Corsair SF600 600w SFX Powersupply

seamon

n00b
Joined
Mar 11, 2017
Messages
33
I put a 2.5k rpm a9x14 off the l9i, the one with the lower starting voltage wired to the psu. It makes a continuous ticking noise (1-2 ticks a second) on desktop/idle use and the fan is spinning as well.
I guess the psu is supplying enough voltage for it to spin 24/7, but not enough to power it completely. Which is different from what Ceski reported with his retail a9, where the fan would come on and off. Mine keeps spinning with the noise.
This can't be good for the fan right? Thinking of going the pwm way wired to mobo.
PWM is the way to go
 

Buttoneer

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
127
Hi all, I'm currently struggling with the stiff cables on this PSU in an Ncase M1 and the whole thing won't power on at the moment. I have noticed that I don't get a satisfying 'click' when I put the cables into the plugs at the PSU end - should I be trying harder to make them 'click' into place or is it normal that the whole thing just feels mushy? I'm wondering whether it's not powering on because it's just not outputting power?
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,712
Hi all, I'm currently struggling with the stiff cables on this PSU in an Ncase M1 and the whole thing won't power on at the moment. I have noticed that I don't get a satisfying 'click' when I put the cables into the plugs at the PSU end - should I be trying harder to make them 'click' into place or is it normal that the whole thing just feels mushy? I'm wondering whether it's not powering on because it's just not outputting power?
Some logic: if you try to pull them out without depressing the latch, do they come out?

I'd prefer more solid feedback myself too- but if they're in, they're in.

[also, did you try a dry run outside of the enclosure first?]
 

Buttoneer

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
127
Some logic: if you try to pull them out without depressing the latch, do they come out?

I'd prefer more solid feedback myself too- but if they're in, they're in.

[also, did you try a dry run outside of the enclosure first?]
Thanks for the reply, I managed to work out what the issue is. It turns out that I had plugged in the front power switch to a USB port on the motherboard which looked exactly the same and was sited not very far away from the front Panel connector. Dumb.

I now have a different problem which is the system power cycling constantly . I have tried this barebones and it still happens so a little bit of research suggests that I need to RMA The motherboard .
 

DG25

Gawd
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
550
Maybe a longshot to get an answer, but does anyone have this PSU (or the 450w one) combined with a Gigabyte 1060 Windforce OC video card? Any coil noise present?
 

DG25

Gawd
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
550
I'm thinking getting this psu, but i'm not sure if i need the 600w model for a 65w CPU TDP and a 1060 GPU (120w TDP), non-oc. Maybe in the future i'll upgrade to an i7 processor with ~90w TDP, but for video cards i'll always stick to medium performance (ie not more than 150w tdp).

I'm more interested in the fan and noise it generates. For example, the Tom's review of this psu (https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/corsair-sf600-power-supply,4537-5.html) said its fan profile is more aggressive than the 450W model, and it's a louder psu overall. But i've read conflicting opinions on this, some say the 450W is louder. Are they both loud? :D I don't think i'll ever realistically draw more than 300w at max load with my pc, so that's the target for noise/load.

It will be used in a Sentry case, so it will draw fresh air from an ambient of max ~30c (at summer time, no ac).
 
Last edited:

Rene Koch

n00b
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
3

Buttoneer

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
127
Does anyone have a view of these replacement cables for the SF PSU's?

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categ...ly-Sleeved-PSU-Cable-Kit---Black/p/CP-8920202

I have the SF600 in my NCase M1 and the two ATX cables are probably not far from what I need anyway (the 2x4 is too long) which means if I wanted to go fully custom I just need to go for much shorter PCIe cables - 150mm instead of 400mm - which is a massive saving on custom prices though I'd need to stick with black for consistency.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
I'm not a fan of the new stock cables, I prefer ribbon-style for SFF, more compact and they look better honestly. But the old 24-pin was insanely stiff, so I guess that was their way of fixing that. And again with the split and weirdly routed ATX cable. Silverstone does cables much better, if only Corsair could copy them on that.
 
S

sonsonate

Guest
Does anyone have a view of these replacement cables for the SF PSU's?

