Creating Reloadable WXP HDD Master-Image

Karant

Gawd
Hi there everybody! I have no experience in this department other then setting up ghost sessions at school for reloading WXP HDD master-image's on computers over network, although can anyone help me out and suggest the most practical / easiest way to create a master image of my WXP installation (including drivers, software, documents) that I can store on a seperate hard-drive / partition for easy re-deployment? Thanks!

Thanks for the help but let me clarify this image is only being deployed on the same single system I made the image on, I just want an image I can deploy every month so I have a relatively clean install all the time. Y'know?

While I'm not 100% sure of this, I think that Sysprep and some other tools are what would be involved. I can tell you how to do images using something like Acronis True Image or Norton Ghost, that's easy, but there are aspects of creating a massive amount of 'em for a network of machines that Sysprep is designed to handle. I'll defer on this one to another person that might have more info; I never really got into image deployment over networks in my career, but I retired from "the grind" of I.T. back around 1999 soooo... now I just work for myself. :D

It should be relatively easy to do with readily available tools, however.

Thansk for the response! Once again I'll clarify that I am using this for a single computer, of which the hard-drive is only 40GB, now can anyone offer any further suggestions? Thanks!

First off you need the correct licenses. For XP you will want a volume license(open license) as it will allow you to use 1 cd key across all of the machines. Same thing goes with office if you are using it. Other big vendors like adobe also do licensing like this.