CAT6 cable speed issues

Florin22xxl

Limp Gawd
Hi guys,
I purchased a cat6 cable to replace my 15 year old cat5e cable.
Its my first time terminating a cable and i think i might have done something wrong.
The cable i got is cat6 Logilink PrimeLine CAT6 Patch Cable S/FTP.
I terminated my cable pairs in the following order: white-yellow / white-blue / white-green / white-brown.
When i do a speed test,my speeds are 3,4 times lower than on my cat5e cable.
The internet works,but its slower than it should be.
Any ideeas what could be my issue?
Thanks!

What was wrong with your old cable?

Do you have a specific need for a shielded cable? if those aren't correctly terminated AND grounded at both ends, then you end up with bad performance.

I terminated my cable pairs in the following order: white-yellow / white-blue / white-green / white-brown.
What do you mean by this? Did you only use the 4 white striped conductors? Is that the order you put them into the plug? For gigabit ethernet, all eight conductors have to be used, and there's a certain order they have to be in. Otherwise you end up with signals that are meant to be paired crossing the wrong conductors and creating all sorts of transmission errors. Look up TIA 568A or TIA-568B to see the correct ordering.

Better yet, buy a premade cable.

What was wrong with your old cable?

Do you have a specific need for a shielded cable? if those aren't correctly terminated AND grounded at both ends, then you end up with bad performance.

What do you mean by this? Did you only use the 4 white striped conductors? Is that the order you put them into the plug? For gigabit ethernet, all eight conductors have to be used, and there's a certain order they have to be in. Otherwise you end up with signals that are meant to be paired crossing the wrong conductors and creating all sorts of transmission errors. Look up TIA 568A or TIA-568B to see the correct ordering.

Better yet, buy a premade cable.