Cant access pfSense web GUI

nry

Limp Gawd
This is my first time trying to use pfSense properly and im not having much success, infact I had more success when I was messing around to see what it could do about a year ago!

My issue is I simply can't access the web GUI, once I have managed to be able to access it from my WAN connection, but as soon as I changed settings, that was the end of that!

I am running pfsense inside a VM using hardware pass through

Host:
Asus P8B-WS
Xeon E1245
16GB Ram
Intel Pro 1000 GT PCI Card (passed through to VM)
Intel Dual 1000 PCIe card (passed through to VM)

VM:
1GB RAM
4GB HDD
1600Mhz max CPU
1x Virtual network interface
3x physical (from PCI cards)

Setup:
- The VM detects these cards no problem, I have connected the WAN to the PCI card, then my test PC to a port on the PCIe card
- Logged into the console via vCentre, pfsense has got itself an IP from my crap adsl router (192.168.1.25), the router detects it too in the attached devices list
- No access to pfsense from the WAN side, not even a ping response
- Computer connected to pfsenses LAN (using PCIe card) windows 7 detects the DHCP server, and gateway etc, no internet connection, no ping response

I can't work it out, am I missing out a critical step here? I have tried a fresh install too!
Cheers

- No access to pfsense from the WAN side, not even a ping response

That is expected behavior. The WAN interface starts off rejecting all incoming traffic unless you specifically allow it with the firewall. It's in fact the whole point.

- Logged into the console via vCentre, pfsense has got itself an IP from my crap adsl router (192.168.1.25), the router detects it too in the attached devices list
- Computer connected to pfsenses LAN (using PCIe card) windows 7 detects the DHCP server, and gateway etc, no internet connection, no ping response