Can I use Accell UltraAV to obtain 2560x1440 from HDMI->dual linkDVI->DP?

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
the item is found here

i would basically like to go from HDMI on a laptop to DVI-D on the adapter to the display port on my monitor:

[laptop]--HDMI to DVI--[Accell Adapter]--DP--[monitor]

what i am trying to do is run 2 monitors at 2560x1440 off of dell's newest XPS 15 laptop that is equipped with 1 mini-DP port and 1 HDMI port. i know the Accell device will work the other way by essentially plugging the DP port into a graphics card and using a dual link DVI cable from the Accell device to your monitor.

is there anyway i can do (2) 2560x1440 monitors, same time, on the newest dell XPS 15 laptop?
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
interesting! i will check on the display port version.

is there anywhere else i can buy this device? it is currently sold out - nevermind

the new dell xps 15 that just got released, i have to assume its DP 1.2?
 
Last edited:

kevinsbane

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
269
but HDMI can do resolutions that high

But SL-DVI cannot, and HDMI can only be converted to SL-DVI.

You may be able to drive 1440p off HDMI natively with the right monitor (don't ask me which ones do, most don't atm) or you might be able to do it at <60hz, perhaps 30hz.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
But SL-DVI cannot, and HDMI can only be converted to SL-DVI.

You may be able to drive 1440p off HDMI natively with the right monitor (don't ask me which ones do, most don't atm) or you might be able to do it at <60hz, perhaps 30hz.

You can do it @ 60Hz but again the right monitor... From the ops post it sounds like he already has the monitors so I am guessing this isn't an option.

Also technically saying you HDMI can't be converted to SL-DVI that is just wrong. It would not even be that difficult to do (I had something that converted single dual-link DVI to dual single-link DVI). The problem is there is just not enough demand for doing that so nobody makes an adapter to do it.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
interesting! i will check on the display port version.

is there anywhere else i can buy this device? it is currently sold out - nevermind

the new dell xps 15 that just got released, i have to assume its DP 1.2?

I would say if its the nvidia geforce gt 750m then it is very likely DP 1.2 but not guaranteed. No idea on the intel side of things. On the nvidia chipsets I only know how to check if its DP 1.2 or not from the Xorg.log. I am not sure if any other way.

On my desktop geforce gtx 670 (dp 1.2) 960 Mhz pixelclock limit:
Code:
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce GTX 670 (GK104) at PCI:134:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Memory: 2097152 kBytes
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Board ID: 0xe113
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Chip SKU: 325
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Chip SKU Mod: 0
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Project: 2004
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Project SKU: 0005
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): GPU RAM Type: GDDR5
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 80.04.5c.00.2b
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Found 4 heads on board
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Supported display device(s): CRT-0, DFP-0, DFP-1, DFP-2,
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-3, DFP-4
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Bus detected as PCI Express
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): SPS  : 4
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): User configuration of GPU PowerMizer is supported
(II) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Valid display device(s) on GeForce GTX 670 at PCI:134:0:0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     CRT-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-0 (boot)
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-1 (connected)
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     ViewSonic (DFP-2) (connected)
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     ViewSonic (DFP-3) (connected)
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): CRT-0: 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for CRT-0:
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   CRT
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   CRT-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DVI-I-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: DFP is not internal to notebook
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for DFP-0:
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-1
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DVI-I-1
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: Native FlatPanel Scaling is not supported
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: DFP is not internal to notebook
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for DFP-1:
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP-1
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-2
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   HDMI-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-2): 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-2): Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-2): Native FlatPanel Scaling is supported
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-2): DFP is not internal to notebook
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for ViewSonic (DFP-2):
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP-2
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-3
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DP-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-EDID-17af0f2a-1802-5f9c-015d-d79023a44cb8
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-3): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-3): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-3): Native FlatPanel Scaling is supported
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): ViewSonic (DFP-3): DFP is not internal to notebook
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for ViewSonic (DFP-3):
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP-3
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-4
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DVI-D-0
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-EDID-17af0f2a-1802-5f9c-015d-d79023a44cb8
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-4: 960.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-4: Internal DisplayPort
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): DFP-4: DFP is not internal to notebook
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0): Name Aliases for DFP-4:
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DFP-4
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DPY-5
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):   DP-1
(--) Aug 22 20:09:13 NVIDIA(0):

On my macbook pro retina (dp 1.1) 480 Mhz pixelclock limit:
Code:
(II) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce GT 650M (GK107) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): Memory: 1048576 kBytes
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 80.07.26.04.01
(II) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): Detected PCI Express Link width: 16X
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): Valid display device(s) on GeForce GT 650M at PCI:1:0:0
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-0
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-1
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-2
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-3
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-4 (boot, connected)
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0):     DFP-5
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-0: Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-1: Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-2: 165.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-2: Internal Single Link TMDS
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-3: 480.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-3: Internal DisplayPort
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-4: 480.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-4: Internal DisplayPort
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-5: 480.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) Nov 10 01:05:54 NVIDIA(0): DFP-5: Internal DisplayPort
 

geok1ng

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
2,130
--HDMI to DVI--[Accell Adapter]--DP--[monitor]

what i am trying to do is run 2 monitors at 2560x1440 off of dell's newest XPS 15 laptop that is equipped with 1 mini-DP port and 1 HDMI port. i know the Accell device will work the other way by essentially plugging the DP port into a graphics card and using a dual link DVI cable from the Accell device to your monitor.