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Accessories-|-Parts/PC-Components/Power-Supplies/SF-Series™-Premium-Individually-Sleeved-PSU-Cable-Kit---Black/p/CP-8920202

I have the SF600 in my NCase M1 and the two ATX cables are probably not far from what I need anyway (the 2x4 is too long) which means if I wanted to go fully custom I just need to go for much shorter PCIe cables - 150mm instead of 400mm - which is a massive saving on custom prices though I'd need to stick with black for consistency.
I own a custom set of cables from Cablemod and the Corsair kit you linked. I recommend the Corsair kit over the Cablemod kit for a few reasons: exact length or shorter cables are neat, but you'll be paying 3x the amount to wire a GPU, couple of SATA devices, your motherboard. Meanwhile, it's $40 for a complete kit from Corsair. The Corsair cable set's SATA power is flexible and in the correct orientation, they're the right amount of flexible and stiff so you can make them look good. If you want to save yourself from the super stiff, hard-to-route stock cables, you can pick them up at Amazon and have them the same or next day. Meanwhile the Cablemod custom cables are gonna take a while to be made.

Here are some pics:

122085__DSC0478.jpg 122086__DSC0479.jpg
 

KenRico

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
85
good to see more competition. maybe they'll also have an sfx-l sometime down the road too
We need more SFX-L ..although I am very happy with Seasonic Focus Plus reviewed at OCP .. ATX but about an inch shorter .

Kenny
 

Buttoneer

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2014
Messages
127
I own a custom set of cables from Cablemod and the Corsair kit you linked. I recommend the Corsair kit over the Cablemod kit for a few reasons: exact length or shorter cables are neat, but you'll be paying 3x the amount to wire a GPU, couple of SATA devices, your motherboard. Meanwhile, it's $40 for a complete kit from Corsair. The Corsair cable set's SATA power is flexible and in the correct orientation, they're the right amount of flexible and stiff so you can make them look good. If you want to save yourself from the super stiff, hard-to-route stock cables, you can pick them up at Amazon and have them the same or next day. Meanwhile the Cablemod custom cables are gonna take a while to be made.

Here are some pics:

View attachment 80106 View attachment 80107
Excellent, thank you!

A quick check against the measurements I took for custom cables shows that it's only 50mm too long on the 4+4 but the 24 is good. At £35 it should give me most of what I need but the 6+2's at 400mm are waaaaaay too long. I only need 150mm and the kit is 400 so I'll definitely do something about that for the sake of good management and airflow. It's also the measurement least likely to ever change with new kit. a different motherboard could have connectors anywhere but the GPU power socket is always going to be located close to the PSU output.
 

rfarmer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
1,160
This was posted over on SFF by Corsair Johan concerning the new Platinum SF 600/450.

"Also, for SF450/600 v2, the SFX to ATX bracket is now included for those who use that.

Individually sleeved cables in black are also included in the box.

Regarding the fan, it is a new fan, now PWM and with a MCU fan controller instead of analog."

So they did change the fan, good news.
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
453
The fan bearings in my SF600 have developed a rattle under load. While I could possibly send the unit in under warranty, my experience having done so with previous PSUs is that you aren't guaranteed to get a quiet one back. I'm considering the Noctua fan mod since it would allow me to avoid being without a PSU for weeks. Before I do, I'm curious if anyone has tried fans other than the Noctua in the SF600.

The Delta AFB0912LB, for example: http://www.delta-fan.com/Download/Spec/AFB0912LB.pdf

It's startup voltage is 4V, which may be a better match for the SF-600 than the retail Noctua NF-A9x14. On the other hand, it moves 26.1cfm vs 29.7cfm for the Noctua, and it's slightly louder. The Noctua is likely a nicer fan, but I'm wondering if the startup voltage on the Delta fan makes it a better match. It is 1mm thicker than the Noctua, and without opening the SF600 I can't say for sure it would fit.
 

sdfewfe

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Messages
92
The fan bearings in my SF600 have developed a rattle under load. While I could possibly send the unit in under warranty, my experience having done so with previous PSUs is that you aren't guaranteed to get a quiet one back. I'm considering the Noctua fan mod since it would allow me to avoid being without a PSU for weeks. Before I do, I'm curious if anyone has tried fans other than the Noctua in the SF600.

