CAVEAT EMPTOR - DDR4 3200 (1x16GB) 14-15-17-21 -- $129.99

Sherloc09

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
324
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/Tj...-1-x-16gb-ddr4-3600-memory-f4-3600c19s-16gvrb

So the caveat is that the memory is actually rated as 3600mhz 19-20-20-40. Was unable to get it stable at the 3600mhz speed with DOCP profile on my x470 Asus Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi). So started dropping the frequency and tightening the timings. So far have gotten it stable 10 passes of IntelBurnTest on Maximum at 3200mhz 14-15-17-21. Another caveat is I'm using two sticks [from separate kits] in dual channel mode on the Asus x470 Crosshair VII Hero, so that may help with the stability.

  1. First set the DOCP Standard profile.
  2. Second drop the frequency to 3200mhz.
  3. Third set the DRAM Voltage to 1.4v [XMP 2.0 supposedly goes to 1.5, so 1.4 should be safe but YMMV].
  4. Fourth set the CPU SOC Voltage to 1.1v [DRAM Calculator recommended the 1.1v at max for this kit].
  5. Fifth enter the DRAM Control submenu and change the latency to something like 16-18-18-36.

Save this and reset.
Run 10 passes of IntelBurnTest on Maximum overnight to ensure stability, then drop the timings down and retest until you find the limit the latency can be tightened.

Disclaimer
Am not responsible for any overclocking the reader chooses to perform. Overclocking is done at your own risk.
3200_OC_12.png
 
Last edited:

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,944
I have some of the 2x8Gb kits of these with same timings. Great CL14 result there really... I have also seen confirmed B-Die pulling similar numbers at slightly lower voltage.
 

Sherloc09

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
324
I have some of the 2x8Gb kits of these with same timings. Great CL14 result there really... I have also seen confirmed B-Die pulling similar numbers at slightly lower voltage.
Just got 14-16-17-22 this evening on the IntelBurnTest. Going for 14-15-17-22. Personally never seen DDR4 3200 get RAS Active of 22, heck B-Die is like upper 20s or low to mid 30s IIRC.

The sticks are Hynix, C Die [CJR], 2 rank, etc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: N4CR
like this

Sherloc09

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
324
Reason thinking these are a hot deal is that B-die run on average $70 more per 16gb kit, and the B-die usually seen are 2x8 which limits your total system ram to 32gb on most x470 and z370/390 boards. Also since these are lower cost you could potentially go 64gb out the gate on your build if your budget can flex $80-120 [depending on current pricing discounts etc].
 
  • Like
Reactions: N4CR
like this

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,944
Just got 14-16-17-22 this evening on the IntelBurnTest. Going for 14-15-17-22. Personally never seen DDR4 3200 get RAS Active of 22, heck B-Die is like upper 20s or low to mid 30s IIRC.

The sticks are Hynix, C Die [CJR], 2 rank, etc.
Nice way to get dual rank 32Gb with those timings on a Ryzen.. that's extremely good.
 

Kamber

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
395
Nice job dude! Care to post all your timings and settings and whatnot? :D
 

Kamber

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
395
Oh nice! I thought you mightve been going deeeep into all those subtimings and things that 98% of people dont even know what they mean (me included, hehe)
 

Sherloc09

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
324
Nope, just set docp standard, drop the frequency, then up the voltage and set timings.

DRAM Voltage to 1.4
CPU SOC Voltage to 1.1


Screenshots attached.
 

Attachments

  • E3533127-B7C9-4FBE-96FB-35F92078F94C.jpeg
    E3533127-B7C9-4FBE-96FB-35F92078F94C.jpeg
    502.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 265BF9B8-3054-4F1A-8118-E3981CF9B33B.jpeg
    265BF9B8-3054-4F1A-8118-E3981CF9B33B.jpeg
    431.1 KB · Views: 0
  • A463E53C-51B7-447C-BCA0-D9719F5D679C.jpeg
    A463E53C-51B7-447C-BCA0-D9719F5D679C.jpeg
    404.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 67CCA1D9-3A73-42D4-911A-33BE72B05111.jpeg
    67CCA1D9-3A73-42D4-911A-33BE72B05111.jpeg
    370.4 KB · Views: 0
  • CED77A16-9795-474F-B44B-4F6D901F2BC1.jpeg
    CED77A16-9795-474F-B44B-4F6D901F2BC1.jpeg
    444.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

chockomonkey

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 11, 2003
Messages
8,298
Quick Q, why these have such high timings? I remember getting like single digits timings back in the day.
 