is there anyway i can do (2) 2560x1440 monitors, same time, on the newest dell XPS 15 laptop?

no way to use an hdmi port to drive a DP only monitor, and no way to use an hdmi port to drive a dual link dvi monitor, you may however drive two 1440p monitors with display port by daisychaining or use one of the DP outputs from an adapter like the one above. be ready for some issues because i do believe that you can drive 3x1600p@60hz each using a single DP 1.2 source, but i would love to stand corrected.
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
yeah the real question is whether or not the dp out on new xps 15 is 1.1 or 1.2

i can't find anything and their support is clueless.
 

kevinsbane

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
269
Also technically saying you HDMI can't be converted to SL-DVI that is just wrong. It would not even be that difficult to do (I had something that converted single dual-link DVI to dual single-link DVI). The problem is there is just not enough demand for doing that so nobody makes an adapter to do it.
Um... I did not say HDMI cannot be converted to SL-DVI.
kevinsbane said:
But SL-DVI cannot [drive 2560x1440@60hz], and HDMI can only be converted to SL-DVI.

While dual link DVI may be *electrically* compatible (it is, after all, literally 2 DVI-D links in a single cable) with 2 SL-DVI, logically, a computer does not treat DL-DVI signals like that. DL-DVI signals are assymetric and do not deinterlace cleanly.

what about some sort of external USB device? that screen is mainly text.

If it's mostly text, then you can drive it via native HDMI or via HDMI -> SL-DVI adapter; just set a custom resolution to 2560x1440@30hz. Drive the other monitor at full refresh rates and do whatever is critical there, and leave the text on the 30hz monitor. It may require a little software tweaking, but it can be done (and has been done at that).
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
well now that i have a solution this brings up a really good point:

the industry needs to get its act together and make this simple!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Um... I did not say HDMI cannot be converted to SL-DVI.

Sorry I messed up in my post I usually just write it out but I used SL-DVI in your format when it should have been DL-DVI. What I was trying to say is that saying you cannot convert HDMI to DL-DVI is incorrect you totally can do it (probably not passively if thats what you were implying). The point is nobody makes that converter. I guess it wasn't obvious from my comment about converting dual link DVI -> two single link DVI that Dual TMDS -> Single TMDS conversion was possible (and vice-versa is also possible) but like I said nobody really makes a cheap dongle/adapter that you can just go out and buy that does it. Also stating that


While dual link DVI may be *electrically* compatible (it is, after all, literally 2 DVI-D links in a single cable) with 2 SL-DVI, logically, a computer does not treat DL-DVI signals like that. DL-DVI signals are assymetric and do not deinterlace cleanly.


If it's mostly text, then you can drive it via native HDMI or via HDMI -> SL-DVI adapter; just set a custom resolution to 2560x1440@30hz. Drive the other monitor at full refresh rates and do whatever is critical there, and leave the text on the 30hz monitor. It may require a little software tweaking, but it can be done (and has been done at that).

Assuming you have a display that will work at non-60Hz modes as a lot do not. I was actually one of the first to report (which was surprising) that the catleap Q270 was actually capable of being driven via single link DVI (@~40hz) as almost all 1440p/1600p displays before the cheap korean ones could not do this. My dell 3007WFP could not do this...
 

kevinsbane

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 25, 2011
Messages
269
Sorry I messed up in my post I usually just write it out but I used SL-DVI in your format when it should have been DL-DVI. What I was trying to say is that saying you cannot convert HDMI to DL-DVI is incorrect you totally can do it (probably not passively if thats what you were implying). The point is nobody makes that converter.
I have not seen a single hardware converter (that is not itself an independent computer) that can do it. I've looked and looked and never found one, not even a theoretical one. Dual link DVI signals are needlessly complicated due to how the spec requires the signal to be split.




Assuming you have a display that will work at non-60Hz modes as a lot do not. I was actually one of the first to report (which was surprising) that the catleap Q270 was actually capable of being driven via single link DVI (@~40hz) as almost all 1440p/1600p displays before the cheap korean ones could not do this. My dell 3007WFP could not do this...
I suspect a lot more displays are capable of reduced refresh rate operation than you say.
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
so i purchased the adapter linked above and my dell "new xps 15" is on its way. i will post the results. ill use the mini DP out for 1 U2713HM and the adapter for the other U2713HM. pretty excited. i grabbed their top model. not sure i will use the touch much.
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
my Startech USB3.0 to DisplayPort adapter arrived! Item Link

it is picky on how you install it, but if you follow the instructions it works great. i am currently using it to run my dell u2713hm at 2560x1440. it is just as crisp as the other monitor running on a normal display port. i do see a bit of a lag on that screen but i expected it. HD videos from youtube seem to work just fine. the lag is only noticeable when you are moving the mouse fast across many lines of text with an animation. so in excel you are completely fine. however, if you are moving mouse up and down quickly across your inbox in outlook (2013 outlook has a highlighting animation when you hover) you can see the lag. other than that i am completely happy with it and it is totally manageable. i believe it even does audio although i have no need and have not tested that.
 

dalearyous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
1,922
i wanted to add one thing:

using the startech adapter with my new dell xps 15, windows 8.1, i notice no lag at all on the screen like noted above. not sure what changed, but i LOVE my setup now. and the dell xps 15 is probably the nicest laptop i have ever held, period (more than macbook pro).
 
Top