Corsair H50 CPU Cooler Preview.

AdvanSuper

Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
826
This is my before and after with lapping

I ran a little test run in prime 95 at stock speeds with the voltage up a tad due to "Without Vdrop" enabled on the EVGA board.

Ambient around 27-30c
Stock Idle
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/2073/stockidle.png

Stock Load
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/2074/stockload.png

After Lapping

Idle
http://a.imageshack.us/img97/4805/lollappedidle.png

Load
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/8880/stockloadlapped.png

Before / After

Idle
BF - AF
48 - 38 = 10c
46 - 35 = 11c
48 - 38 = 10c
48 - 38 = 10c

Load
BF - AF
65 - 53 = 12c
63 - 51 = 12c
63 - 51 = 12c
63 - 51 = 12c

@ 4.2 1.294 vcore I was hitting 79-79-76-76 in LinX and Prime95 was 72-72-68-68.
 
Last edited:

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,649
My system is in my sig.. I just installed BOINC and have it running a couple of projects. All four cores + the four virtual cores were at 100% utilization all night. After running it the whole night, I just checked temps. (BOINC is still running and all cores still @ 100%)

The current temps. are:

Core 1: 58C
Core 2: 57C
Core 3: 58C
Core 4: 57C


Do those look ok or are they too high?
 

AdvanSuper

Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
826
My system is in my sig.. I just installed BOINC and have it running a couple of projects. All four cores + the four virtual cores were at 100% utilization all night. After running it the whole night, I just checked temps. (BOINC is still running and all cores still @ 100%)

The current temps. are:

Core 1: 58C
Core 2: 57C
Core 3: 58C
Core 4: 57C


Do those look ok or are they too high?
No they look fine, what is your speed and voltage?
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,649
I have everything running stock.

2.53GHz w/ Turbo Boost enabled in the BIOS (verified working w/ Intel's Turbo Boost sidebar gadget).

Core voltage is 1.104V according to CPU-Z.
 

Tudz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
7,434
Isn't stock speed for an i7 860 2.8GHz turbo up to 3.46GHz?
 

AdvanSuper

Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
826
I have everything running stock.

2.53GHz w/ Turbo Boost enabled in the BIOS (verified working w/ Intel's Turbo Boost sidebar gadget).

Core voltage is 1.104V according to CPU-Z.
Seems reasonable like I've mentioned before the i7's run a bit hot so the H50 is OK at cooling them. Look at my pics above to see the temps I was getting.
 

Tudz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
7,434
Seems reasonable like I've mentioned before the i7's run a bit hot so the H50 is OK at cooling them. Look at my pics above to see the temps I was getting.
Isn't the i7 860s an LGA 1156 model? I thought it was only the LGA 1336 ones which were power hungry heat producers. The i7 860 has the same TDP as my i5 750, only 95W, compared to the 130W for LGA 1336 i7 CPUs. EDIT: And the 860s is even lower TDP of only 82W.
 
Last edited:

wrangler

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
3,929
So...
Anybody modded their H50 yet?
I like the pump/block combo and just think this thing needs a decent rad.

Just wondering.
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,649
If the H50 is working properly, are the sides of the radiator and reservoir supposed to feel very warm when you touch them?
 

WiLLiSTER

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
2,702
If the H50 is working properly, are the sides of the radiator and reservoir supposed to feel very warm when you touch them?
Probably not. Mine is cool to the touch at the moment, but I'm only running slightly over stock on my i3. I'll take it up in speed pretty soon and edit this post, but I doubt it'll change much. I'm also using 2 Enermax T.B. Silence fans at ~900rpm.

Edit: Currently have my i3 530 at 4.51ghz (215x21) at 1.536v and real temp is hovering around 91c on both cores after 5 minutes of core damage. The rad and pump themselves aren't hot though, just a little warm.

Edit2: Brought the voltage down to 1.42v and temps are hovering at 81c. I did notice that with all the stress testing the rad warmed up a bit more near the inlet/outlet, but methinks it's alright. Speedfan is reporting the pump operating at the proper speed and everything else seems okay, so I'm not too worried..
 
