3090 FE I saw an average of around 40-45FPS on a Ryzen 9 3900X and about 55FPS using an Intel Core i9 10900K. (I need to look into that more, as that's quite a difference when you should be primarily GPU bound.) At 4K with a 2080 Super and a 10900K, the game wasn't really playable in my opinion. Using ray tracing on a 2080 Super, the game was flat unplayable. At 3440x1440 using a 3950X and an RTX 2080 Ti, I get 45FPS using the RT Ultra preset. In potato mode (1080P, low) it runs extremely well on pretty much anything.

I have increased the CPU and GPU memory pool sizes, but haven't seen much in the way of gains doing that. I think the frame rates are far more consistent when those settings are altered. It's the same deal with the SMT fix. You really needn't bother if you have a 3900X or 3950X. It's done basically nothing in my testing.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,711
I'm using an i7 9700 (non-K) which isn't exactly amazing, and it's been holding up pretty well. I'm running at 1080 though on a 2070 Super. Still using RT Ultra with a few settings lowered or turned off. AO is low. AA is lowered. Blur is on lowest. (most of everything else is on whatever ultra puts it at) DLSS auto so far, but I may start playing with some settings this weekend for fun.
 

Domingo

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
19,267
I don't really think my OC'd 8700K is causing (m)any issues because at 4K it should be mostly GPU-bound. It's also not one of the "problem children" GN listed anyway.
I feel like some of the differences in people's experiences are related to their tolerance for things like no vsync (of if they're using gsync/freesync) as well as fps fluctuation or even higher/lower fps in general. My wife can barely notice in-game visual fluctuations that full-on set me off.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
418
Even playing at 4K, I notice all 16 threads of my CPU will sit at about 45% usage.... certainly a CPU demanding game on top of GPU demanding.
 

tangoseal

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
9,283
I'll try this game on my son's Radeon 5600xt and then I will pull his GPU and use it on the CPU in his box which is a 3400g APU lol ... i'll do it later. I am curious just how low can we go. APU baby!
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,711
I'll try this game on my son's Radeon 5600xt and then I will pull his GPU and use it on the CPU in his box which is a 3400g APU lol ... i'll do it later. I am curious just how low can we go. APU baby!

It will be interesting to see that’s for sure. Simulation of the consoles that it’s underperforming on. Give or take a bit. (using the APU graphics)

I’m actually fairly impressed by the 3400G in general. My daughter has one, and she can play most games just fine with decent settings.
 

t1337duder

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2014
Messages
161
Decided to turn of RT for my RTX 3080 and set DLSS to balanced with Digital Foundry's recommended settings.

This game rocks hard at 100+ FPS.
I'm curious, and I'm not trying to knock anyone's preferences but rather understand them - what's the appeal of prioritizing super high FPS over graphical fidelity in this game? It's not competitively multiplayer, it's not a twitch-based shooter - hell, it's not even a hard game. Smooth motion is certainly appealing, but you can literally experience that in any other game which runs better. On the other hand, this is the only game you can experience at the moment that reaches the current graphical peak with the settings turned up and RT on. From my 7 hours with the game I think someone playing at 30FPS wouldn't be particularly missing out (I'm averaging 50-60 on my 3090 with everything maxed and DLSS set to Performance).
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,716
I'm curious, and I'm not trying to knock anyone's preferences but rather understand them - what's the appeal of prioritizing super high FPS over graphical fidelity in this game? It's not competitively multiplayer, it's not a twitch-based shooter - hell, it's not even a hard game. Smooth motion is certainly appealing, but you can literally experience that in any other game which runs better. On the other hand, this is the only game you can experience at the moment that reaches the current graphical peak with the settings turned up and RT on. From my 7 hours with the game I think someone playing at 30FPS wouldn't be particularly missing out (I'm averaging 50-60 on my 3090 with everything maxed and DLSS set to Performance).
I agree. This is where we lean heavily on DLSS and G-Sync/Freesync and turn off the FPS monitoring software. Crank up the settings and let DLSS and G-Sync handle it.
 

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
7,025
I'm curious, and I'm not trying to knock anyone's preferences but rather understand them - what's the appeal of prioritizing super high FPS over graphical fidelity in this game? It's not competitively multiplayer, it's not a twitch-based shooter - hell, it's not even a hard game. Smooth motion is certainly appealing, but you can literally experience that in any other game which runs better. On the other hand, this is the only game you can experience at the moment that reaches the current graphical peak with the settings turned up and RT on. From my 7 hours with the game I think someone playing at 30FPS wouldn't be particularly missing out (I'm averaging 50-60 on my 3090 with everything maxed and DLSS set to Performance).
I originally went balls to the wall with ultra and full ray tracing. It did look nice, and I was surprised the 2080 Ti could still keep up at around 60 fps (3440x1440).

However, once I got to the open world sections, populated city areas, etc. it was dropping to around 40 fps, for me unacceptable.

I've been on high refresh for a while, and under 90 fps starts to feel choppy. I could accept if it was 60 fps locked, but dropping to 45 fps (probably in a fight scene, when you need the performance) ruined the game.
 
Top