Computers and women; can't live with, can't live without

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electrofreak

[H]ard|Gawd
This isn't a question about anything, and it doesn't even really fit all that well into the Operating Systems forum category. But I just wanted to recount an experience of mine and gripe a little bit about the unfairness of it all.

I'm a computer repair guy in my spare time, and I advertise on Craigslist for house calls and I also take dropoffs. I'm 25 years old, majored in Computer Science, currently working on my Network+ and Security+ certifications. I've been fixing computers as a form of income for the last 7 years, and of course, as a kid, I did my fair share of getting into trouble online via a 56k modem. :p

The machine in question is an eMachines my girlfriend bought 2 years ago for about $600. Now, I would never have let her buy an eMachines, but she just kinda showed up with it at the door one day saying she was tired of having to share my computer with me since she didn't have her own.

The machine is a piece of junk. It had driver issues out of the box (GG eMachines) and bad RAM. She dealt with the bad RAM for over a year ("What do you mean you want to open it up and put in new memory?! That'll wreck the warranty!" "Honey... I'm a better warranty than eMachines ever will be.") before I finally convinced her to let me break the tape.

Of course, eMachines hobbles the BIOS so you can't adjust RAM timings etc, so after I picked her up a couple gigs of RAM, I flashed the BIOS to the standard BIOS for the motherboard model # in order to set the settings I needed for the board to accept the second stick of memory (it wouldn't at SPD settings).