Last edited:

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,649
Hmmm...

I always thought that if a heatsink or radiator were working properly, they would be warm / hot (taking heat away from the processor).
 

Luda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 13, 2002
Messages
1,442
From
E8400 + TRUE w/ Scythe 1200rpm fan

to

i5-760 + Corsair H50 w/ same Scythe fan only set to pull


All stock. Temps are pretty much the same at approx 45c idle which isn't great but
the system is in a fairly hot room and I've got an 8800GT in there that idles around 70c itself.

I'll probably throw in another fan for Push/Pull but noise level is pretty important. Any recommendations for fans?
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
627
I have a set of Gentle Typhoons on mine and love them. They are quiet and push a lot of air and almost silent.

I traded around and picked up an MSI 890FX board and some memory. I hope to get a 1055T in a week or so, and I will be putting another H50 on it when I get my Q6600 and True Ex sold.
 

Ricedaddy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
1,128
I just picked one of these bad boys up at best buy for $60. I adore the thing. Absolutely silent and keeps my i5-750 running at 3.6ghz cool as a cucumber, around 63c at full load. Ambient is pretty warm, about 80F.

This is going to be a real winner when I strap on a couple gentle typhoons.
 

ThumperSD

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
297
I just picked one of these bad boys up at best buy for $60. I adore the thing. Absolutely silent and keeps my i5-750 running at 3.6ghz cool as a cucumber, around 63c at full load. Ambient is pretty warm, about 80F.

This is going to be a real winner when I strap on a couple gentle typhoons.
Shoulda waited for the H70 review :)
I only got a 1c drop when installing 2x Gentle Typhoons over 1x Corsair fan and 1x CM R4.. but then Im not using any shrouds and there is a deadspot in the middle
 

ThumperSD

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
297
sounds like bad airflow

heres my setup

<-corsair fan<-h50 rad<-old antec tri-cool<-

Im using mine as an intake since it lowers temps slightly... when I used mine as an exhaust my temps went up 2-3c

Well I did clean out my radiator and it did help lower my load temps by 3c... The rad and fans get dusty very quickly
 

lianregnif

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
71
Does anyone know where to buy more of the screws that this cooler came with? The one where you are supposed to mount the supplied 120mm fan to the radiator? I want to sandwhich this thing, but can't find any screws!
 

Sparkle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
220
Does anyone know where to buy more of the screws that this cooler came with? The one where you are supposed to mount the supplied 120mm fan to the radiator? I want to sandwhich this thing, but can't find any screws!
Do the diagonal screw method or take the screws down to your local hardware store/Home Depot.
 

Majikka

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
108
well, here is inside of my case, the H50 does give back a lot of room in my case. :)

before: idel 29-31c (1 fan and ninja b heatsink, 1 rear fan)
after: 28-31 (1 rear fan) :cool:

install another fan? :confused:

Thernaltake Armor case kinda sucks for these odd setups.

now that i am able to put my hand in the case, my ram runs hot. :mad: I ordered the "Corsair CMXAF2 Dominator Triple Channel Airflow Memory Fan" to fix it. :D


 
Last edited:

wonSR4

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,588
Does anyone know where to buy more of the screws that this cooler came with? The one where you are supposed to mount the supplied 120mm fan to the radiator? I want to sandwhich this thing, but can't find any screws!
6-32 x 1-1/4in as recommended on the Corsair blog. I went with 1-1/2 inch for length for a little leeway as the screws for the second fan had to be screwed through the case which had rubber grommets and a fan filter.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,220
I put a round of black insulating tape round where the fan mates up to the radiator. Helps seal the air path from the fan to the radiator grille.
 

BillParrish

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
7,520
I put a round of black insulating tape round where the fan mates up to the radiator. Helps seal the air path from the fan to the radiator grille.
Thats an excellent idea and a nice "necessity is the mother of invention" fix. If someone is going to install from the get go some foam weatherstrip from the hardware store would be a good touch.
 

night_2004

2[H]4U
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
2,222
1 1/2" screws are definitely the way to go if you want to mount a fan on the outside of the case. 1 1/4" did not do it for me. Didn't even think to use electrical tape on the radiator...
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,220
Yeah just put two strips down each side of the radiator and fan.

In the pic below you can just see the tape on the side of the radiator.

Easy to do and just makes sure as much air is pushed as possible. I guess you might be able to do the top and bottom I didnt at the time. Was just quick and easy to do the sides.

 

BugginOuT

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
443
Picked up mine today from MicroCenter.

Installation was a breeeze, I've replaced the stock fan with the Sycthe S-Flex SSF21F that I had on Ultra120.

It's so much cleaner and open compared to a traditional H/S/F. I will posted pictures later.
 

EquaLiZr

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2000
Messages
5,828
Got one today myself and its great! i7 920 @ 3.7Ghz stock voltage. Idle is 35c and load is 61c. Mind you i have 2 fans on the rad both pushing air out of the case. The antec 900 airflow helps quite a bit too :D
 

SonDa5

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
7,403
Thought this thread was put in the garbage bin. Glad it is still here.

Recently upgraded from DFI P45 chipset with Q9550 which worked great with the H50.

New MB is DFI X58 JR with i7-930. Kept the same H50 and did some mods for better cooling.


Adding the "ghetto Shrouds" and a matching 120x120x38mm Scythe Kaze fan to my set up lowered idle temps 2 degrees celsius and lowered 100% load temps 3.75 degrees celsius. (prime95)





Still not sold on the H70 for my RIG. The tubes are a little too short on the H70 to match my current H50 set up.


H70 does interest me though.
 

USMCGrunt

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
3,103
Holy hell that's a lot of fans! Does stacking matching fans improve air flow through the radiator or something?? Why don't you put two of the fans inside the case either...keep that stack from ripping your case apart lol
 

SonDa5

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
7,403
Holy hell that's a lot of fans! Does stacking matching fans improve air flow through the radiator or something?? Why don't you put two of the fans inside the case either...keep that stack from ripping your case apart lol



This is supposed to be an optimum set up with matching fans and shrouds before and after the radiator.

I'd rather have the over clocked H50 outside of the case to ensure cool temps.
It's an Antec 900 case and it supports the weight of this set up no problem.
 

BusyBeaverHP

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 22, 2009
Messages
431
I own a H70, but it's almost the same as a sandwiched H50.

Here's a possible solution to the exhaust dilemma, allowing the H50 to stay elegantly inside the case while getting fresh air:

The top fans are flipped around. In this situation, it actually lowered the CPU temperature by several degrees Centigrade. Not only are the flipped top fan good for the H50/H70, it also reinforces positive pressure throughout the case.


Dust buildup is not a problem, since all the intake fans are protected by DEMCi Flex Fan Filters.
 

oolong8

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2010
Messages
21
H50 in Push/pull with Antec Tri Fans.
AMD X3 440 Idle/Load: 36/45C
CM 690 II Basic.

Looks cool and is compact.
 

EquaLiZr

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 8, 2000
Messages
5,828
you cut your poor 900 :( I dont think i could ever do that to mine just to mount my H50. But looks great! :D
 

Siegfried262

Weaksauce
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
92
I've been enjoying my H50 so far.

Have it with paired with a 1450rpm Gentle Typhoon acting as a push fan on a Phenom II X3 with the fourth core unlocked and modestly overclocked to 3.2ghz and it keeps everything nice and cool.

Would really like to go push/pull with the Gentle Typhoons though
 

cj3waker

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,492
keeps my lil bros pc e3300@3.5 under 30c with intel burn test
e3300 and h50 is a pretty powerful little combination
 

investinwaffles

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
495
Figured I would update this thread a little.

I am more and more impressed with this H50. Perfectly matched to my Q6600 IMO.
It got really cold tonight, so I opened the window and let the room get cold (its 50*f in here).
My Q6600@3.4ghz is idling at 15*C accross the board, and only going up to 54*C during intel burn test (extreme, 5 loops).

Played 2hrs of dirt 2 and maxed out at 41*C. I am very happy with this cooler + 2 Yate Loon medium speed's. I cant wait to add some shrouds to it to see if the temps budge at all.
 
Top