The Delta AFB0912LB, for example: http://www.delta-fan.com/Download/Spec/AFB0912LB.pdf

It's startup voltage is 4V, which may be a better match for the SF-600 than the retail Noctua NF-A9x14. On the other hand, it moves 26.1cfm vs 29.7cfm for the Noctua, and it's slightly louder. The Noctua is likely a nicer fan, but I'm wondering if the startup voltage on the Delta fan makes it a better match. It is 1mm thicker than the Noctua, and without opening the SF600 I can't say for sure it would fit.
I can't comment on the Delta fan, but I can say that the startup voltage of the A9x14 doesn't seem to be a problem at all. I've had one in my SF450 for probably about two years now, and it's still running perfectly fine. In fact, I'd consider it a plus that the fan only starts spinning at a slightly higher load than the stock fan. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Epos7
like this

ghostwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
1,755
Given the low noise and higher CFM (at just about any RPM, at least it seems) you could use a header on the motherboard and a "generous" fan profile.
 

teo

n00b
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
35
...maybe this is a dumb question, but where would one route the wire for the fan? is there a better option than not screwing the psu cover completely and sliding it through the gap?
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
453
I can't comment on the Delta fan, but I can say that the startup voltage of the A9x14 doesn't seem to be a problem at all. I've had one in my SF450 for probably about two years now, and it's still running perfectly fine. In fact, I'd consider it a plus that the fan only starts spinning at a slightly higher load than the stock fan. ;)
That's awesome. I've always liked Noctua, so I think I'll just go for the A9x14. Thanks!
 

Epos7

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
453
I did the fan mod. Originally my plan was to plug the Noctua into the power supply, but I wasn't able to successfully remove the stock fan connector without damage. I couldn't get it off with my fingers or some needle nosed pliers, so I tried gently tugging on the cable, but that broke the cable.

Undeterred, I decided I'd just route the fan out of the PSU and plug it into the motherboard. I decided to route it out the top of the PSU since that put it right next to a motherboard fan header. This required cutting a small hole in the PSU and in my PSU mounting bracket. I did a little filing and touched it up with some black paint, I think it looks pretty good.

Unfortunately I can still hear a rattle, so it wasn't the stock fan rattling after all. I think there may be something loose in the power supply that's vibrating when the fan blows on it.

20181103_235324.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
Does Corsair plan to keep both the gold and platinum lines of the SF450/600 or do they plan to phase the gold-rated ones out next year? Does anyone know?
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,156
My guess is that they will keep both because why not? But one never knows for sure. Maybe Tony is lurking about and can answer this question?
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
So apparently Corsair is working on a 750 watt SFX PSU they plan to launch in November!?!!?? (SF750)

OC3D link

I hope the news is true!
Just read more about it. Apparently it will have all-copper heatsinks, I'm curious how much weight that will add. Considering how much power it'll pack in an SFX form factor and how much they'll charge for it, I would have liked to see titanium rating, and digital. Or at the very least provide digital monitoring and fan control, like with the HXi series. I don't get why they keep making premium analog PSUs, we've had digital technology for years and it's infinitely better.
 
Last edited:

Smitty2k1

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
650
Hey guys, I bought the SF600 platinum direct from Corsair on the 20% off deal. I've been using it for about 2 weeks but I don't need it anymore (got my Silverstone unit back from RMA) and would be willing to sell it for cost ($120+shipping). PM me if interested.
 

teo

n00b
Joined
Sep 21, 2018
Messages
35
I was hoping that’d be the case. Idle fan up to 300W would be dope at true SFX measurements. Surely it won’t be costlier than the NJ450 ($200 usd)…right?
 

Neapolitan6th

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
1,089
I was hoping that’d be the case. Idle fan up to 300W would be dope at true SFX measurements. Surely it won’t be costlier than the NJ450 ($200 usd)…right?
SF 750 now official. Here is a preview from OC3D.

Looks pretty epic. So much power. And the PCIE connectors hardly jut out at all which is great for certain ITX cases.

Might deserve its own thread at some point. Can't wait to see reviews. I'd love for these small PSUs to become more standard for all case sizes.
 

Skott

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
4,156
SF 750 now official. Here is a preview from OC3D.

Looks pretty epic. So much power. And the PCIE connectors hardly jut out at all which is great for certain ITX cases.

Might deserve its own thread at some point. Can't wait to see reviews. I'd love for these small PSUs to become more standard for all case sizes.
I agree it would deserve a separate thread of its own if it proves to be popular just to make things easier when talking about it in general.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
It's already available on Amazon, pretty amazing.

I'm curious how much heavier it is due to that all-copper heatsink, Corsair hasn't listed weight in the tech specs. Also, OC3D mentioned there's a short cable kit, but I can't find it anywhere.

Apparently the fan is now PWM, and yet still no software control. :( I want a digital SFX PSU.
 

Smitty2k1

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
650
It's already available on Amazon, pretty amazing.

I'm curious how much heavier it is due to that all-copper heatsink, Corsair hasn't listed weight in the tech specs. Also, OC3D mentioned there's a short cable kit, but I can't find it anywhere.

