Cherry MX recommendations

jbltecnicspro

[H]F Junkie
Hey all,

I have some neurological-muscular issues with my hands, and typing can be a bit of a chore, especially if I have a lot to code (I'm a programmer). I would like to get a decent mechanical keyboard, but I'm a little unsure as to what I should get because of my aforementioned problem. I'm leaning on Cherry MX red because they appear to have the least amount of resistance. Any other switches I should consider? Thanks!

I like the cherry black switches. They offer resistance when you press but I dont think they are too difficult to type on.

I think you are spot on with MX Reds if you want something easier to push down. There are even silent reds now with a little rubber piece on the bottom of the stem to soften and dampen the noise on impact. Although you are probably better off learning how to touch type so that you never have to bottom out, in which case MX Browns (tiny bump at actuation) or Clears (large bump at actuation but a stiffer spring) are best in that situation. If you want something REALLY easy to type on, then get a custom keyboard with Gateron clears, the spring is even lighter than MX reds and you might accidentally actuate a key just resting your fingers on it.

Okay, so based on everything here and what I've read I think I'll give the Corsair Strafe with MX-Brown keys a go.

Good choice. Browns probably are the best switch for all-around use (gaming, typing, etc.)

Yep - thanks! It arrives on Monday. I'm looking forward to it. I went with the red lights and not RGB - to me RGB just looks a bit tacky.

I agree on RGB. I just keep mine set to all blue so it matches my mouse and external keypad.

Good luck with your new keyboard!

Thanks! Just got it today, and I already like it a lot. Key presses are very precise, and the action isn't heavy at all. In fact, I haven't yet made any typos - so you can definitely color me impressed. :)