Can you guy do a 6700k build critique please

diableri

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
706
Thanks for taking a look and offering any thoughts.

1) What will you be doing with this PC? Gaming? Photoshop? Web browsing? etc
-Primary use is gaming. Fallout 4, Battlefront, GTA V type games as well as Sims. Secondary is Lightroom.
2) What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included?
-Let's say $1500 is my limit for the parts discussed below.
3) Which country do you live in? If the U.S, please tell us the state and city if possible.
-US, CA $50 in gas and a day off to get to a microcenter.
4) What exact parts do you need for that budget? CPU, RAM, case, etc. The word "Everything" is not a valid answer. Please list out all the parts you'll need.
-CPU, Motherboard, RAM, Cooler and Win10. Large cap HDD if there's room in the budget.
5) If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. List make and model.
-Reusing case (FT-02), drives (Samsung SSDs, 240pro for the OS. office and lightroom with cat on the HDD, 850 TB and an old 120), 2 GB WD Black HDD, EVGA 680SC+ and seasonic 860.
6) Will you be overclocking?
-Mild OC attempt but amount depends on heat. Office is small and will see how heat goes.
7) What is the max resolution of your monitor? What size is it?
-Current monitor is 1920x1200 with the plan of buying a 4k monitor and SLI 980ti level cards around January (not in this budget obviously) when I change my desk around.
8) When do you plan on building/buying the PC?
-Within 3 weeks.
9) What features do you need in a motherboard? RAID? Firewire? Crossfire or SLI support? USB 3.0? SATA 6Gb/s? eSATA? Onboard video (as a backup or main GPU)? UEFI? etc.
-Lots of USB and Sata. Power and heat savings.
10) Do you already have a legit and reusable/transferable OS key/license? If yes, what OS? Is it 32bit or 64bit?
-Yes 7, but moving to 10 with the hopes of good 4k support. That's part of the budget.

Here's the plan:
6700k
Asus Max VIII Hero
Corsair 4x8 DDR4 3000 C15
Noctua D15
Win10 Pro

Anyone see any problems for a 2-4 year build while moving to 4k gaming?

Thanks for any advice.
 

diableri

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
706
Here's what the hound says with a slight step down on the RAM which also seemed to be on the Asus QVL:

PC Hound Part List

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K 8M ($369.99 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ($228.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: CORSAIR 32GB (4 x 8GB) Dominator Platinum ($309.99 @ Newegg)
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 ($92.49 @ Amazon)
Windows: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro - 64-bit - OEM ($139.39 @ Amazon)
Total: $1,140.85
Price may include shipping, rebates, promotions, and tax
Generated by PC Hound
 

coreyb3

n00b
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
36
Now is the time buy that 6700K at microcenter. It is 319, and you can't find that price online anywhere I have seen. And they give you like 40-60 off of a compatible MOBO as well.
 

diableri

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
706
That $50 is exchanged in gas plus five hours round trip. No discount on that motherboard and the memory is out of stock at mine.

I'll check there right before I order from online sources but the cost+time+chance of needing to return it and drive back and forth again probably isn't worth it unless it's a LOT less. Prime is tough to beat these days unless you're in the same town or really close.
 

JS_

Weaksauce
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
123

rastaban

Gawd
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
818
Don't get hung up brand loyalty for RAM. Every vendor get DOAs and failures. Most offer lifetime warranties. Just get the cheapest low profile 1.2V (or under) modules you can find. CL and frequency makes little to no difference for real-world tasks, so don't feel like you're cheaping out with 2133MHz or 2400MHz CL15.

I also want to add that 4K will likely be a problem in Lightroom. Adobe's programs don't scale well to my knowledge, so the icons will become miniscule and a real pain to use (my experience with PS on a 14" 1440p notebook). A quick google search shows there is still no fix for it.
 
Last edited:

Dangman

Ninja Editor SuperMod
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
46,062
It's a good build with the exception of the RAM: In general, Corsair Dominator RAM are never worth the extra money outside of an increased desire to gloat. I would definitely aim for a cheaper DDR4 2666 set of RAM.
 

diableri

Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2006
Messages
706
Don't get hung up brand loyalty for RAM. Every vendor get DOAs and failures. Most offer lifetime warranties. Just get the cheapest low profile 1.2V (or under) modules you can find. CL and frequency makes little to no difference for real-world tasks, so don't feel like you're cheaping out with 2133MHz or 2400MHz CL15.

I also want to add that 4K will likely be a problem in Lightroom. Adobe's programs don't scale well to my knowledge, so the icons will become miniscule and a real pain to use (my experience with PS on a 14" 1440p notebook). A quick google search shows there is still no fix for it.

Thanks for the heads up, not something I even considered that they wouldn't have worked out already. What the hell are all those 5k macs doing? Unless they've fixed it there and not on Win yet I guess.

It's a good build with the exception of the RAM: In general, Corsair Dominator RAM are never worth the extra money outside of an increased desire to gloat. I would definitely aim for a cheaper DDR4 2666 set of RAM.

Thanks, definitely adjusting that. Hoping to order in a week or two when I get back from a work conference.
 

rastaban

Gawd
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
818
Thanks for the heads up, not something I even considered that they wouldn't have worked out already. What the hell are all those 5k macs doing? Unless they've fixed it there and not on Win yet I guess.

hmm I looked into it some more and apparently Adobe CC has a scaling feature. I'm still on CS6 so I guess I just didn't get the update. Mac had it for a while now.
 
Top