Crap Antivirus does work for me anymore now whats gonna protect Linux for me

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
I'm still get the following message from Antivirus Live Linux after I update the clamAV and database. Then attempt to scan and permanently delete viruses:

"Unable to scan system because of following error: clamscam: error while loading shared libraries: libpre.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

I just don't get whats causing this error because I have internet connect and everything else works, but when I actually go to remove the viruses this happens. AOSS works though, but I like the output I get from Antivirus more and think its a better distro for removing viruses. Please help or provide any advice if you can. I even reburned to disc and this still happens, so now what should I do.
 

BulletDust

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
6,057
Viruses?! What?

How, just how, do you manage to get a virus under Linux?
 

B00nie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,331
Viruses?! What?

How, just how, do you manage to get a virus under Linux?
The only use for antivirus in linux environment is to scan files originating and going to Windows users. E-mail servers etc.

As for the error, try to find the file and check it's file permissions. It's also possible that some update has moved it to a wrong path.
 

BulletDust

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
6,057
The only use for antivirus in linux environment is to scan files originating and going to Windows users. E-mail servers etc.

As for the error, try to find the file and check it's file permissions. It's also possible that some update has moved it to a wrong path.
That's the only reason I use it. Chuck a Windows HDD in a dock and scan it under Linux....
 

tbg

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
157
clamscam: error
seems legit, either you typed that wrong, and possibly mistyped the library name too. or you have a whole other problem on your hands. either way the error is pretty self explanatory. you need to a) get that library installed, or b) make sure the system knows about it with ld.so.conf.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
Viruses?! What?

How, just how, do you manage to get a virus under Linux?
I'm not sure how I got corruption or a virus, but usually run Antivirus Linux to help fix it for Linux. i don't think it was a Virus, but instead just corruption. However, my files on my school flash drive mysterious hide themselves and ctrl+alt+L wasn't working and using either Antivirus Linux or AOSS on my laptop or any other System usually helps. If it's a Windows System, which the one I'm talking about isn't then if I run AOSS I may need to do a boot repair with the Windows Installation disc to fix the problem and I might need to do a boot repair with Anti-Virus Linux to fix the problem with booting for Windows, but so far I haven't with Antivirus Linux. However, Antivirus Linux isn't working and this happens. I don't know how this happen either because I have just about every malicious site blocked out with the hosts file and I won't say which ones they are here because I knew it was usually because of those sites, but I couldn't prove it and I still kinda can't other than they screwed up my computer everytime I managed to get steered to them or went to them to test my security or to see if they really did have any harmful effects and they do very sutally or heavily maliciously in some cases, which is why they need blocked and deny or anyone who does only makes things worse or wastes time even more.
 
Last edited:

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
The only use for antivirus in linux environment is to scan files originating and going to Windows users. E-mail servers etc.

As for the error, try to find the file and check it's file permissions. It's also possible that some update has moved it to a wrong path.
Whatever, it's the only antivirus for Linux that I can find or officially say works for Linux and it does or did work until this file couldn't be found or read and I tried reburning the cd.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
That's the only reason I use it. Chuck a Windows HDD in a dock and scan it under Linux....
Well apparently you haven't seen the kinda corruption I've experienced and if you have I don't know what to say, but I hope your not denying it because that doesn't help anybody and just make the situation worse for everybody.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
seems legit, either you typed that wrong, and possibly mistyped the library name too. or you have a whole other problem on your hands. either way the error is pretty self explanatory. you need to a) get that library installed, or b) make sure the system knows about it with ld.so.conf.
Type what wrong. You type antivir and then you type 2 and 3 first to update your clam AV and database or whatever, since I'm not looking at it right now considering I have to reboot and bring my system down to run it and then you type 1 to start the scan. Then this happened to me for some reason. Therefore, is it happening to the rest of you and if so how do you resolve it because I've tried:

yum -y install libpre.so.1

Considering I believe Antivirus Live Linux is a redhat distro and it's not working or didn't work and I don't remember or this I wrote down the error. However the error from trying to install the libpre.so.1 package was probably package not found. Can anyone on this forum help and if possible should I reach out to the Antivirus Live Linux forum if there is one because I think I found the file from sourceforge years ago or maybe somewhat currently and it hasn't changed, so I haven't felt the need to download a more current version if there is one.
 