Apparently the fan is now PWM, and yet still no software control. :( I want a digital SFX PSU.
SF600 platinum is also a PWM fan. How would you expect software control? It would need USB or some other communication to your motherboard, or you could buy an extension cable and route the 4 pin connector to your motherboard.

Alternatively, you could install a manual/hardware fan controller (such as: https://www.amazon.com/Zalman-Fan-Speed-Controller-FANMATE-2/dp/B000292DO0).

Without having temperature sensors however, I would leave the fan control to the PSU. I've found the SF600 platinum to be unreal in how silent it is.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
SF600 platinum is also a PWM fan. How would you expect software control? It would need USB or some other communication to your motherboard, or you could buy an extension cable and route the 4 pin connector to your motherboard.

Alternatively, you could install a manual/hardware fan controller (such as: https://www.amazon.com/Zalman-Fan-Speed-Controller-FANMATE-2/dp/B000292DO0).

Without having temperature sensors however, I would leave the fan control to the PSU. I've found the SF600 platinum to be unreal in how silent it is.
No, I would expect a USB cable like with the HXi series. If not for full digital control, then at least for fan control and monitoring. I just don't get why every PSU doesn't have that now, we've had the technology for 10 years, especially PSUs over $150.
 

Smitty2k1

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
650
No, I would expect a USB cable like with the HXi series. If not for full digital control, then at least for fan control and monitoring. I just don't get why every PSU doesn't have that now, we've had the technology for 10 years, especially PSUs over $150.
Open the SF600 PSU and find room for a connection like that. Also, look at the price of the PSU and add $20. Neither of those seem reasonable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jspr
like this
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
587
Open the SF600 PSU and find room for a connection like that. Also, look at the price of the PSU and add $20. Neither of those seem reasonable.
It does to me, it's a niche elite product, it should have premium features. $20 is nothing for people who wanna spend $180 on an SFX 750W PSU, they're probably building $2000+ rigs. I also think it should have titanium efficiency, it's almost there anyway. You may be right on the space, I don't know how much room is required for digital control. I can't imagine at least a fan controller and a USB connection taking up all that much space. I think it's more because it's an SFX unit, they don't want to give people control over the fan curve because they want to be able to cool it aggressively, but I just don't trust stock settings.
 

Smitty2k1

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
650
https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/corsair-sf600-platinum-psu,5936.html

Tom's Hardware just posted an incredibly detailed review of the SF600 Platinum and gave it lots of praise. I thought this note was interesting at the end, and explains why the PSU review was so thorough:

"Aris Mpitziopoulos is Tom's Hardware's PSU reviewer. He is also the Chief Testing Engineer of Cybenetics, and developed the Cybenetics certification methodologies apart from his role on Tom's Hardware. Neither Tom's Hardware nor its parent company, Future PLC, are financially involved with Cybenetics. Aris does not perform the actual certifications for Cybenetics."

Early in the review they also note the noise issue some people experienced with the SF600 Gold, and it appears to be some mis-management of the fan curve vs. load on the 3.3 and 5v rails:

"One of the biggest differences between the SF600 Gold and this latest model is that the Platinum version has a much better LAMBDA noise rating. Corsair, with Great Wall’s help, improved the fan controller's response to high loads on the minor rails. That wasn’t the case previously; the older model’s fan went crazy when the 5V and 3.3V rails were hit with those same load scenarios."
 
Last edited:

phillai

n00b
Joined
Jul 4, 2011
Messages
52
Is this Corsair SF600 good enough for a EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra?
As I noticed that 650 watts is needed for this videocard.
I won't be overclocking.
 

Neapolitan6th

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
1,089
Is this Corsair SF600 good enough for a EVGA RTX 2080 XC Ultra?
As I noticed that 650 watts is needed for this videocard.
I won't be overclocking.
Should be more than fine if since you are not OCing (assuming your other components aren't insane.. I bet you aren't running a 16 core CPU for instance!)
 
Last edited:

Neapolitan6th

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
1,089
So there is a review for the SF750 unit at eteknix.

What blew my mind was they were able to push the PSU to 997 watts before its Over Current Protection was tripped. That's nuts... Hopefully that meant it could handle it as opposed to it having subpar protections!

With that in mind, that feat is truly insane for users of CPUs and GPUs that have high yet short spikes in power consumption. Vega for instance often tripped OCP for some users of smaller PSUs even though its average power consumption was less than the PSU's listed capabilities.

Neat stuff.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jspr
like this
Top