can change the date cause Chrome to report website certificate out of snyc.?

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,812
I set up a new PC. The day was ahead. At the time, it's May 31 at 4 pm. The computer said Jun 1, 2 am. So I change the date back to May 31, 4 pm.

Now, I don't know if that ISP has server problem, or what the cause it is. But when I launch Chrome, a legi. newspaper website and facebook was marked UNSAFE

It says something like "....certificate" is either ahead or behind, and Chrome does allow me to go advance, but it just can't go to that page

as to the legitimate newspaper website, even it's marked UNSAFE, by going advance and move forward to that website, it's fine but no photo display, just text

Now, go to Google.com, USAtoday, CNN etc. are just fine w/ absolutely no problem and no error of any kind.

Surely something as simple as changing the date can't cause this?

I didn't bother change the date at first, because win 10 should automatically change the date and auto-sync. as the default is to change time automatically. For about 20+ min., it didn't do that. So I manually change the date/time back.
 
Last edited:

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,786
yes, if your date/time is incorrect, some websites won't load.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,812
so how do you fix it? The date/time was ahead, I change it back to the correct time, now facebook won't load
 

pek

prairie dog
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
1,323
so how do you fix it? The date/time was ahead, I change it back to the correct time, now facebook won't load

As if that was a bad thing?

Correct your time, make sure that your windows time is sync'd with MS (or NIST if you get their app). Clear your browser cache so the old certs are gone. Try now.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,812
Time zone is correct the whole time. I'll clear the cache next time I go there (Mon).

Pek, what's NIST?
 
Last edited:

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,687
Yes.
Used to be possible to add exceptions in FFX but now they don't even let you do that. Infuriating.
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,812
but how can the system be so fragile? a simple date change back 12 hr. can cause all these. Who's idea was this?
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,812
As if that was a bad thing?

Correct your time, make sure that your windows time is sync'd with MS (or NIST if you get their app). Clear your browser cache so the old certs are gone. Try now.

what is MS?
 

Biznatch

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
2,224
LOL if you think that's bad, you should try working with AD/kerberos auth. It won't work at all if your time offset is greater than 5 minutes......
 
Top