Computer Engineering

matt_to_the_max

Limp Gawd
Hello,
I'm currently majoring in computer engineering at my local college. I love computers and I want to make them work faster. I'm interested in VLSI and I would like to work for AMD or Intel some day. I also enjoy networking. My question to everyone here is, what should I do today in order to get a good job later on? It seems that you need 3+ years of work experience to get a job at Intel and/or AMD, so how am I supposed to get a job right after college if I need work experience? I have volunteered before and have worked on school computers at my high school. My parents work hard for me to go to college and I do not want to let them down! What should I do now to prepare for this exciting industry? Also, should I try to earn a masters degree, is it worth it? :confused:
Thanks for looking!
Regards,
Matt

Hello,
so how am I supposed to get a job right after college if I need work experience?

get a job somewhere else? Unless you go to a top tier computer engineer/science school like MIT, Cornell, or Carnegie Mellon, don't expect to find a job at major companies right out of college. Masters would also be a plus, but you might want to pursue something different but related to your undergrad, like Computer Science. A lot of the time you can pursue a masters degree WHILE you are working, your company may even pay for the tuition. However this isn't as likely at higher tier schools.