CLR CMOS button - reliable?

Discussion in 'Intel MoBos' started by Ree, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. Ree

    Ree n00b

    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    My board (ASUS Rampage Formula, X48) has a CLR CMOS button on the back panel. Pressing it is supposed to clear CMOS. I was wondering if it REALLY is reliable and REALLY clears ALL CMOS settings as well as RTC clock. Or should I just use the age-old method of removing the battery for some time just to be sure? Which method is the more reliable one? And overall, in your opinion, what is the most reliable way to clear CMOS?
     
  2. -=Antimatter=-

    -=Antimatter=- 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,342
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    It should behave the same way as a CLR CMOS jumper and close a circuit... read the manual for instructions.
     
  3. JCDenton

    JCDenton Gawd

    Messages:
    701
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    I've had several boards with buttons and they've all been reliable.
     
  4. AdamNesvick

    AdamNesvick 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,373
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Okay, this is an easy one, does the computer POST after a bad overclock when you press the button? if so, it works.

    The button on my DFI P55 board works fine, other than needing a mechanical pencil or other fine pointed object to press it.
     
  5. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,702
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    I have the same board and yes, it does clear the CMOS when you press it.
     
  6. ohvrolla

    ohvrolla [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    While we're on the subject hooking up your own momentary push button is simple and a whole lot easier than opening up the case to short the pins.
     
  7. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,702
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    While that's true, this board already has a button on the back I/O panel , so no need to open the case.
     
  8. ohvrolla

    ohvrolla [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    I was referring to boards that don't already have a pushbutton.
     
  9. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,889
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    That sure saves a lot of time during setup.