Crossfire R9 290 Wattage?

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
So I have a Corsair TX750 and want to run 2 x R9 290's with 3rd Party Air Coolers. Am I going to be okay? or do I need a new PSU?

I don't run my cpu (2500K) overclocked, but I may in the future once I see a bottle neck.

I also have 3 mechanical drives (2x3.5" and 1x2.5"). Rest of pc in sig.
 

bigbeard86

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
291
Just from an educated guess, i would say 750watt would be pushing it too close. Even if it was enough, would you want your psu to run so close to max wattage? If there is a way to easily measure total system consumption, i could help you out, as i recently got a pair of 290's (i'm using a 1000watt psu).
 

sk3tch

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
1,906
May not be much of a help, but I ran 2x 290X OC'd with an i5 2500K @ 4.6 GHz on a Lepa G900 900W PSU. That Corsair PSU of yours is pretty solid. You will likely be pushing it...

Here's a good thread by SonDa5 about his power utilization with a single 290X...should help you make the call.

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1790364
 

suiken_2mieu

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 7, 2010
Messages
2,910
It's still hard to tell, sigh, what would be the worse thing to happen if I just popped the two in there and 750 Watt wasn't enough?
 

greyjoy

n00b
Joined
Nov 8, 2013
Messages
7
What about 850w gold certificate psu for 2 r9 290? will that be enough? Sorry bout hijacking the thread.
 

bigbeard86

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
291
the best thing both of you can do is to simply try it, but, keeping in mind, you may need to shell out extra money for a psu. if you do not have extra money for the psu, I would not get them then, because, you would not want to have two cards, and only be able to use one. remember, you can always sell your psu if you do have to buy a new one to cut costs a bit.
 

klljm

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 30, 2004
Messages
108
1k+. i got my 290 up to 1053mhz with +30% powertune and on furmark i was pulling 590watts with just the 1 card, my 2500k @ 4.5 and 1 hd and 1 sd... add another 220+ watts if you oc even a little for a second... you need lots more head room to be safe.. i gotta upgrade my trusty dusty antec 850 as well b4 i go crossfire...
 
Top