Crossover or Patch Cable ?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by cwolf78, May 1, 2007.

  1. cwolf78

    cwolf78 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    I am installing a CAT5 wall jack that will be fed from my router... what type of network cable do I need to use between the router and the jack ?
    Thanks !
     
  2. jvlazzar

    jvlazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    a patch, or straight-through cable. they are used to connect unlike devices, ie computer > router. a crossover is used to connect like devices, ie router > router, switch > switch.
     
  3. Xeth

    Xeth [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,624
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Doesn't matter, all ethernet ports are auto-sensing now. (but patch cable would be the correct answer)
     
  4. cwolf78

    cwolf78 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    That's what I needed to know ... thanks ! :D
     
  5. Voltron

    Voltron Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006

    It does matter.
     
  6. unix_foo

    unix_foo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2002
    Technically.. computer to router you need a crossover. But I know you are talking about a switchport on a router w/ builtin switch.
     
  7. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,330
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Without knowing what's on the other end of this wall jack.....it's impossible to answer this. "Probably" a straight cable...but again..without knowing...I mean, someone could have done something screwy on the other end...we're all probably "assuming" that it does to a standard patch panel, and/or switch....but without knowing....it's all just a guessing game.

    Combined with most newer hardware is all auto direction sensing...just plug it in until you get link lights. :p
     
  8. KaosDG

    KaosDG [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,944
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2000

    Or, your wiring contractor may have hired sub-par wiring monkeys who wired half your jacks as 568b and punched them to the wall panel in a random spread of 568a, 568b, or just plain... "whichever color i grabbed first"

    :mad: :mad:
     
  9. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Yea.. I hate people that do that. Just happened today while installing a new VOIP/IP Telephony system. In one office the phone would not come up but when I plugged the cable directly into her PC it worked fine..scratched my head and checked the ends on the cable, sure enough someone had put a x-over cable from the wall plate to the pc. It worked fine, but wouldn't work fine for my PoE IP Phone.

    Like my dad always says, "If your going to do something, do it right the first time"
     
  10. Sharaz Jek

    Sharaz Jek Gawd

    Messages:
    647
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    only gigabit ports do this.
     
  11. J-Mag

    J-Mag 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,640
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Huh? I've seen 10/100 routers with autosensing ports.
     
  12. WesM63

    WesM63 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,266
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
  13. k1pp3r

    k1pp3r [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,881
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Yay for color blind cable guys!!
     
  14. Diablo2K

    Diablo2K [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,599
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    You can't assume someone will have hardware with autosensing ports, you got to wire the job right. All lazy people do is cause more work for everyone else!
     
  15. MavsX

    MavsX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
  16. movax

    movax 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,676
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Very true; luckily all my hardware is auto MDI/MDI-X (the switch running the ports in the house is, which is a *huge* plus luckily), and most modern network stuff is...I think.
     
  17. cwolf78

    cwolf78 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    456
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    I will be plugging in a DVR system that will hook to my DSL/Cable router...