Frobozz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
1,816
Check that you have the name of the missing library correct. I can not find notable mention of 'libpre'. However, 'libpcre' is a common library.

You can look for what package provides that file with #>yum provides libpre or if you have a typo #>yum provides libpcre

Is this the same system that had/has a full /var mount point from the Libre Office thread?
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
This is in no way related to my thread asking which server Operating System to use or how to install LibreOffice in Oracle Linux because you guys have probably helped as much as you can with that and might not be able to help any further with that issue or those issues considering the problem with choosing which server OS was due to installing RAID card drivers in Linux, which is possible. However I just couldn't figur out where it wanted me to put the file or driver on the flash drive so it could automatically find it or read it because that's what it wouldn't do and it was and still is frustrating that I haven't resolved that so I can use my 4U server instead of my test server or desktop with a mobile rack and removable drive carrier.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
Check that you have the name of the missing library correct. I can not find notable mention of 'libpre'. However, 'libpcre' is a common library.

You can look for what package provides that file with #>yum provides libpre or if you have a typo #>yum provides libpcre

Is this the same system that had/has a full /var mount point from the Libre Office thread?
Thank I checked and found a newer version I'll try it later to see if that's the problem, which it might be and why is it smaller than older version though. Whatever though that it's smaller I guess because as long as it works and is authentic.
 

NapnDog

n00b
Joined
Feb 17, 2017
Messages
60
libpre is a Perl library file. You probably have a version of the file you are looking for but it is in a place where ClamAV can't find it or it is a different version than the one ClamAV is looking for. I don't know what distro you're using, but in mine, a symlink can fix either of the two possibilities I mentioned. If it's in a different location, you can symlink the file to the correct location. If it's a different version, it will have a different name, for example, libpre.so.1.2 meaning a 2'nd release of the file you need, etc. If that's the case you can simply create a symlink from the version you have and change the name to the file ClamAV is looking for, then put it in the location ClamAV is looking, and the program will be pointed to the correct location and file.

If you don't have that lib, it's easy to get. I usually go to the Debian repos. They have almost everything.

I hope something there is helpful... good luck.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
Get a real raid card for the server. Fake raids are not server grade hardware.
Thanks, but for the $400 or so I paid for it I don't think or was expecting it to be a fake RAID card. However, that's not what this thread is about.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
libpre is a Perl library file. You probably have a version of the file you are looking for but it is in a place where ClamAV can't find it or it is a different version than the one ClamAV is looking for. I don't know what distro you're using, but in mine, a symlink can fix either of the two possibilities I mentioned. If it's in a different location, you can symlink the file to the correct location. If it's a different version, it will have a different name, for example, libpre.so.1.2 meaning a 2'nd release of the file you need, etc. If that's the case you can simply create a symlink from the version you have and change the name to the file ClamAV is looking for, then put it in the location ClamAV is looking, and the program will be pointed to the correct location and file.

If you don't have that lib, it's easy to get. I usually go to the Debian repos. They have almost everything.

I hope something there is helpful... good luck.
The problem is that I was using an older version of Antivirus Live Linux, so once I obtained the new version by downloading it from or through the official site everything was resolved.
 

reb00tin

Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
864
AVG for Linux is free, works from command line. You don't need AV in Linux, I use it to check my Windows VMs.
 

scharfshutze009

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
1,956
AVG for Linux is free, works from command line. You don't need AV in Linux, I use it to check my Windows VMs.
Whatever, because I get corruption somehow and antivirus linux linux is my favorite antivirus for Linux to fix it, but other solutions such as AOSS kinda work I just don't like that it doesn't tell me the results. As for Avast and AVG I believe both those use Windows PE to boot with, so their not true Linux solutions even if the will remove possible Linux viruses or fix corruption.
 

BulletDust

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 17, 2016
Messages
6,057
Whatever, because I get corruption somehow and antivirus linux linux is my favorite antivirus for Linux to fix it, but other solutions such as AOSS kinda work I just don't like that it doesn't tell me the results. As for Avast and AVG I believe both those use Windows PE to boot with, so their not true Linux solutions even if the will remove possible Linux viruses or fix corruption.
Just use one of the many Live CD's released by many AV developers. Boot into an Ubuntu Live desktop containing the needed software by default, scan, remove, done.
 
Top