Cheapest 4k (3840x2160) 60 Hz card - NO gaming

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by kindasmart, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. kindasmart

    kindasmart Gawd

    Messages:
    661
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    I need a 4k (3840x2160) video card capable of driving a Win7pro desktop UI @ 60 Hz. Cheap. NO GAMING. Needs to have one (standard size) DP. No need for DVD-D port. HDMI port nice to have but not needed. My EVGA SC Titan died 3mo after warranty and I'll need a replacement as the i3770k HD-4000 motherboard graphics only support 30 Hz.

    AMD or Nvidia. Don't care. Reliable and good drivers for Win7pro. Much Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. matt167

    matt167 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    427
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    RX550 and GT1030 would be the cheapest modern cards that support 4k 60hz
     
    kindasmart, Logan M and Red Falcon like this.
  3. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Club 3D sells a mini-dp to HDMI 2.0 connector for like $29 , I use to play World of Tanks in 4K 60Hz using a R9-280 and Club 3D if you have an older card laying around.
     
  4. Logan M

    Logan M n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    +1. Nvidia put out a driver update for some of their older cards that allows them to use Chroma subsampling in order to get around the HDMI 1.4 bandwidth limitations to do 4k 60hz. My GTX 670 does 4k 60hz through HDMI without issue on my TCL 55 inch TV.
     
  5. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,564
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    kindasmart, {NG}Fidel and Logan M like this.
  6. Logan M

    Logan M n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
  7. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,564
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Your GTX 670 should have a DisplayPort output. If it does, you can use an active DP to HDMI 2.0 to get 4:4:4 chroma and have the option to enable HDR.
     
  8. Logan M

    Logan M n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    It does but if I'm using a Display port to HDMI cable that will work the same?
     
  9. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,564
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Oh, I thought you would just be hooking the TV directly to your card's HDMI port.

    Older DisplayPort to HDMI adapters just supported HDMI 1.4. But newer ones (2017 and onward) support HDMI 2.0. Just have a look at the model number you picked up.
     
    Logan M likes this.
  10. Logan M

    Logan M n00bie

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Good to know! Mine is old but if I can just buy a new cable and get better picture quality I'll surely do it. Thanks!
     
  11. crazycrave

    crazycrave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
  12. kindasmart

    kindasmart Gawd

    Messages:
    661
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    MUCH THANKS for all the tips and links. Guess I'll pick up a 1030 after I play around a bit more with my EVGA Sig/SC Titan "doorstop" to confirm it's dead.
     
  13. chaloux

    chaloux n00bie

    Messages:
    56
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    I just picked up a 1030 as I'm moving to our off-grid place in a few weeks. It's on its way from Amazon, should be here early next week. I'm moving sideways from a GTX460 that uses 160w, vs the GT1030 @ 30w :ROFLMAO:

    When the new cards come out I'll pick something in the lower end range that gives ~1060 performance and good performance/watt. For now this tiny little card should do great!