Cisco 871 router help

I just got new Cisco 871 broadband router, im using Cox cable. This router has 1 WAN interface which is fast Ethernet connected to my cable modem. Im kinda new to the cisco command line or cisco routers. Previously i had to many problems with Dlink and Linksys router so I deiced to switch to Cisco. How do I enable the router to be dhcp client, since my ISP is DHCP. I need my router to get an address from the ISP.

I don't know the 871's specifically, but the command is "ip address dhcp client-id interfacename" You'd do this after enable, config terminal, and interface.

Routername# enable
Routername# config t
Rourtername(config)# int ethernet0
Routername(config-if)# ip address dhcp client-id ethernet0

and don't for get to do a "copy run start"

I have the same router. As mentioned "ip add dhcp" will get the job done under FastEthernet 4.

Do you have the firewall / IPS configured?

What version of IOS are you running on it?

Since you are a new to Cisco I would highly recommend installing SDM on the router and using the GUI for a lot of these configurations. It is also a great way to learn as you can use SDM to configure the device and use the CLI to view what commands were used...

PHUNBALL said:
Since you are a new to Cisco I would highly recommend installing SDM on the router and using the GUI for a lot of these configurations. It is also a great way to learn as you can use SDM to configure the device and use the CLI to view what commands were used...

To take this a little further you can change the SDM settings so that you can preview all the commands before they are pushed to the router. I prefer this method as SDM tends to overdo some of the configurations / comments. You can then cancel the configuration and configure it by hand on the router yourself using the CLI.

The 871 router should have come with the SDM by default. Bring up the router in a web interface.

mike2323 said: