Can you recover a deleted user in XP?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DarkCyber, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. DarkCyber

    DarkCyber [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    I have a pc running Windows XP that the user profile got corrupted in and I would get an error message upon boot up saying something like will log on with a temp user...blah, blah, blah, but it would never log in or go any farther. So, I had to enter safe mode and create a new user and then it would boot up fine. Problem is, I thought I had moved everything over to the new user before I deleted the old one, but I forgot some old emails and the email address book.

    So, is there anyway to recover a deleted user profile in Windows XP?
     
  2. Procyon12

    Procyon12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,191
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    you should be able to pull over the .WAB file....but in anycase copying and pasting the profile in its entritey generally works in XP. check recycle bin?
     
  3. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    17,591
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    What I would do is run something like Recuva on the system. It should recreate the folder structure for you to view and grab the backups you need. Recover in 'Tree' view (in options) to more easily navigate the recovered folder.
     
  4. DarkCyber

    DarkCyber [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Ok, Thanks! If I didn't get any different suggestions I was going to try GetDataBack, but I will try your suggestion first.

    Thanks!
     
  5. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    17,591
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I should point out that this can recreate the folder structure, but won't actually add the user back to Windows. Once you run the program and view in tree mode, you can choose to only recover the address book file, which will save you a bunch of time.

    Just make sure you pull the drive from the machine and run it from another, or in the worst case scenario you still have to use the machine, don't install anything so you don't overwrite the deleted files.