bonehead123

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
1,394
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/Tj...-1-x-16gb-ddr4-3600-memory-f4-3600c19s-16gvrb

So the caveat is that the memory is actually rated as 3600mhz 19-20-20-40. Was unable to get it stable at the 3600mhz speed with DOCP profile on my x470 Asus Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi). So started dropping the frequency and tightening the timings. So far have gotten it stable 10 passes of IntelBurnTest on Maximum at 3200mhz 14-15-17-21. Another caveat is I'm using two sticks [from separate kits] in dual channel mode on the Asus x470 Crosshair VII Hero, so that may help with the stability.

  1. First set the DOCP Standard profile.
  2. Second drop the frequency to 3200mhz.
  3. Third set the DRAM Voltage to 1.4v [XMP 2.0 supposedly goes to 1.5, so 1.4 should be safe but YMMV].
  4. Fourth set the CPU SOC Voltage to 1.1v [DRAM Calculator recommended the 1.1v at max for this kit].
  5. Fifth enter the DRAM Control submenu and change the latency to something like 16-18-18-36.
Sorry but I am confused.......

whats the point of paying for 3600 speed ram and then having to DOWNCLOCK it by 400mhz just to get it running stable ?

Don't MOST people buy lower speed ram then OVERCLOCK it via XMP to speed it up ?

I know thats what I did, however, I have a different system than you, but still...

Please explain the logic in this plan if you don't mind :D
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,791
I'm pretty sure 3200Mhz at Cas 14 is faster than 3600Mhz at Cas 19...that's the logic.
 

Sherloc09

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2017
Messages
324
Sorry but I am confused.......

whats the point of paying for 3600 speed ram and then having to DOWNCLOCK it by 400mhz just to get it running stable ?

Don't MOST people buy lower speed ram then OVERCLOCK it via XMP to speed it up ?

I know thats what I did, however, I have a different system than you, but still...

Please explain the logic in this plan if you don't mind :D
DDR4 3200 CAS 14 is usually the sweet spot in most PC benchmarks I've seen. Being able to achieve that at less than what you'll pay for most DDR4 3200 is what makes this kit a deal; at the time the kits were purchased they were like $70 less than comparable Samsung B-die.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,791
Fwiw, I got a 2x16GB kit of this stuff for $135 after a coupon from NE. Won't run 3600Mhz with my 2600 but am working my way down to Sherloc's timings.
 
  • Like
Reactions: N4CR
like this

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,944
Fwiw, I got a 2x16GB kit of this stuff for $135 after a coupon from NE. Won't run 3600Mhz with my 2600 but am working my way down to Sherloc's timings.
Exciting.. Keep us posted. I can't wait to see what it'll do on Zen2... also will look at 32 or 64gb if prices stay sane.
 

phatbx133

Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
728
You won't able to reach 3600mhz with Ryzen 2000 no matter what, You need Ryzen 3000 that allow you reach higher memory.

I used have old 2600 hit wall 3533, Now I have new Ryzen 3600 can reach 3800@ fclk 1900 1:1 ratio with same ram I had before with 2600.

2 cents.
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
608
Should this thread be moved to Hot Deals Discussion? Anyone around who can still do that?

Noticed the thread start date and was like, am I in the right sub forum? :D
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
3,057
I can't wait for the deep investigation. IMO I think Ryzen one with super RAM will come towards %10 of Ryzen 3000 @ same speeds! Place your bets?
Loving all the input here at the [H]!!!!
 

encore2097

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
115
intro3-ryzen-3000-memory-timings.jpg


3733c17 is ideal, havent seen any reviews with that spec

3200c14 and 3600c16 are achievable with numerous kits.
 
Top