Can ESXi store and boot VMs from FreeNAS?

Bviper

Weaksauce
Pretty simple question...

I have a Athlon X2 here that sits idle 99% of the time running a single Debian web server. So I'm looking to instead, install ESXi on it and run a few VMs to actually use some of its muscle.

However, I want to be able to access all of the virtual disks without having to go through the infrastructure client. That's where the NAS comes in.

I've found the ESX hardware compatibility pdfs and what not, but they really don't seem to help.

ESXi has pretty stiff hardware requirements. You may be better off just running vanilla VM Server. I'm still new to this, but the first thing out of the gate that I discovered was how picky ESXi was.

Disregarding your server hardware, ESXi can access iSCSI LUN's or NFS shares from a FreeNAS box. I'd go with iSCSI though.

Oh don't worry I've done my homework this list is awesome it says my mobo is supported, and it points me to this link which the very last post confirms that ESXi works on a system extremely similar to mine. (the motherboard, the processor, and even the video card are the same)

The question of whether or not ESXi can boot VMs from FreeNAS is the last question I need answered before I can start :p and the answer seems to be alluding me.

Disregarding your server hardware, ESXi can access iSCSI LUN's or NFS shares from a FreeNAS box. I'd go with iSCSI though.

Agreed. iSCSI all the way. So long as you've got a Gigabit interface you should be good to go. Hell, MS even has a petty good iSCSI initiator for Windows if you want to go that route.

One thing about booting from iSCSI though is that you'll need a HBA that supports it. If you're trying to boot your OS from a remote volue then the system has to have it mounted first (via the HBA), otherwise you're looking at a diskless system and will be stuck.