Clean up this nightmare

Modus

Weaksauce
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
84
When i bought my house i found this recessed leviton structured enclosure via toner and probe, it turned out my FIOS connection is terminated here
:eek::eek::eek:

recessed-wall-cabinet_zps0h0p1hja.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]



It had be re-punched but it works and i get well over my bandwidth, anyway i'm looking to fix it all next weekend. In the past i have used a data hub like this http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000EHW88Q/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2X881VQCVS2HB&coliid=I2HFKM4S78W3U9 and it worked fine for something similar, should i use that or should i use a Cat6 Vertical Patch Panel like this? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OMA37VI?psc=1
 

timta2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 3, 2010
Messages
1,393
Looks a lot better than some enclosures I've seen :) A few zip ties and it would look much better.


Is that Cat-5 in there? I'd imagine either of those should work fine.
 

Dead Parrot

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2013
Messages
2,831
I have something similar in my garage. A mix of TV cable and AT&T phone.

I know yours looks like a bit of a mess but if everything is working, I wouldn't be in too much of a rush to fix it.

I would 2nd timta2's suggestion of a few zip or twist ties to start with. And maybe label everything you can identify.
 

Modus

Weaksauce
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
84
Is that Cat-5 in there? I'd imagine either of those should work fine.

Yes its all Cat5 and one of them comes from the Verizon ONT, i'll need to tone that one out and get it working once remove all the other cables.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
4
You could do alot of things.. remove that back plate and 66 block and use one of these..

Just an idea, would make it alittle cleaner.. and you could use velcro and cable ties loose to the sides to route the cabling.


Bracket:
http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-47600...F8&qid=1428867810&sr=8-6&keywords=Leviton+smc

Then you could take and use the QuickPort connector/jacks:
Coax : http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-41084...I2OI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1428867886&sr=8-1

Cat5e: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5G108...IYUM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1428867902&sr=8-2

USOC(Phone): http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-41106...ref=sr_1_2?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1428867966&sr=1-2
 

NetJunkie

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 16, 2001
Messages
9,682
Looks just like the one in the house I bought. To clean it up I just screwed the cover back over it.
 

Modus

Weaksauce
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
84
Looks just like the one in the house I bought. To clean it up I just screwed the cover back over it.

Yeah that works if you don't need to make use of the other cables:rolleyes: I have 2 to 3 jacks in other rooms which terminate on that mess so i have to fix it.:cool:
 
Top